We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great inexpensive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kimball
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“great inexpensive hotel”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stay here with family members who had come for a funeral. I thought that it was a great hotel for the price. I was readying other reviews but I did not notice the musty smell. I do know that they tried to make out stay very accommodating. Breakfast I thought was good. Instead of waffles they had pancakes made like the waffles. Our air conditioner worked fine. We had a room that had a room that opened up into our daughters room which made it very convenient.
I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cph58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    45
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
65
31
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I checked in for a one night stay and paid the price for a "suite". The suites are not really suites at all. Upon entry, the room was very hot, the AC/heat unit was switched to off.

The room does contain a wetbar area that has a dorm room fridge and microwave. The fridge was set at the warmest setting and the things I put in it were colder than the fridge itself. It took all night and into the morning to cool anything.
The microwave had a replacement glass tray that did not fit that model, the cups warming in it tipped over when the misfit plate began turning. The wetbar sink did not fit into the countertop well, and the plug for the microwave was not up to code, as it was placed 12 inches above the wetbar sink and not on a GFI circuit.
The hotel pool is exterior, not heated, and closed when we stayed. The ice machine on the second floor was disguistingly dirty. The carpets in the second floor hallway and our room were very dirty.

My 2 year old managed to find a broken outlet cover and stuck his fingers into the wall outlet.

I did a bit of research after staying here and found that this hotel is owned by a foreign corporation. A lot of chain hotels in Tenn. and Ky. have the same sort of ownership. It appears that these Indian, Pakistani, and other middle eastern owners prefer to take profits rather put any of them into revelant upkeep on their hotels.

This has been my experience in quite a number of these similar hotels in this area. To confirm my findings, the "manager" of the hotel was present...his name was Hanji or something like that...he spoke accented and broken English and really did not care what I had to say. It was very clear that he was from India.

Bottom line, better to stay closer to Chattanooga at a newer property.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel closer to Chattanooga
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acey2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This hotel was clean and bright. I agree with some of the other reviewers about the rooms seeming a little musty, but the hotel was very obviously aware of this with air fresheners everywhere--so at least they are trying. The pool was closed so we couldnt use it. There is a fitness center with a treadmill and an elliptical. The morning breakfast was plentiful, but not very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ma6907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for an overnight stop on our way home from vacation. This is new hotel that was well maintained. It is located very close the interstate and is easy to find. It is in a mixed business and residential neighborhood. There is a very large, well lit fireworks stand nearby and we were fortunate that our room was on the opposite of the building of the stand and the highway. At check in, the front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. When a different guest came to report a spill in the hallway, one of the attendants quickly left to clean it. We had a room with two queen beds and it was a clean, well maintained room. Eventhough it was close to the exit to the pool, we did not hear kids running in the halls or playing in the pool. The only problem we experienced with the stay was the air conditioner which did not efficiently de-humidify (condition) the room. It did keep it cool, but it felt muggy. The morning desk clerk informed us that since our room was close to the pool, the air conditioner doesn't work as well. I found that to be a somewhat poor excuse, but she was pleasant and apologized. The breakfast was crowded and some guests had to take their food back to their rooms. This isn't, necessarily, the hotel's fault, because the hotel was near capacity and families with small children aren't the most efficent or considerate diners. I'm sure that week-day business travelers have a more orderly experience. The staffer working the breakfast bar worked very hard to keep everything filled and clean. It receives a grade of "B" instead of "A" solely because of our room's air conditioner. At breakfast we asked other guests if they had the same experience and they reported that their A/C units worked fine, so our experience was unique. If it wasn't, then this hotel would have recieved a "B Minus" or "C+".

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the highway, on the 3rd floor or higher, and away from the ic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UCityMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Well run hotel. Clean, comfy beds & friendly staff. King room had fridge, micro & coffee maker. Pool to relax in. Good breakfast items. Management very accomodating. The printer on the guest computer ran out of ink. I was invited to use the Manager's printer for my boarding pass. Make sure you have a meal @ Stevarino's Italian Restaurant, 10 min from the hotel. Oh so good! It is in South Pittsburg (no h) home of the south pittsburg pirates - high school team. Black & orange are their colors. If you are from Pittsburgh, you will see other familiar references @ the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flydive56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed here with our son and his family. Desk clerk was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and quiet and beds were comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty with a nice variety. We stayed here during a hot spell and the outdoor pool was wall to wall with people. I nearly got washed out of the pool when three chubby girls created a Tsumami when they staged a cannonball contest.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I would certainly hate to stay at #2! My review about this motel is somewhat twisted. The motel itself has a nice atmosphere. Upon arriving I discovered that I had already been checked in. Now how this happened without my signature is beyond. What happened is the person who confirmed my reservation accidentally placed me as checking in on the same day that I made my reservation. I spoke to numerous clerks at this motel in an attempt to have this charge removed and none of them had the authority. I had to eventually get the manager at another HIE and Priority Club involved. The motel made an effort to rectify the situation but it was not to my satisfaction. I now, through the company I work with, will be traveling in this area often. However, I must say that I will not be staying at this location again. There are simply too many motels that need your business rather than want it. This property is thriving on the publics lack of choices. Do yourself a favor and drive the extra 30 miles. BTW, even though the initial appearance of the motel is nice, judge for yourself by the oder of the rooms when you get inside.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBigDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimball
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kimball
Hampton Inn Kimball
#1 of 5 in Kimball
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Kimball Inn
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Kimball
Super 8 Kimball
#4 of 5 in Kimball
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
16.2 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
472 reviews
17.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Chattanooga-Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball
Address: 300 Battlecreek Rd, Kimball, TN 37380-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kimball
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kimball
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All non-smoking facility fully renovated Jan 2008 Welcome to the Kimball Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites conveniently located off Interstate 24, at exit #152. We are centrally located to local business and industry and for a visit to major area attractions including Nickajack Lake,Widows Creek, Russell Cave National Monument, Ruby Falls, Rock City, Tennessee Aquarium, Creative Discovery Museum, and the Chattanooga Choo-Choo. Enjoy the complimentary Express Start Continental breakfast bar in our spacious great room while catching up on news from around the world on CNN and around the country with the Chattanooga Times. All rooms are equipped with free high-speed Internet access and Wi-Fi, or use our 24-hour business center. Local calls are free to all guests. In the warm months, enjoy our outdoor swimming pool. If you need a good workout, all guests have access to our on-site fitness room. For special occasions we also offer Jacuzzi suites. We offer in-room coffee. We look forward to your next visit to our area and make the smart choice, stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kimball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Kimball
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball Hotel Kimball
Holiday Inn Express Kimball
Holiday Inn South Pittsburg
South Pittsburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kimball

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing