We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Italian”
Review of Ciao

Ciao
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ok Italian”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for a quick lunch. It has a good menu and the food is slightly above average. Service was good. Nothing real special but ok place to eat.

Helpful?
Thank shipdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    36
    20
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor Food, Poor Service”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Very disappointing. The lack luster, miserable, slow service made for a poor start to the evening. The food was poor. Badly reheated lamb shanks, tiny greasy pizzas and stodgy tasteless pasta sauces. We would have willingly drank more to lift our spirits, but short of standing on the table and shouting down a megaphone it was impossible to catch the waitresses eye. At 8:30 despite 4 or 5 tables still eating their main courses, chairs were put up on tables the lights were switched off in sections and the floor was mopped!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heatherwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious antipasto, a nice vino...lovely!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband and I spent the afternoon on Balboa Island and decided to stop at Ciao for a small plate and some vino. We were pleasantly surprised when the antipasto platter arrived at our table...it was much more than we expected, and very tasty! So we turned our "stop" into a more relaxing visit and took our time to enjoy a bottle of California meritage. The server was friendly, the wine was delicious and prices were very affordable...what more could you ask for?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjmcquitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Okay Italian Food, Service was Lousy”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We got a booth-wood seat and seat backs. Not very comfortable. The waitress hadn't even been hired yet and was being trained by another woman. She said, "I hope to get this job!". They did have a decent selection of craft beer, which my friend likes. We had the Caprese and it was just fine. Not stunning, but it's hard to do a Caprese wrong. I had a Margarita pizza. The crust was nice and crispy. My date had a sausage and veggie pasta dish. It was fine, not stellar.
What bothered us was the waitress. She talked and talked and didn't get the concept of oversharing. We heard about her wedding, her college classes, where she lived, etc. The main waitress was barely seen after she first introduced herself.
Management should have known better.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Expected Better”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I was looking for something really wonderful on Balboa Island, and so when we saw the menu outside we decided on Ciao. The fact that everyone in the restaurant was a tourist with no residents in sight should have been the tip-off. The house Cabernet wasn't particularly good - in fact we didn't bother to finish our glass. The Spinach Salad and Angel Hair Alla Vienna were tolerable, but not worth taking the leftovers home for lunches the next day. And the fact that our waiter, Edgar, visited our table only once did nothing to make the visit any better. Don't waste your time and money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao also viewed

Balboa Island, Newport Beach
 
Balboa Island, Newport Beach
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Balboa Island, Newport Beach
Balboa Island, Newport Beach
 

Been to Ciao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing