We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place for Seafood”
Review of Villa Ortega's

Villa Ortega's
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Puerto Nuevo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
San Diego
Level Contributor
121 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Great Place for Seafood”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have been coming to Puerto Nuevo for lobster for 40 years, This is the best place yet. The drinks are great (have a Mexican Coffee), the food and service are wonderful and the prices are fair.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wxzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    62
    39
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moreno Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious Lobster and Seafood Dinners”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed a succulent seafood combo meal that included lobster, fish, and shrimp. Others in our party chose the lobster dinner and were equally pleased. Great service and a tasty meal for very reasonable prices.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shalimar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Slight decline in quality of food...Service still great”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Sunday lunch at Villa Ortegas is not what is used to be. Service is still good the waiter very friendly,but the food quality was just not there, Most of the food was luke warn to cold, not sure if they had it served for long time before bringing out or what. We stat under the shade outside with a very nice view. The flour tortillas where excellent, nice and hot and VERY BIG as they should be. the rolls where also good with cream cheese filling ,yumm..
I had the seafood combo platter and do recommend it, 2 salsas on the table, they orange colored spicy one was hot and flavorful.
PS: Bring CASH (US dollars or MX Pesos) not credit,debit or other form of payment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo_TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great restauruant, however...........”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I'll get one thing out in the open now........nowhere in the U.S. can you get a better deal on lobster. However, it seems to me that the quality lacked a bit.
First of all, the restaurant is nice and has a great view and very good service plus free valet parking. But, the the food was somewhat bland. The tortilla soup was a joke. basically water with some chilly sauce and one crumpled tortilla chip on top, absolutely no flavor. They only had "small lobsters" so we each (3 of us) ordered small. The lobsters were fairly large with plenty of meat but the flavor (which you expect from a quality lobster) was just not there. It was actually a bit disappointing. Think what lobster would taste like if it was served at Denny's. The only thing that makes the $21 dollar price for each lobster plate worth it is the service and view which was probably the best In Puerto Nuevo. Not terrible but I will likely try other places.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarioSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

First of all, be prepared for the assault of menu-bearing, restaurant-shilling people as you enter through the arches of Puerto Nuevo. They step out in front of you car, tap on your window and yell at you. I can only image that they get paid by the customer.

Villa Ortega is located at the opposite end of the village from the arches, so you have to travel through almost the entire town and pass by almost every one of the above mentioned restauranteurs. If you are lucky, there are parking spots available within the Villa Ortega compound. This is really convenient, as it is secure and easy.

The restaurant itself is large, very large. There are several sections, including tables within the main building, along the patio, within a covered cabana and in an open area that looks like a bar. We sat in the covered cabana. It sits right over the ocean and has a glass shield to block the wind, but not the great sound of the ocean. Very nice.

We arrived about 11:00am (which I highly recommend). The town is relatively deserted and the restaurant is pretty empty. We were seated at the corner of the covered cabana with great views all around. It is pretty rustic, but very clean, comfortable and relaxing. We were served promptly and the food was very good. We had three lobsters and two beers and the bills was roughly $45.00 US. Maybe expensive for Puerto Nuevo, but pretty reasonable on US standards.

Overall, the restaurant was easy to find, easy to park, the service is good and the food is very good. It may be expensive for the area, but after a few days in Mexico, it was nice to have a place in which I did not have to worry about anything.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2W3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Ortega's also viewed

Puerto Nuevo, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Puerto Nuevo, Baja California Norte
 
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Puerto Nuevo, Baja California Norte
 

Been to Villa Ortega's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing