We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitchen Counter Club”

Hula Grill Kaanapali
Reserve with OpenTable
Hula Grill Kaanapali is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Ka'anapali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 30
Transit: Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!
Description: On the water's edge on Kaanapali Beach, Hula Grill offers a stunning view of the Pacific and of the islands of Lanai and Molokai that has to be seen to be believed. From this distinctly Hawaiian vantage point, you are invited to join us as we celebrate the hospitality, culture and cuisine of the islands. Dinner is served in our open-air dining room where you can relax in the ambiance of a plantation era beach house while enjoying renown chef Peter Merriman's Hawaii regional seafood that isn't only a favorite of vacationers, but locals, too. Hawaiian fresh fish and locally grown produce are combined to create amazing menu offerings that are as colorful as they are flavorful. Fiery sunsets are served up daily along with live Hawaiian entertainment. Our Barefoot Bar offers a more casual menu serving both lunch and dinner under authentic thatch roof umbrellas and a sand floor where you can sink your toes in. The Barefoot Bar is seated on a walk-in basis only.
Maui
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Kitchen Counter Club”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Sit at the kitchen counter next time and have a great experience with their line crew while watching your food being prepared. Sitting there also qualifies you for their Kitchen Counter Club card. When you fill it, you get a dinner for two (not to exceed $60) from the Hula Grill!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westmauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,621
    1,828
    612
    180
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Holy delicious fish tacos! Fun barefoot bar, service ok.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I could dine here every day for fish tacos, they were outstanding and fresh! Their signature cocktails are creative and festive. All the dishes we enjoyed were fresh and well prepared. I liked the ambiance in the barefoot bar, very casual dining in the sand. The dining area is more refined and great for a special dinner. The service was very slow on a few visits, we weren't greeted for about 15 minutes and a number of servers walked by ignoring us. We finally notified the host stand and were taken care of but no apologies. I guess they're just on island time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SEGMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Good spot”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We dined here 3 different times. Once in the main restaurant part and twice in their "beach" area (tables/chairs in the sand). It is a great place to go for dinner and watch the sunset! Everyone liked their food each of the 3 times.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SherriLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best meal in Maui”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately we didn't make it to Hula Grill until our last night on the island but this was by far the best meal we had. We were staring to wonder about finding quality seafood and Hula Grill really hit the mark. I had the Chef's special which was a small filet of Opah and a small filet of Walu on a bed of Jasmine rice with a lobster reduction - taste was amazing. Wife had a pan dared Ono with a lemon caper sauce that was also excellent. Of course the meal had to close with the Hula Grill homemade ice cream sandwich. Recommend getting there a little early (4:45-5:45) and trying the Chef's Tasting; we missed it but night we were there gave you three courses for $25.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good lunch, ocean view, live music”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The food is very good--the setting fabulous and the service excellent!
Hula Grill is one of the restaurants in Whaler's Village, and by far the best one we tried!

We arrived at 130PM for lunch and were shown to a table right up front with only a strip of grass and the Kaanapali Ocean Walk between us and the ocean with its gorgeous colors, picturesque scenery, sail and other boats, surrounded by lush foliage.

I had the shrimp salad which contained delicious shrimps, bacon, roasted beets, feta cheese and fresh spinach. My husband had a flavorful and colorful chicken on foccacia bread served with fries. THe food was very good; the iced tea and lemonade was a bit watered down. The service was fabulous!

The next seating area, separated by a low hedge, was their Barefoot Bar which to our surprise had a live entertainer playing great music; he had a lovely voice.

Definitely a must see and do for our next visit back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laraine114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula Grill Kaanapali also viewed

 

Been to Hula Grill Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing