We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Dining on the Beach”

Hula Grill Kaanapali
Reserve with OpenTable
Hula Grill Kaanapali is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Ka'anapali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 30
Transit: Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!
Description: On the water's edge on Kaanapali Beach, Hula Grill offers a stunning view of the Pacific and of the islands of Lanai and Molokai that has to be seen to be believed. From this distinctly Hawaiian vantage point, you are invited to join us as we celebrate the hospitality, culture and cuisine of the islands. Dinner is served in our open-air dining room where you can relax in the ambiance of a plantation era beach house while enjoying renown chef Peter Merriman's Hawaii regional seafood that isn't only a favorite of vacationers, but locals, too. Hawaiian fresh fish and locally grown produce are combined to create amazing menu offerings that are as colorful as they are flavorful. Fiery sunsets are served up daily along with live Hawaiian entertainment. Our Barefoot Bar offers a more casual menu serving both lunch and dinner under authentic thatch roof umbrellas and a sand floor where you can sink your toes in. The Barefoot Bar is seated on a walk-in basis only.
Park City, UT
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Casual Dining on the Beach”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Location, location, location!!! Hula Grill is located at the entrance of Whaler's Village, a fun shopping/restaurant area on the beachfront. There is public parking, which will be validated if you spend $20 or more. We arrived at 6:00 and still had a 30 minute wait, but it was no big deal because we got a beeper and were right on the beach waiting. We ate in the Barefoot Bar area, which is the casual dining area with a lower cost menu. Average entrees were around $14. That sounded amazing, but then we discovered the price was great but portions/sandwich sizes were smallish. I was fine with it, but my two teen boys were in need of more food than just the entree. We ordered drinks, appetizers, and sandwiches, and left satiated and happy. Our final check was closer to $70 with drinks (be aware- refills are an additional cost). There was live entertainment - a 2 man band and a couple girls in traditional clothes doing Hawaiian dance. The whole evening was relaxing, casual, and nice. It's a popular place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,583
    1,811
    610
    178
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food with a great view”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Fresh fish, fresh produce and good drinks. After spending a morning breaking the bank with my mother and mother in law at Wailer's Village we hit Hula Grill for lunch. Everyone was happy with their meal, consistently a good place with good service, and you're on the beach with an ocean breeze. Place was packed but service was good and we never felt rushed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank argodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service, delicious food and drinks!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was our favourite casual spot in Maui. We had a great time here and we really liked our fun server. We were disappointed that we didn't get him the second time we visited! I wish I could remember his name. The crab wontons and chili water are to die for- I highly recommend them. Great drinks and it is easy to get your refills. I loved that they always had live music. The tables sitting on the sandy beach are a great treat too. I highly recommend this spot in Kaanapali. Casual, fun and reasonably priced for Maui.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jetemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Good food/drink and the view is spectacular!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

At Ka’anaplai we had lunch at the Hula Grill and enjoyed the sounds and sites of the beach from there...views of Black Rock and Moloki are wonderful, not to mention the sea, surf and beach. The food and drink at the barefoot bar…delish! We sampled the coconut calamari (highly recommend), the flatbread BLT and the fish taco...shared by 3...and enjoyed their fabulous mai tais. We only wish we had more time....the perfect ending to our Maui adventure!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nala22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great restaurant - would definitely eat there again!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The Hula Grill was recommended to us at our hotel, and we checked it out the following night. It was a few minutes walk from the Sheraton Resort to Whalers Cove. It had live music and is divided into the bar area with a casual menu consisting of fish tacos, fish and chips, mahi sandwich, etc and a dining room menu consisting of entrees. We sat on the dining side which is still located outside near the live music present in the bar and near the walkway. I had a tandoori preparation of mahi while my husband had the macadamian nut crusted monchong, which was excellent. Our waiter was friendly and allowed our friends to order fish and chips from the bar menu. Someone also ordered the special which consisted of moonfish and butter fish, which was also great. We all agreed that it was the best meal we had so far and would gladly eat there again the following night (which some of us did). Our drinks were great and served with festive umbrellas, and for dessert, we had the coconut creme brulee served in a pineapple bowl, which I highly recommend. Without reservation, go there for dinner and order the monchong. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piphiangel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula Grill Kaanapali also viewed

 

Been to Hula Grill Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing