We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True beach dining experience.”

Hula Grill Kaanapali
Reserve with OpenTable
Hula Grill Kaanapali is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Ka'anapali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 30
Transit: Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!
Description: On the water's edge on Kaanapali Beach, Hula Grill offers a stunning view of the Pacific and of the islands of Lanai and Molokai that has to be seen to be believed. From this distinctly Hawaiian vantage point, you are invited to join us as we celebrate the hospitality, culture and cuisine of the islands. Dinner is served in our open-air dining room where you can relax in the ambiance of a plantation era beach house while enjoying renown chef Peter Merriman's Hawaii regional seafood that isn't only a favorite of vacationers, but locals, too. Hawaiian fresh fish and locally grown produce are combined to create amazing menu offerings that are as colorful as they are flavorful. Fiery sunsets are served up daily along with live Hawaiian entertainment. Our Barefoot Bar offers a more casual menu serving both lunch and dinner under authentic thatch roof umbrellas and a sand floor where you can sink your toes in. The Barefoot Bar is seated on a walk-in basis only.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“True beach dining experience.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hula Grill is a favorite of our family. We eat there every trip to Maui. THey have a nice indoor dining area, but the real gem is being able to sit outside with beach viewing. They have the tables and chairs in sand where you can take off your sandals and emerse your feet if you desire. Be sure to go around the afteroon time when they have live music in their outdoor beach-dining area. The menu is not huge, but several tasty options are available. Fish tacos are a favorite.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nordicnightmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,621
    1,828
    612
    180
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhododendron, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“drop in for lunch”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

6 of us dropped in for lunch. Seated right away, the food and drinks were great. We akll had a good time with people watching and conversation over lunch. Staff friendly and attentive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calgordon46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovingly called the "Barefoot Bar"”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We frequent this little sand in your toes sun in your eyes music to your ears almost on the beach bar/restaurant when we are on Maui. Right on Kaanapali Beach. Happy Hour music always exceptional and local! The crab wontons (with chilli sauce) and fish tacos to die for. Casual "come as you are", even if your hair is wet and full of sand from the beach! Love Love Love the Barefoot Bar!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food. Fantastic desserts”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent 2 weeks on Kannapoli beach and the Hula Grill became our favorite place. We dined in 2 evenings and 3 nights we walked down for take-out while our husbands enjoyed their wine. No worries, we did not have to cook! Raylynn at the take out counter is sweet, friendly and greeted us as long lost friends each evening. You must try the macadamia Cole slaw, the hoisin ribs and the grilled fish sandwich. Now, for deserts. The ice cream sandwich will feed two but Oh Well, enjoy. The flourless chocolate cake is served with a coffee ice cream that is worth the trip even without the cake. You must try the espresso chocolate cheese cake and one more, the coconut Creme Brûlée.
Brûlée seved in a pineapple shell.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthHeroKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful outside Restaurant”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A lovely place to have a bit to eat while shopping at Whalers Villiage. We always have a great lunch and drinks and the staff are very friendly asking how you are doing and making sure you are having a good time while in lovely Maui. We spent 3 hrs our last day killing time before our flight home - hanging out people watching, eating and having drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula Grill Kaanapali also viewed

 

Been to Hula Grill Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing