We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic experience and one to remember”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Broke, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gary2154
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience and one to remember”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We celebrated my wife's 60th birthday here with our extended family. It was just wonderful. Every conceivable need is catered for. A beautiful well appointed house, spotlessly clean and certainly large enough for our family of 12 including a granddaughter . The pool and spa area was a great attraction. It is conveniently located and the owners ensure you are comfortably set up.
Ben and Jace ( Monkey Place Catering) catered for an in house dinner on one night as a surprise for my wife. A fabulous dining experience that easily compares to any 5 star dining experience that we have had in Sydney's top resturants. The meal and service were superb. Thank you Ben and Jace - we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and cleanliness
Liked least: Maybe the Wi Fi could be a bit aster
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariTra...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Character filled house perfect for entertainment and creating memories”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Thank you for a fantastic week at Monkey Place Country House. The ambiance was delightful and it is a fantastic house for entertaining - as the chef for 10 people I was able to join in the fun at all times! The pool and spa provided for endless hours of entertainment to both young and old and the hammocks were well occupied! The house was presented immaculately and having Ben onsite to attend any needs and provide helpful and insightful information was fantastic. On the last night we took advantage of Monkey Place private dining service and I cannot recommend taking that option highly enough - it was sensational. To not experience it, is to miss out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambiance and the Monkey Place catering
Liked least: Open ceiling bedrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katharine...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Christmas In July”
Reviewed July 23, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We had the most wonderful time at Monkey Place so thank you all very much! I know I can speak for the boys when I say that their most enjoyable part was the spa!! And for us girls it really was the whole thing, it was very festive and the general feel of the place exactly matched what we were looking for! And a big thank you to Ben for coming to our rescue when the boys where at the pub to light the fire for us and replenish our wood supply, he was a true Bear Grylls!
I will definitely be recommending Monkey Place to friends and family when they are looking for Hunter Valley get away's, and we even discussed the option of coming again in the Summer to make full use of the pool area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool/Spa!!
Liked least: Open Ceilings!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rkyne
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!! Rustic feel with modern amenities. Simply Incredible!!!!!”
Reviewed March 20, 2012 for a stay in November 2011

We were already very excited to stay at Monkey Place Country House as we had already browsed through the photos of the house on the websites and thought it was beautiful. All of our expectations were exceeded once we actually arrived and settled into the house. The rustic feel of the stone walls and wooden portions of the floor were so charming they set an amazing backdrop for our stay. On top of the rustic feel of the house the modern amenities and amazing kitchen made it very easy for us to organize such a big group while keeping everyone happy. The pool and spa were a highlight for us. We spent a lot of our time out sunning and enjoying the beautiful scenery. The many large tables placed around the house both inside and out allowed us to fully enjoy our time. We had dinner outside on the back verandah as often as we could because of the perfect lighting and amazing vista. The bedrooms were fantastic and we were very grateful to have had enough hot water for all 11 of us every day! You will not be disappointing with this fantastic house! Its close to everything and the specialty cheese/jam shop right next door made this an unforgettable holiday for all of us!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing building, It was truely remarkable
Liked least: Honestly, there wasnt anything we didnt like. Maybe an extra garbage bag?
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becwood07...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Bonn Abbey - a beautiful house that was very clean and inviting”
Reviewed March 13, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Bonn Abbey - a beautiful house that was very clean and inviting - we will definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of room for a group of ladies to relax
Liked least: Nothing to complain about - it was a perfect weekend away.
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvu2run
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for a big group of people”
Reviewed February 14, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

The place was amazing. It was easy to get in and leave - with the locked box on the property. The kitchen was well stocked with all the utensils we needed. The bedrooms were spacious - along with all the bathroom tolietries. The location was just beautiful!! The only down fall was the furniture was a bit dirty and over used, but that was also part of the 'country home' feel. Overall, all of my friends LOVED it. We couldn't have asked for a better weekend :)!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen T
Sydney, Australia
“AMAZING time had by all......”
Reviewed February 13, 2012 for a stay in November 2011

Beautiful surroundings, home & furnishings, very well equipped, loved all the outdoor furniture and the big verandahs (good shelter from the rain)!! Slept 14 very comfortably. Excellent home for entertaining, bbq'ing, great indoor outdoor flow and loved all the effort you had gone to keep the house looking old and from a different era when in fact I was informed that it was only 20 years old - very impressive. Everyone that stayed with us commented on how amazing the house and property was, we had a truly wonderful time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor Entertaining Areas
Liked least: If I had to say something I would say the property could do with one more bathroom (we had it at full capacity though of 14)
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing