We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“your basics- very friendly and warm” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilma's Patio

Wilma's Patio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“your basics- very friendly and warm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I got a new server (3 days on the job) very sweet, but he certainly had a tough time with my order- though we had to work at it- the rest of the staff kicked in to high gear and in the end, I got just what I wanted. Food was standard sandwiches and burgers. Nothing amazing. The staff was great- the location and cute little home were also nice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gcookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    103
    34
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newport beach, ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Maybe you have to wait a few minutes, but the menu and the vibe are so worth it. Delicious food will have you feeling full! Our family loves Wilmas.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeffyjoe44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balboa Island, California
Level Contributor
449 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Good place for families or picky eaters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Two great things about Wilma's Patio: First the menu is very extensive. If you can't find something you like in their multi-page menu, you have issues. (You might have issues anyway, but that's beside the point.) Second, the servers are very honest and responsive. Just ask them what's good today and what to avoid and they will be very straight forward with you. Service is also quite fast. One item most tourists miss at Wilma's, is the historical significance of the building. This is the site of the original Jolly Roger and the timbers of the original Balboa Island bridge were used in it's construction. Ask a server to point them out to you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Goodness4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just had a great Brunch at Wilma's, though Balboa is a clear Tourist spot this days, the mix of people is local and tourist this creates a very nice atmosphere. All the staff is very friendly and the food is great with nice different own creations.
You will not be disappointed!!
Visited May 18, 2013.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AntulioT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
256 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Not fussy but lots of fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I took my group of seniors to Balboa Island for a day of fun on the ferry, lunch and shopping! We were going to first eat lunch at a cafe nar the ferry. Unfortunately, they were closed (at the last minute) for remodeling. Our next plan, ride the ferry first and then hit fun Marine Ave for food and shopping (tons of both). I called Wilma's to see if they could accommodate our group. No problem! Lunch turned out great. We were seated in back, enclosed patio. Two waiters (that were still working other tables) came in and quickly took over. Drinks right away, crackers to munch on, and then took all of the orders. Our group loved the cod fish & chips, 1/2 sandwich and soups and especially the salads. The crazy salad is full of meat, cheese and fresh greens. For the Island, the prices were very reasonable with generous portions. Many shared so that they would have room for a yummy Balboa tradition...a frozen banana! Thanks Wilma's for a fun outing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank norcalhummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilma's Patio also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Balboa Island, Newport Beach
 

Been to Wilma's Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing