We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Breakfast and Lunch spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wilma's Patio

Wilma's Patio
203 Marine Ave, Newport Beach, Balboa Island, CA 92662-1203
949-675-5542
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just had a great Brunch at Wilma's, though Balboa is a clear Tourist spot this days, the mix of people is local and tourist this creates a very nice atmosphere. All the staff is very friendly and the food is great with nice different own creations.
You will not be disappointed!!
Visited May 18, 2013.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AntulioT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    86
    32
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
252 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Not fussy but lots of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I took my group of seniors to Balboa Island for a day of fun on the ferry, lunch and shopping! We were going to first eat lunch at a cafe nar the ferry. Unfortunately, they were closed (at the last minute) for remodeling. Our next plan, ride the ferry first and then hit fun Marine Ave for food and shopping (tons of both). I called Wilma's to see if they could accommodate our group. No problem! Lunch turned out great. We were seated in back, enclosed patio. Two waiters (that were still working other tables) came in and quickly took over. Drinks right away, crackers to munch on, and then took all of the orders. Our group loved the cod fish & chips, 1/2 sandwich and soups and especially the salads. The crazy salad is full of meat, cheese and fresh greens. For the Island, the prices were very reasonable with generous portions. Many shared so that they would have room for a yummy Balboa tradition...a frozen banana! Thanks Wilma's for a fun outing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank norcalhummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monmouth, south wales. UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FAB, just kept going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed locally in the Hyatt Regency on Jamboree, and were told by a local that this place was good. They weren't wrong - Excellent food, extensive menu, Fabulous service. We went back every morning and on one night too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aimee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
“Breakfast thumbs down, lunch thumbs up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I had lunch here yesterday, and it was very good. I had something called The Feast, which is half a sandwich and your choice of soup or salad, for $8. I selected the Sailor Sandwich, which is roast beef and cheese on sourdough. The soup of the day was Italian wedding soup, and that was also quite tasty.

I returned this morning for breakfast, and that was a different story. I ordered the breakfast sandwich, for $7.75. I got scrambled egg beaters instead of scrambled eggs, which I was glad to see had no extra charge. My choice of cheese was cheddar, and the meat choices were ham, bacon, orcsausage. I assumed the sausage would come on the side. They actually put the two small sausage links into the sandwich, on a small English muffin. The sausage was not tasty, as I expected. Also, having them inside the sandwich made the whole thing difficult to hold onto. My waiter was very pleasant, but it took a long time for him to take my order, and after the I finished it took a long time for him to bring my check. The sandwich was bland, and the fresh fruit was not ripe enough to have much flavor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmeliaAirheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must try Restaurant-Fantastic Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This breakfast spot was amazing! We spent 2 of our 3 mornings here. The food was fresh, absolutely delicious and fast. We sampled many things on the menu and all were so great!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilma's Patio also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Wilma's Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing