We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience The Magic Merman Snorkel Charters
from $148.96
More Info
from $138.25
More Info
from $77.40
More Info
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
129
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
129
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maui waters sea life whale watching cookies knowledgeable crew wraps pod of dolphins great boat smaller boat food was great banana bread great tour fish derek boats captain snorkel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Captain Derek & first mate Sarah spoiled us rotten with impeccable, personalized service & an overall amazing day spent exploring treasures under the sea off of the shores of spectacular West Maui!! I loved the smaller group size, allowing us to explore areas where the larger sailing catamaran guests could not venture to in Honolua Bay. We had 3 snorkel stops; all 3 were epic & where we saw a wide variety of tropical fish, sea turtles, & healthy, vibrant coral reef. At our last snorkel stop, we literally saw β€œdozens” of green sea turtles; which was quite a spectacular site to see indeed. We even had the opportunity to see hundreds of spinner dolphins in between snorkel stops. The 40ft. raft was very comfortable & surprisingly smooth; & offered lots of shade. It even has a restroom onboard, & should someone require to use it. We thoroughly enjoyed the catering provided by Down the Hatch; so much better than the typical food offered on other vessels - rafts in particular. This is one of my most treasured days spent snorkeling the West Shores of Maui. I highly recommend The Magic Merman for your next snorkel adventure! And this is coming from a gal who β€œwas” partial to sailing catamarans! And mountains of Mahalo to Captain Derek & Sarah! You two ROCK!!!

2  Thank LivingAloha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themagicmerman, Owner at The Magic Merman Snorkel Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

No, YOU ROCK!! Thank you so much for your amazing and thoughtful review. We are so glad to hear that you had a great experience on a raft rather than a catamaran. We feel it allows us to be closer to the marine life and really focus on the snorkeling. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went out on the morning snorkel. We head we been on many snorkel tours on other vacations this was by far the best. Derek and Sam are fantastic! Great snorkel instruction on the boat and assistance pointing out different fish. Sam knew I wanted to see green sea turtles and she made sure to point them out. Went to three snorkel sites and stopped to watch the spinner dolphins. Snacks and lunch were very good too. Why do out in a huge tour when you can be in a small group with awesome guides?

Thanks for a memorable trip!
Lisa & Ernie

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank LisaG1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themagicmerman, Owner at The Magic Merman Snorkel Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

You guys are so great. Thank you for the amazing review. We think our captains and crew are the best too. Please join us again the next time you are on Maui. Mahalo!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely fantastic snorkel tour. Great to have a small group. Refreshments, food, sunscreen all provided, and the boat and facilities are brilliant. Saw 100s of dolphins, swam with turtles. Our guides Sammy and Dererk were so helpful and fun!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Eamonn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themagicmerman, Owner at The Magic Merman Snorkel Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

You are awesome. Dolphins and turtles are awesome too. Haha. Thank you so much for joining us today, it was truly our pleasure to have you out on an adventure. Please join us again the next time you are on the island. Mahalo!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent the day with Magic Merman - Kevin and Derek were awesome! They spent time explaining each spot we went to and the different types of fish/sea life we would experience. They even went out of their way to stop and check out some dolphins that happened to be in the area. It was nice to be on a smaller charter to have an intimate time with our captains. It was a chill awesome morning out in Maui -thank you!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank MeriMasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themagicmerman, Owner at The Magic Merman Snorkel Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you! All of our captains and crew have many years of experience with the waters of Maui. Exploring the underwater sea life is our passion and we want to share it with each of our guests. Please join us again. Mahalo!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went out on the magic merman and had such an awesome experience! The crew was really nice and helpful, they knew all the fish we saw and knew how to answer all our questions. We went to a really cool spot and saw one of the biggest school of fish I’ve ever seen and lots of turtles! I highly recommend going on this snorkel trip, so much fun!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Makennak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themagicmerman, Owner at The Magic Merman Snorkel Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you came out with us. Our captains and crew all have many years of experience on the waters of west Maui and are excited to share their knowledge with each guest. Please come join us again soon. Whale watching season is right around the corner!! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews