We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bugs, bad service, unsafe, & dirty.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Nuevo
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This may have been the worst destination resort that we have ever stayed in. To begin, it is off a poorly lit road with no signs. The name of the hotel on the web site does not match the name of the hotel of the outside signs. (Good luck finding the "Grand Baja") The actual hotel is old, lacks decor, as well as basic amenities. Our room didn't have an iron, ironing board, screens on the windows, or even a hair dryer. The shower didn't have a head - it was a stick that had no pressure and little hot water. Bring your own toilet paper, unless a half-roll does the trick for your stay.

As for the restaurant, we waited 25 minutes for someone to BRING US MENUS, and after asking TWICE, we gave up and left. The front desk staff is extremely rude, and they acted like we, the resort guests, were an inconvenience. One particular staff member actually talked about us in Spanish to another staff member thinking we didn't understand the language.

There is very poor lighting throughout the resort, and despite the security guards, it simply doesn't feel safe. The garbage dumpster was overfilled with garbage, and there was tremendous amounts of flies and other bugs circling around it, which was adjacent to the parking. We walked through a cloud of flies to get to our car! (And remember, the room windows don't have screens, so expect bugs in your room.)

Is there an option for negative stars? This place isn't even deserving of a half-star. I'd rather sleep on the side of the road.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the resort, that's the best tip I can give.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas_SoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 371 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is a lovely property that is trying so very hard; the location is beautiful, and the staff does their very best. The common areas have been renovated to be gorgeous, the pool is well maintained, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff members were universally helpful and cheerful. What was wrong with the property? It was empty. It breaks my heart that no one is visiting Baja these days; we shopped in Puerto Nuevo after our delicious lobster meal, and all of the vendors were telling us how hard it is to make a living these days because Americans think of Mexico as unsafe. Let me tell you otherwise...once you cross the border at San Ysidro, you can get on the road that leads you to the toll road that takes you to Rosarito, Puerto Nuevo, and Ensenada easily and painlessly. From there, you can get to this amazing, gorgeous part of the world, with a bit of adventure travel thrown in for fun. Is this the Four Seasons? No, it isn't. But it is a much better value. And, at 9:30pm, when I went to the front desk and told them we really would like some snacks...they sent someone out to the local convenience store to get us chips, beer and water. And then it was delivered to our room for a not-ridiculous cash payment. AWESOME.

We will definitely be back to this resort, hopefully with friends in tow.

To refute a few things previously posted... yes, when you make a reservation through Priceline, etc., it just reserves the room, it doesn't charge your card, so don't be surprised when they ask for payment when you check in. Pay in cash if you are nervous about using your credit card in Mexico; it's okay, they are happy to take either dollars or pesos. And, yes, they will ask for a $20 deposit, which is completely reasonable. They will take your $20, give you a receipt, staple it to your file, and give the money back to you when you check out. Completely above board.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hibiscusflower9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Reserving and staying at the Grand Baja has been a nightmare!!!!!! We were part of a large group that attended a wedding close by. Most of us reserved via internet with a credit card. Including myself, over 10 people got their credit card information stolen and used for other purposes. When we informed the hotel management they blew us off, they didnt care at all. They told us that the website is managed by a third party. The rooms are old, the bathrooms are filled with mold. A deposit of 20 dls is required for an old fashioned metal key to the room. Check in and out process is endless, extremely rude personnel. Trust me, im not picky, but this hotel and its personnel just dont care about customer service. Stay away!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank loloelchif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I have been coming here for 5years. We absolutely love it. Yes, it's a little run down compared to the Hilton. But i didn't expect a hotel like that. The service has been excellent. The rooms have been Great. The ocean view is Amazing. The spa treatments having been so relaxing. I would highly recommend the Wine tour. We had the most amazing time. The food at the.restaurant was nothing special. But we are there for the lobster next door. I recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamiLuQuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Cute place, indoor and outdoor pools with hot jacuzzis. Tennis court and playground area. Right on the water, no beach area, but plenty of room for tanning!
This place is a block away from Puerto Nuevo and all their lobster restaurants.
We also went to Valle de Guadalupe in the morning for wine tasting and it only took 30 min using the backroad/Libre.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okmadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I loved the place!!!! Great view!!! Great Experience!!! Woke up with the sound of the waves!!!! I will be back this next weekend and will stay couple of days!!!! See pictures I took to share with you!!! I visited this place from LA... I will have the chance to see more of this place...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rudy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place sucks really bad, We went for the new years celebration and spent about $1100.00 for one night stay and brunch ( 4 adults and 4 kids, 2 small rooms) The service was terrible, no one cares about you!!! They have no sense of customer service. Dinner was expensive and poor quality and served cold like ice cream. Who likes ice cold Fried chicken for new years dinner??? Or what about the (rubbing alcohol with grape juice tasting wine???) I went to the manager and tried to complaint and they almost kicked me out !!! ha ha ha !!! I will proceed to file a formal complaint with the PROFECO through my local attorney.
They sold me the perfect night-celebration at a Resort and delivered a stinky little motel with a bunch of employees with terrible attitude!!
STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE

Room Tip: stay away !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ricardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Nuevo
9.8 mi away
Rosarito Beach Hotel
Rosarito Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Rosarito
854 reviews
5.7 mi away
Las Olas Resort & Spa
Las Olas Resort & Spa
#5 of 14 in Rosarito
62 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rosarito Inn
Rosarito Inn
#3 of 14 in Rosarito
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Pueblito Inn
Pueblito Inn
#8 of 14 in Rosarito
17 reviews
12.0 mi away
City Express Rosarito
City Express Rosarito
#10 of 14 in Rosarito
24 reviews
10.3 mi away
Del Mar Inn
Del Mar Inn
#7 of 14 in Rosarito
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas

Address: Km. 44.5 Carretera Libre | Tijuana-Ensenada, Puerto Nuevo 22712, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Puerto Nuevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Nuevo
Price Range: $82 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Baja Hotel Puerto Nuevo
Grand Baja Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing