We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the calamari! It's amazing.”
Review of Duke's Beach House

Duke's Beach House
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Ka'anapali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Honoapiilani Hwy
Description: Located just steps from the sand, our striking open-air restaurant offers sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean along Kaanapali North Beach at the Honua Kai Resort and Spa. Fresh, locally sourced ingredients are featured throughout the breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. The cuisine is Hawaiian influenced with a focus on fresh, sustainable seafood and premium steaks. In keeping with the tradition of the Duke’s restaurants in Hawaii and California, Duke’s Beach House boasts a casual, nostalgic ambiance honoring the great Duke Kahanamoku.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

Any meal there is good but their Calamari was amazing. Their salads were pretty spectacular also. I enjoyed the view from their deck and feeding the birds bits of rice. I know, I know I'm not supposed to but I can't help myself. They are so tiny and cute. For breakfast try their island fruit tray with their yummy mimosas.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank jennifersG9541AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (6,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,648 - 2,652 of 6,328 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2016

The place was beautiful. We were a large party and we were seated in a semi-private area. Place was very crowded but our server was excellent and I enjoyed the meal and the wine.

Would definitely go back again.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dragnldy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

Loved the Duke's on Waikiki so thought we would love this one too. It was a quick walk from where we were staying and the restaurant is beautiful with awesome sunset views. Unfortunately the food was below average and very bland. We had been all over Hawaii for two weeks -- ate here our last night -- and this was by far our worst meal. Wanted dessert but didn't bother figuring it would be just as mediocre as our meal. Definitely would not return.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kaci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

We have been here before and enjoyed it- this trip was no different. We had reservations and after a brief wait, were seated at a lovely table with a beach view. We started with the crab and mac nut wontons along with a Mai tai - yum!! We shared the Maui onion soup which was excellent. For dinner, I had the Mac nut fish and my husband had the ahi steak, along with a bottle of wine. Both dishes were excellent. We shared the hula pie for dessert and left happy. We go to Maui every year, we will be back!!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank PattiCNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 17, 2016

We were staying in Kahana and we wanted to go to dinner nearby without driving in to Lahaina again. Dukes is located in the Honua Kai Resort & Spa the latest gem on Kaanapali North Beach. The ambiance is perfection with a view of the Ocean and the islands of Molokai and Lanai. The torches were lit and beautiful music was playing and the bar was filled with people enjoying their island getaway. Our server was professional and very accommodating. Duke's Mai Tai is an abosolute given to start any meal! Our party of 8 all had fabulous meals. We chose a few different starters: WAIPOLI Farms Hearts of Romaine, the Rocket Salad and Maui Onion Soup were amazing. There are a variety of fish choices with several different preparations. You cannot go wrong with any of them! The Seafood Risotto was very good also. Of course, this coup de grâce was the KIMO’S ORIGINAL HULA PIE a Chocolate cookie crust, macadamia nut ice cream, hot fudge, toasted mac nuts, whipped cream! OMG 'Death by Dessert!'

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ValentineRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Duke's Beach House also viewed

 

Been to Duke's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.