We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Outstanding Duke” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke's Beach House

Duke's Beach House
Reserve with OpenTable
Duke's Beach House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Ka'anapali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Honoapiilani Hwy
Description: Located just steps from the sand, our striking open-air restaurant offers sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean along Kaanapali North Beach at the Honua Kai Resort and Spa. Fresh, locally sourced ingredients are featured throughout the breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. The cuisine is Hawaiian influenced with a focus on fresh, sustainable seafood and premium steaks. In keeping with the tradition of the Duke’s restaurants in Hawaii and California, Duke’s Beach House boasts a casual, nostalgic ambiance honoring the great Duke Kahanamoku.
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Outstanding Duke”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

In March, for our 40th my wife and I had our family with s in Maui. We had been to Duke's in October with another group and had an outstanding evening with great food. This time was no different. The atmosphere is fantastic with excellent sunsets. On both visits everyone thought their meals were great. The service was above average. It was deffinately a good eveniong and we will return to Duke's

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank N G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,234
    1,336
    570
    113
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Food & Drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We ate at a lot of places the food did not stand out as a destination, but if you're staying at Honua Kia it's the best thing there. The staff was very nice, we have nothing bad to say about Duke's.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheAggieTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Duke's Beach House, Kaanapali”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We ate at Duke's four different times on our Maui trip in February. It is located in a beautiful setting right in front of the Honua Kai condos and was just one condo away from where we were staying. Parking is also available in any of the condo parking lots. We went there for happy hour and had great Mai tais and fish tacos. Then for breafast, OK banana mac pancakes, and twice for dinner. We never had a full dinner there, just sandwiches which were good both times. We were also able to use coupons we received when we checked into our condo, for a discounted breakfast and a free Hula Pie at dinner which was nice.
Prices are fairly expensive for what you get, but you're in Maui. And you do need reservations for dinner under the main, covered dining area. We waited about 15 minutes for a table at the outside palapas. And each night they have great, live music for entertainment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ocbeachbum10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location but so so food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We choose to go to Duke's as it was the restaurant of our resort. The view is wonderful and the atmosphere is good. It is a very large place and it was super busy when we were there. The food was Ok but nothing great. We did not go back here for any other meals despite its proximity.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trip-planning-mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice for a sunset meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

It's a nice restaurant with good service, but you may have to wait a while for a seat. Live music even on Tuesday evening. Two levels with two different menus, one more casual than the other. I'd recommend it to travelers.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank grandmaPhyllis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke's Beach House also viewed

 

Been to Duke's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing