We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second visit in two years and still delicious”
Review of Margan Restaurant

Margan Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Broke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Part of the Margan Vineyard, Broke, NSW, Australia
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“second visit in two years and still delicious”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The risotto was amazing . Service was prompt . Try and be seated outside for lunch as its a lovely aspect. Vegetable are fresh and grown on site.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hellio22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    52
    22
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had lunch here and the food and service was superb. Have to book can't just turn up on a weekend. The evening tasting menu looked good on the evening menu will try that next time. Wine was excellent too. Do the wine tasting first then go and eat and chose the wine you liked.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudi_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 516 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were very much looking forward to our Sunday lunch at Margan's and the prompt provision of menus, water and a wine list added to our expectations.

I ordered the duck breast for an entree as it was a cold day and this seemed like tasty winter comfort food. It was tasty but I was disappointed that it was only lukewarm. I mentioned this to our waitress who responded that it is not meant to be hot. Despite my obvious disappointment, no offer was made to "give the customers what they want". One minute in a microwave would have made a world of difference but it seems this is regarded as sacreligious in the same way that most French regard screw-top wine....and it is just as silly and prejudiced.

My wife is vegetarian and is wary of risottos as they are often nothing more than a "vego cop out" so that management can claim that they have veg. food. However based on a recent comment, that the mushroom risotto "is to die for", she felt confident that would be something special. Well, it was "special" all right as it was possibly the worst value dish that we have ever ordered. Glutinous, rice with a few precious mushrooms for......$34!! Hello? Did someone see us coming? If this 'is die for' then life is a scam. The dish brought to mind recent comments made in a newspaper about many Sydney restaurants "....for your vego patrons all you can be bothered with is high-glycaemic carbohydrates with a few random plant bits tossed over the top."

I ordered the skate for a main and whilst it was very tasty and well presented, the food on the plate was meagre and charging $36 just ridiculous.

On the plus side, the service was generally very good and the wine very reasonably priced but we won't be dining here again anytime soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sensational Food”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This multi-award winning restaurant in the Hunter Valley is definitely worth a visit if you love great food, good service and a convivial atmosphere. They have a one acre kitchen garden which produces almost all of their fruit, herbs and vegetables. Six of us had lunch there one Sunday after spending a weekend in the Hunter Valley - it was the last stop on our way back to Sydney and for me was the highlight of a wonderful weekend. We all raved about our food, for me, the risotto of seasonal mushrooms - to die for, just wish there was a little more of it. For others it was the duck and the fish, which was stingray! The wine was very nice too and only about $4 more than the cellar price which was good value as other restaurants had charged double! I am absolutely coming back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Evc412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best lunch experiences I've had!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I took a group of 17 girls (all 23 years old) to Margan Restaurant for a lunch at the end of May. The food, and the service, was impeccable.

We were loud, noisy, and most likely a very frustrating table to serve, however the waitresses didn't once break a smile. Food and drinks were served on time, and constantly. The main waitress (I think her name was Dee) continued to ask how she could assist me and even offered to talk to our grumpy bus driver who was waiting outside rather than me having to leave the table.

I thought the whole lunch was very decently priced considering the absolutely fantastic quality of the food. We had the Autumn set menu, it was delicious and there were plenty of options for all of my friends.

Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend Margan restaurant and will be returning next time I visit the Hunter Valley!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margan Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Margan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing