We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rose and Goat Retreat
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The owner of this property is such a sweetheart. She made us feel welcomed and made sure we had everything we needed. Can't beat that type of hospitality :)

The house is gorgeous. I'm in love with the deck that overlooks the hill into the sunset. We highly recommend bringing a hammock to setup out front if you have one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margo V, Owner at Rose and Goat Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for your kind words and your advice about the hammock for relaxing and enjoying the beautiful mountain views! I think I'll get one so hopefully you will be able to enjoy it next time you're here! You and your group were a pleasure to host and you are welcome here anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Went up here to spend an extended weekend away in the Berkshires away from Boston with 10 ladies (with most of them staying at the Whitcomb Summit Retreat - highly recommended, as well!)

Margo went above and beyond ensuring that all of our needs were met - Margo is professional, kind and knows how it feels to be a guest. She took care of us as though we were family, and was so helpful with any need/question that any one of us had.

We enjoyed the view of Florida Mountain and our outdoor space/deck area. Especially loved the fire pit!

It was close to Charlemont were we went kayaking for an afternoon, as well as North Adams where we enjoyed a 30th Birthday dinner together.

Did I mention that Margo had the home custom built, and that no details were spared?!?!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarStarness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margo V, Owner at Rose and Goat Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I'm so glad you all enjoyed your experience at the Rose and Goat Retreat and in this area. It was a pleasure to host your great group for your special weekend and I'm glad you enjoyed your evenings on the deck and by the fire! Thank you so much for taking your time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited the Rose and Goat at the end of our holiday in the USA. After being in New York, Boston and Cape Cod it was a welcome relief to come somewhere so beautiful and peaceful. Our host Margo could not have been more accommodating, and we too had the place to ourselves for 2 of the 3 nights we were there. The fire pit was a lovely way to end the evening and sitting back and watching the stars another highlight. The area itself has lots to do and nearby North Adams has some good shops to get all your supplies. We went with our 16 year old daughter and 13year old son and this was their favourite place on the whole holiday. We couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radar1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margo V, Owner at Rose and Goat Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how much you and your children enjoyed the Rose and Goat Retreat on your visit to the USA. We so much enjoyed meeting all of you and hope we see you next time you come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great experience at the Rose and Goat Retreat. We had the property to ourselves and it was wonderful. We had a super time at the Retreat. We cooked every night in the kitchen and on the grill. The mountain is a little cooler at night so, the fire pit was a nice touch. The views are terrific. The Rose and Goat is just a superb place to get away from it all. Margo, the owner, was super and answered out every request. If you are looking for privacy with a great location then the Rose and Goat is the place for you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main apartment. Most of the time, we were the only guests on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jppelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margo V, Owner at Rose and Goat Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Rose and Goat Retreat for your visit to the Berkshires. I'm glad you enjoyed the new grill and fire pit, and thank you for letting me know the issue with the pullout sofa in the bedroom. I have corrected it, thanks to you! Hope to see you next time you decide to spend time in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our family stayed at this charming inn for a week in March of 2013 and was simply overwhelmed by the beauty and proximity to two ski resorts and first class restaurants! We truly enjoyed our stay as the suite is spacious and comfortable with a large bathroom. Perfect too for anyone with a physical disability...easy to move around and is handicapped accessible. The hostess is extremely accommodating and will surely become your friend by the time you leave! This is a MUST if you want to enjoy the splendor and quaintness of the east part of the Berkshires!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margo V, Owner at Rose and Goat Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Rose and Goat Retreat. We are happy you enjoyed your ski vacation here and found the lodging comfortable and easily accessible. We hope to see you again for your next vacation in the Berkshires!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is one of the best kept secrets in the Berkshires, the suite-ground floor apartment (includes full kitchen and handicap accessible bathroom) has everything you could want with unmatched views from your accommodations---it is in close proximity to all the cultural and sports attractions in the Berkshires and within a reasonable drive to other cultural areas such as Tanglewood---it is truly a luxury stay away from home---can't wait to go again---an all seasons retreat---Kudos---JLB---Boston

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calvin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margo V, Owner at Rose and Goat Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thanks so much for taking your time to write this review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose and Goat Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Goat Retreat

Address: 9 Moores Rd, Florida, MA 01247-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Florida
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Florida
Price Range: $351 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose and Goat Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose and Goat Retreat is a 50 acre mountaintop property featuring a 2000 square foot Main Lodge and an additional one bedroom apartment overlooking spectacular mountain views. and three additional cottages spread out across the acreage. Conveniently located between Charlemont and North Adams, Massachusetts and in close proximity to outdoor mountain recreational opportunities and the famous Mohawk Trail in the Berkshires. The guest apartment has a romantic motif ideal for a romantic getaway weekend, but it is also wheelchair accessible with one level living space so is accessible to everyone. The Main Lodge is ideal for special group events such as weddings, family and class reunions, yoga and artist retreats, family vacations, or extra special getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Rose and Goat Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing