We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitcomb Summit Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whitcomb Summit Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Florida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Delmar, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This place is fantastic! So accommodating...A home away from home! If you need anything at all just ask the owner and he'll be sure to get it for you pronto. Be sure to get up early to see the mountain view in the morning. It will take your breath away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    34
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
59
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We recently met family for a weekend zip-lining adventure and were not familiar with the area. We normally would have stayed at a chain but everything was booked. It turned out to be fortuitous as we completely enjoyed our stay and will definitely return. Jim, the owner couldn't have been more accommodating or helpful. He has a vision to improve the property and has made great headway. The rooms are a bit outdated but large and impeccably clean. The beds and linens were high quality and we enjoyed a restful night's sleep. There were picnic tables outside and the weather cooperated so we could enjoy the panorama of the mountains. The restaurant is not open yet but there is a restaurant close by or you can drive to local towns. We will definitely return, lots to do and a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betomval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford County CT
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at this little gem after a day of hiking in Southern Vermont. On arrival we were greeted by Jim, the owner and one of the best guys we've ever met in the hospitality business. He brought us up to our room which was very clean and spacious with very new linens and towels. Jim was also a great help in giving us plenty of information about the area including recommendations for dinner that night.
You can tell how much effort has gone into the renovations at this place. There is a lot of attention to details from the common areas to the rooms themselves. In the future, I hope they'll add a little color into the rooms as well, maybe some throw pillows or artwork, to break up the all neutral color palette. But really, with a view like that you don't need much else for decoration.
This location is so quiet and serene with a million stars visible from the parking lot, but the proprety itself is very well lit so that security was never an issue. What a treat to wake up to that view! Overall it was a great stay, and we can't wait for the opportunity to return. Thanks, Jim!

Room Tip: Every room has the same spectacular view of the mountains. You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWCTmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in May and loved it. The view is spectacular and the service is impeccable. Great access to hiking and fishing in the area, and a short drive to restaurants in North Adams. Rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Jim, Thank You for a great stay at a wonderful place.

clean,comfortable room and a great owner. I plan to stay again soon. We have stayed here in the past and its always been a great time when Jim is around. top notch customer service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trailscrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Recently stayed at the Whitcomb Summit for a weekend fishing trip. Upon arrival the room was all set up, big screen TV going for the B's game, Keurig machine and all the fixings set up in the room for early wake-up calls and the high quality of service continued during the stay. I'd highly recommend anyone looking to stay in the area look no further. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend on March 22nd for my sons wedding. I cannot say enough about the hospitality that Jim and Margo give. They have to be two if the nicest people you could meet. They went out there way for everyone. We had several family members staying as none of us were from the area. They were so accomodating to everyone. The views were magnificent and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterflies65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida
5.0 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
16.1 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
8.5 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose and Goat Retreat
Rose and Goat Retreat
#1 of 1 in Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitcomb Summit Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitcomb Summit Retreat

Property: Whitcomb Summit Retreat
Address: 229 Mohawk Trl, Florida, MA 01247-9620 (Formerly Whitcomb Summit Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Florida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Florida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whitcomb Summit Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitcomb Summit Retreat is a 19 acre mountain top property with a newly increased view of the Northern Berkshires including Berkshire East Ski Resort, Bear Swamp and on a clear day, Mount Monadnock in Jaffrey, New Hampshire... approximately 65 miles away!! Our retreat (formerly known as the Whitcomb Summit Motel and the Whitcomb Summit Resort) has become renown for it's breathtaking mountain-top views, including 3 New England states!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Whitcomb Summit Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Summit Hotel Florida
Summit Florida
Florida Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing