We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”

Hula Grill Kaanapali
Reserve with OpenTable
Hula Grill Kaanapali is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Ka'anapali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 30
Transit: Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!
Description: On the water's edge on Kaanapali Beach, Hula Grill offers a stunning view of the Pacific and of the islands of Lanai and Molokai that has to be seen to be believed. From this distinctly Hawaiian vantage point, you are invited to join us as we celebrate the hospitality, culture and cuisine of the islands. Dinner is served in our open-air dining room where you can relax in the ambiance of a plantation era beach house while enjoying renown chef Peter Merriman's Hawaii regional seafood that isn't only a favorite of vacationers, but locals, too. Hawaiian fresh fish and locally grown produce are combined to create amazing menu offerings that are as colorful as they are flavorful. Fiery sunsets are served up daily along with live Hawaiian entertainment. Our Barefoot Bar offers a more casual menu serving both lunch and dinner under authentic thatch roof umbrellas and a sand floor where you can sink your toes in. The Barefoot Bar is seated on a walk-in basis only.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Apparently there are two menus here. The outside menu and the inside menu. Since it was after sunset we ate indoors... a group of 10. It was open air... but under a roof. The food was outstanding. I had the seafood chowder ... made with coconut milk... it was amazing and loaded with seafood. We had a new waiter who was pleasant but a little overwhelmed. We were in no rush so it was a great time. They had a chocolate brownie sandwich which worked perfect for our inprompto birthday celebration. We were staying at the Hyatt.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charris724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,557
    1,794
    607
    175
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
“Great ambiance”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We love the Hula Grill because of the Beach Bar, where you can sit at a table and scrunch your toes in the sand. The food is good, and it's a pleasant place to watch the sunset. The drinks are overpriced and light on the liquor, but the entertainment makes up for it. The wait staff is always friendly, so give it a try when you're in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location and food”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The restaurant was within walking distance to our hotel the Westin Maui. It is right on the beach and the the mac crusted mahi mahi was great.

We love the chili sauce for the bread and bought some to take home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Flavourful food, remarkable service!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our dinner at the Hula Grill was marvellous. We arrived a little early for our reservations and we were seated right away. Our servicer was attentive and extremely helpful with recommendations (as it was our first time there.)

Our “Pupu’s” arrived quickly and were extremely flavourful! We both had Ahi dishes for the main course and they were magnificent! Both cooked completely different but both very tasty.

As it was a “chain” type restaurant we expected the Hula Pie as their other locations serve – but that wasn’t on the menu - the only downfall of the evening. But it gave us time to go for a walk along the beach, which is only steps away, and to make room for the Hula Pie. (Which we picked up at Kimo’s - their other restaurant steps away.)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kari l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service with a view!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and 7 year old ate at this restaurant this past week. We had an excellent server who described all the specials and some additional menu items, to a "T".
I had the fish special (Ono, pan seared in a lemon butter sauce with capers)-really delicious! It came on a bed of mashed potatoes which was a nice change of pace here in Maui. My husband had the coconut soup which was really more like a thick stew, complete with large pieces of shellfish and other seafood. He raved about it!
My daughter found nothing on the menu that appealed to her but they were able to bring her an order of plain buttered noodles which she loved.
Make a reservation and you may be able to get a great view-we did! We had a table closet to the beach and it was wonderful, surrounded by tiki torches and an awesome view of the water.
Food came out in a timely manner and the mango colada (recommended by our server) was literally, the best drink I have ever had.
Awesome experience; I'd definitely go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JanesAddiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula Grill Kaanapali also viewed

 

Been to Hula Grill Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing