We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a nice experience with a great ambiance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hula Grill Kaanapali

Hula Grill Kaanapali
Reserve with OpenTable
Hula Grill Kaanapali is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Ka'anapali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $44
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 30
Transit: Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!
Description: On the water's edge on Kaanapali Beach, Hula Grill offers a stunning view of the Pacific and of the islands of Lanai and Molokai that has to be seen to be believed. From this distinctly Hawaiian vantage point, you are invited to join us as we celebrate the hospitality, culture and cuisine of the islands. Dinner is served in our open-air dining room where you can relax in the ambiance of a plantation era beach house while enjoying renown chef Peter Merriman's Hawaii regional seafood that isn't only a favorite of vacationers, but locals, too. Hawaiian fresh fish and locally grown produce are combined to create amazing menu offerings that are as colorful as they are flavorful. Fiery sunsets are served up daily along with live Hawaiian entertainment. Our Barefoot Bar offers a more casual menu serving both lunch and dinner under authentic thatch roof umbrellas and a sand floor where you can sink your toes in. The Barefoot Bar is seated on a walk-in basis only.
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Always a nice experience with a great ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hula Grill is always a nice experience with a great ambiance. Very busy and had to wait for about 45 minutes (we went around 18:00h (ish) ). Usually not an issue as you can go to the bar for a drink or do some looking around Whalers Village. One can eat at either the bar area, in the "sand area", or more "formal" area- we always choose the "sand area"... they had live entertainment complete with hula dancer. Portions are not large but sufficient. The prices are reasonable (for Maui). Mainly a fish place. We liked the grilled fish and fish & chips; fish tacos are decent (but on soft tacos). This place is very family & kid friendly and we look forward to coming here each time we come to Maui.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NY3BStra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,445
    1,715
    576
    164
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“They have changed the dish that we like to a new style!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I come to Maui every year and stay in West Mau for 2 weeks to 1 month. We love dining at Hula Grill and we come here multiple times during our vacation. On this vacation, we're in Maui for one month; and went to Hula Grill for our dinner or lunch. As loyal customers, we have enjoyed their cornbread jalapeno, ahi sashimi, and grilled ahi steak with salad and rice. My husband love their Mai tai; it's not the greatest, but it's much better than the weak mai tais from other restaurants. I love their lemonade lilikoi, and I could never get this from other restaurants.

Last week, we went to Hula Grill 3 times in a week and ordered the same dishes we love. Last Friday, we came back for dinner and ordered the same meals again; and they have changed the dish. The cornbread was half-cooked and didn't have the spice that it used to have; the ahi sashimi seemed lesser and cut thinner; the grilled ahi steak was good but they changed the sauce; our favorite salad was changed to some gritty stuff tossed with pan fried kale and carrots. Our waiter called the gritty stuff kimchi and it looked like burnt wheat. We didn't really like it, and we thought we had ordered the wrong dish. We called another person and ordered for 2 scoops of rice. Our waiter came to our table and explained to us that there was an option to order the "OLD STYLE" of this same dish; which was the grilled ahi steak. But, they didn't inform us that they have changed the dish in the first place. Our waiter, said he didn't know that they have changed that dish that night; in fact, he seemed surprised himself when he brought our plates. We asked if they had a new chef or kitchen crew working that night.

Our waiter suggested that we leave a comment on their suggestion card and he would pass it to their chef. My husband wrote a long comment and on our way out; we passed the kitchen and we saw our waiter hand over our comment to the head chef. He read it and our waiter pointed that we're the couple that wrote that. We talked with the head chef and we told him what we didn't like about our food. The head chef said they still have the same dish but we need to tell them that we want the "OLD STYLE". We didn't even know that they have a "NEW STYLE" !!!

Their menu is perfect and there is nothing to change; loyal customers come to Hula Grill for the good food that they have enjoyed for many years. Hopefully, they will bring back the "OLD STYLE" dish that we have been ordering for many years. Our personal view, we hope the management does not change the direction of this restaurant!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dancing_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great spot to enjoy a vibrant atmosphere and good meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Took my wife here one night on our honeymoon. We loved it. One of top three service we've received in Maui. Complete attention to detail. The menu is solid, not huge, but everything looked good. We loved the outdoor atmosphere with Hawaiian bands playing love. You could feel the good vibe everyone was in. View is very nice too, we enjoyed sunset right into dinner. It is expensive though, be ready to spend $100 for two people to have appetizer each, soda each and entree each. To me it was worth every penny though being on vacation and enjoying every bite and every minute is a great combination.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good for a solo traveller”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I sat at the bar and the bartenders were very friendly to me. I had a mai tai at happy hour (3-5pm) and then the Localicious Salad (REALLY good and something different - $10) and the Poission Cru (it's the same as the Island Ceviche, but served with taro chips - $10). Both of these were amazing. It was super hot when I was there, but everyone said the same thing - HOT. They had live entertainment (a guy on a guitar, singing) that was really nice, especially since I was by myself. I didn't feel uncomfortable at all - there were lots of people to people-watch. It was a gorgeous spot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank webgoddesscathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Aloha Dave at the bar was hilarious! He and Willie were a blast and made the visit a great time, and the food was phenomenal! I recommend then fish and chips!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Conrthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula Grill Kaanapali also viewed

 

Been to Hula Grill Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing