We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The last unspoiled tropical island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canouan Estate Villas & Residences
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Canouan
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The last unspoiled tropical island”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This island is a little out of the way, but well worth the effort. There are direct flights from St. Vincent and Barbados,and as soon as you land in the airport, you know you are someplace special. They picked us up in an air-conditioned van from the airport (if you stay a week in a suite they send a private airplane) with cool, mint scented towels and ice cold bottled water. From then on it was first class all the way.

What made Canouan different from other resorts is that it didn't have a resort feel. It is definitely boutique and not cookie cutter. Yes, the villas were exquisite and the facilities were top notch. But it was the people who made us feel at home. We felt loved and pampered from the moment we arrived. Whether you are in a private villa or a hotel guest, you receive the same unparalleled service and food.

Canouan is very romantic. The turn down service makes it really special with all the fresh flowers on the beds at night. The massage in glass-bottom huts over the water is a don't miss..Although we came as a family, I left feeling like my husband and I had a second honeymoon and our son fell in love with Kid's Club staff who kept him very well entertained. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is getting married or as a honeymoon destination.

Canouan is also breathtakingly beautiful. Completely unspoiled. Very private and an eco-tourist's dream. The oceans abound with turtles, rays and flying fish. Land tortoises are everywhere. The resort has small private villas nestled in a natural tropical setting with beautiful views. Each room or villa comes with a golf cart to tool around the resort in. No matter what activity we returned from, the staff always had our carts relocated for us so they were always available.

The food was also amazing. What isn't native to the island or caught locally, they grow on site hydroponically. The restaurant is Italian but they have a different theme and menu every night. We loved the Caribbean night. Breakfast is served on the terrace and lunch down at the beach or up at the casino.

I can't recommend this place enough. We will be back and we love you, Canouan!

Room Tip: We loved the 2 bedroom villa with private deck and pool. Very comfortable and beautifully appointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank RichardParris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
27
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the resort for 10 days in February 2012. As a travel agent our family has been at many 5 star resorts throughout the world and found that the service offered at Canouan Resot was unparralelled to anything we have experienced. From drinks and appetizers on the 13th hole of the golf course to gourmet meals on a whim, this resort can not be matched anywhere. The feeling on the island is a true caribbean experience, and you are able to enjoy it in the utmost of luxury in perfectly appointed suites. We had our two young children with us (1,3), and they were very well cared for in the children's club - and the resort is big enough that we never felt we were imposing on other guests. We were lucky enough to be invited by the staff for drinks at the Tamarind one evening, and always felt like we were included as welcome friends. A special note must go to Chef Oneill, whose meals were amazing (and can be seen on No Reservations with Anthony Bourdain), and Santhana - who is the most hospitable hotelier we have ever encountered. If you are into golf (which I am) you will be enthralled by the amazing course, the accommodations are impeccable, and the service outstanding. This resort is pure 5 stars.

Room Tip: Go for the pool suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deha199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Anyone in the hospitality business can certainly learn a thing or two from Canouan Resort. The best service, the utmost care made our stay total perfection. All the staff is glad to serve you and genuinely happy to come in contact with you. Even the humility of the managers surprised me when I congratulated them for offering us an exceptional stay…..they replied thank you in the name of all of us at Canouan resort. Even upon my return home I was still thinking about this place and how nice it is to have your breakfast while watching the golf course and remember the breeze coming in from the sea.

The room was just grand and spectacular in any way and the preparation of the room was what made us fell in love.



I would highly recommend anyone to go to Canouan if you want to be in the hands of true professionals and live a vacation to never forget. If you like crowded places with lots of people and with vendors on the beach than this is not the place for you.



If you want to be looked after and if you appreciate places with lots of care for clients than don’t miss this place!! I wish to celebrate my birthday party here next year and if I could I would take this whole place and the great staff back home with me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Canouan Estate Villas & Residences, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole team at Canouan Resort I would like thank you very much for your more than positive feedback and we are truly glad that you enjoyed your Canouan experience. I think you truly managed to pinpoint what our hotel strives for in terms of guest experience and we hope to welcome you back next year. I will also pass on your comments to our Food and Beverage and Housekeeping team.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you require any assistance with booking your next stay and best of wishes from the whole team at Canouan Resort!!

Warm regards,

Andrei Mocanu
Front Office Manager
andrei.mocanu@canouan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were quite shocked to find that no mention made of the huge project that is being undertaken at this resort when we booked .One beach AND THE POOL out of action . Completed 2013 , so be aware . Then one day , Shell beach was also out of bounds as they were landscaping the beach. Not really very good at all . We had to sit all day on our patio . We had an overflowing sewage drain just by us and the smell was revolting .
On the plus side the staff are fabulous , the food good , rooms very good . We had a huge double room lounge , large bedroom and two bathrooms and a plunge pool with waterfall .
The island itself is 5 miles by 2 . Almost half of it is the resort , with the most fabulous golf course . The other half is inhabitants . It really felt like them and us . I prefer a more integrated hotel ,if you understand me .
I am sure when it's completed , it will be fabulous . But do check before you book .
We were offered a boat trip as compensation for the building work when we arrived , but we should have been informed before we left . ( or Ishould have gone to trip advisor ! )
Anyway staff good , food good , gym excellent , golf course amazing ,
Lack of pool a disaster .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bobbalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler8444, Front Office Manager at Canouan Estate Villas & Residences, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review and we appreciate the feedback that you have given us. We are also glad to hear that you found the food and service to be at the highest levels and that you really enjoyed our complimentary room upgade.

Due to the fact that we do no longer have the main guest pool at Jambu's beach, we decided to offer complimentary room upgrades to our Personality suites that have their own plunge pool.

There is indeed a new hotel beeing built on the other side of the mountain but it is too far away to disturb any of our guests. I must assure you that this construction is hardly visible from most parts of the resort and it does not interfere with our operation.
Our main beach is now Shell Beach which is the central gathering spot for our guests. This beach offers a full lunch service, complimentary non-motorized water sports and breathtaking views of the waves breaking on the coral reef.

I trully hope that we can welcome you back one day and thank you again for your feedback.

Very best wishes,

Andrei Mocanu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We got married at Canouan in March 2012 accompanied by ten family members, and we couldn't have been happier with our choice of venue. Looking to avoid the wedding mills elsewhere in the Caribbean, we also considered Guana Island and Petit St. Vincent. We were familiar with Guana and PSV, but -- while we think of ourselves as well-informed Caribbean travelers -- we had not heard anything about Canouan. There were few recent reviews on this and other sites so our choice of Canouan was based largely on our email and telephone conversations with its staff. It was a bit of a leap of faith, but one about which we have absolutely no regrets.

Our party stayed in the one and two bedroom pool suites along the tenth fairway of the golf course. The views were spectacular. Our room (#624) in particular had a spectacularly colorful view of the ocean, beach and golf course. Each suite had its own private pool with waterfall feature and some had infinity edges. The pools were surrounded by an ample open and shaded deck area, with comfortable chaise lounges, chairs and a table. The rooms opened up onto the deck areas creating a great indoor-outdoor living space. The one bedroom suites had two full bathrooms and the two bedroom suites had three bathrooms. Each bathroom had a soaking tub and separate shower and dual vanities. The rooms were appointed more nicely than any we have experienced in the Caribbean. Each suite came with one golf cart for every bedroom (one for the one bedroom suites and two for the two bedroom suites), which made getting around the expansive resort grounds very easy. In short, the accommodations could not have been better.

The low density resort occupies about two thirds of the island -- I think about 1000 acres. Most of the resort remains undeveloped and green. At any given time during our nine day stay, there were only ten or fifteen other guests at the resort. During the day, we rarely encountered other guests, so, as other reviewers have noted, it often feels like a private island. There was construction at the resort during our stay, but we were unable to see or hear any of the construction activity. The construction did require the closing of a few of the facilities, including one of the beaches, the large common swimming pool and the hillside spa facilities. The closures had little if any impact on our stay as there were several other beautiful beaches (see below) and spa services were still available in room and in the stilted, in-the-water palapas. Management compensated for the pool closure by allowing guests access to the outdoor facilities at one of the large, privately owned villas at the resort, including its unbelievable infinity swimming pool and hot tub.

We played golf three times and what a track! I have played some of the finest golf courses in the world and this course provided an experience as enjoyable as any. The front nine has a number of ocean front holes (including the wonderful seventh) and many of the others playing out have great ocean views. The back nine climbs up to the second highest point on island at the thirteenth tee, providing jaw-dropping views of the rest of the island, the ocean and the surrounding Grenadines. From there, there are a series of scenic and fun to play downhill holes -- including the world's second longest par three (over 300 yards) with a drop from tee to green that makes it easily reachable with a three wood. The course does not appear to see a lot of play and is meticulously maintained. Kevin, the affable pro, was welcoming and helpful. It was truly a great golfing experience.

Each of the several beaches was very nice, but our favorite was Mahault Bay on the Atlantic side of the island. The beach at Mahault Bay is not serviced and has no restroom or other facilities besides a large thatched umbrella and triple sized hammock. It was, however, at all times completely deserted except for us. There can be a bit of an undertow off of this beach so the resort discourages swimming there alone, but they will pack guests a picnic lunch or bring food out to the beach at meal time. Shell Beach (aka Point du Jour Beach) is fully serviced with a beach grill and bar from which guests can order light meals or have a more substantial meal brought in from another restaurant. The watersport center is at Shell Beach. They offer snorkeling gear, kayaks, wind surfers and Hobie Cats. The gear was all in good condition. The Hobie Cat we took out was just a month old.

The food was very good -- especially by Caribbean standards. There were three restaurants operating on a rotating basis during our stay. The principal owner of the resort is Italian and there was an Italian theme running strongly through the culinary offerings. Obviously there were many good seafood dishes on the menus. We had two or three vegetarians in our group and all found a good variety of options available to them at all meals. The wine list was extensive and the wine experts in our group were impressed with the selection. Breakfast, which was included in our room rate, was a la carte and excellent. If not on a meal plan, lunch and dinner can be very expensive. Since there are no real dining options outside the resort, there's no reason not to be on the meal plan anyway. The non-alcoholic contents of mini-bar -- restocked regularly -- are complimentary, which was a great amenity.

The staff was incredibly accommodating and the service was great. Management was terrific. In particular, Eleonora, the reservations manager, could not have been more helpful both in planning our trip and our wedding and in making sure we were taken care of after our arrival. And an extra special mention to Santhana, the food and beverage manager, who seemed to be everywhere making sure all of our eating and drinking needs were met in the most wonderful way possible. Just one example, the unbelievable, private beach barbecue that Santhana put together at our request on the final night of our stay. He and his staff set up Shell Beach with lights and outdoor furniture at the water's edge and prepared a delicious barbecue for us. (There was no cutting of corners -- Santhana and his crew dug even trenches on the beach to conceal the electrical wires for the lights and sound system.) As we drove to the dinner in our golf carts at dusk, we could see the beach from above. It looked like a movie set. We cannot thank Eleonora and Santhana enough for making our trip and our wedding so great.

And I've saved the best for last, the wedding itself. This was truly a fairy tale event. It rained the day of the big event, but Eleonora and Santhana had multiple contingency plans. Ultimately the weather cleared and we were able to go forward with our wedding on Shell Beach as planned. It was beautiful. The flowers -- flown in from Miami -- were fresh and just what we had in mind even though we only vaguely described to Eleonora what we wanted. The beach was set up beautifully. The ceremony was followed by a champagne toast on the 13th tee. While initially I wasn't sure this was something we wanted to do it was truly magical. Santhana and his staff served the champagne and canapés and as our guests toasted our marriage and the sun set behind Mayreau and the Tobago Cays in the background. Really amazing. The staff most of whom cried during the ceremony put so much energy and attention to detail into their preparations, we felt as though we were only people ever to have a destination wedding on Canouan. (Even going through airport security in Canouan on the way home, the woman checking our luggage, commented, "Oh, you're the couple who got married!)

The resort is expensive and is not for everyone's budget but we got what we paid for. Truly a great place and great people. If you want more specifics, please don't hesitate to private message us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wemorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler8444, Front Office Manager at Canouan Estate Villas & Residences, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you very much for such a fantastic review!

The whole team at Canouan Resort is delighted to have met you and we are really happy that you enjoyed your time with us.
I must confess that your wedding was so beautifull and so emotional that it is still being talked about by our coleagues.

I want to also highlight the fact that you described our resort with utmost accuracy and I appreciate that you've taken the time to transcribe the essence and warmth of Canouan.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to congratulate you once more on your wedding and looking forward to welcoming you to our little "paradise" in the future!

Warmest regards,

Andrei Mocanu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Literally. When we arrived pre-Christmas for a 7-day stay, they were excavating and lansdcaping around the tennis courts; the swimming pool had been filled in; there were diggers and muck shifters on the main beach; and there was a new hotel being build next to the resort. The spa rooms, set in the water, were closed because the guests would have had too good a view of the reinforced concrete frame of the new hotel and the dredger floating in the water. There was only ever one restaurant open at any time (this may have been because the resort was virtually empty). The Monte Carlo Casino was shut and only one beach was serviced. All of this was a shame as the room was beautiful and the staff were very nice. However, it was obvious that the hardworking staff had utter contempt for the management, which was deserved. They were two-faced and spineless - all smiles as if nothing was out of the ordinary. They claimed that the travel agents knew of all the activity but this was untrue. We did not make a fuss during our stay but decided that six nights would be the max. The few other guests we met were not impressed but they suffered in silence. After a few cross words with a rude member of the management called Elenora, we made arrangements to leave. On the day we left, rather than say goodbye the manegement team hid in the office! That summed their conduct up. We have been to the very best resorts around this region and I can honestly say that this place was a bitter disappointment.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank LordLongford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler8444, Front Office Manager at Canouan Estate Villas & Residences, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear LordLongford. We are terribly sorry to hear about your less than perfect hotel experience and do apologize for the unfortunate occurrence. As explained during your visit, the “construction” works witnessed were not planned but had to be executed to ensure proper drainage of the area. We realized that this particular week might have been disruptive and therefore offered you a refund of 40% on your stay along with free perks as a boat trip and F&B discounts. In light of the compensation extended to you for this isolated and temporary event, I find it very unfortunate that the resort was given only a 2 star rating. Once again I am deeply sorry for your experience and I would really love to speak with you directly. My email Andrei.Mocanu@canouan.com

Sincerely yours,
Andrei Mocanu
Front Office Manager
784 458 8000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Our first trip to St Vincent - The Grenadines, What a wonderful surprise. Canouan is a very small and stunningly beautiful island with a unique feeling of seclusion yet only a quick flight from ST Lucia or Barbados. We were not sure what to expect as we heard the property is under construction, when actually the new hotel is being built next door and you cannot hear or see any construction. The property is lush and green with some of the most beautiful tropical flowers, the property is meticulously maintained. Our Villa came with a private small pool and waterfall and a unit that was furnished and appointed like no other we have seen. We were there on March break so expected meny people, apparently the resort was quite full but you really dont see meny people except at dinner. The resort is very large and spread out and each unit has use of a golf cart. This created a very private feeling yet you could be at any of the facilities in minutes. Our 8 year old son was instantly in love with the kids club. Usually we cant get him to go, in this case he did not want to leave there. I will say the staff and facilities at kids club along with the activities were the best we have ever been to.The food was also amazing. Every morning guests can eat at a central restaurant open air over looking the golf course, each evening a different restaurant is open, Italian, French and the Central facility with a diff. theme every night. There is also a Beach grill with various grilled food and lighter fare or they will bring down for you from the restaurant above, sushi etc. Our son had a birthday and he was greeted by name at breakfast, lunch and dinner, and to our suprise the hotel had a cake and candles at dinner. We did a half day Catermaran trip to the Tobago keys, a must see and the experience of swimming with Giant turtles and rays was unforgettable. THe golf course, formally a Trump Course is probably the nicest I have ever played (I dont say that lightly) The front nine plays mostly along the ocean, while the back nine cuts through the rugged terrain of the hills high above the sea. This property is currently in transition from a Villa-Hotel to a Luxury Villa and new hotel destination. If their is a negative it is this property is not for everyone. It is on the high end of the price scale, and caters to a clientel that wants privacy,superior service, facilities, and F&B, and that is delivered here. Lastly, the very best thing about this property is the staff and people of Canouan Island. Every single person at the resort raises their hand to say hello, knows your name at the restaurants and provides service that you simply wont see on meny other resorts. Even the house keeping staff were exceptional. The training that management has provided is obviously a model for other resorts. Hats off to GM David and his team. We loved our vacation at Canouan Island Resort, and cant wait to go back and see how the resort evolves!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank waterskiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canouan
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
0.0 mi away
The Pink Sands Club
The Pink Sands Club
#1 of 3 in Canouan
13 reviews
19.8 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
39 reviews
22.5 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
174 reviews
14.5 mi away
Firefly Hotel Mustique
Firefly Hotel Mustique
#1 of 2 in Mustique
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canouan Estate Villas & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canouan Estate Villas & Residences

Property: Canouan Estate Villas & Residences
Address: Carenage Bay, VC0450, Canouan
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Canouan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Canouan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Canouan Estate Villas & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canouan Estate showcases a unique collection of stand alone villas and residences on a 1200 acre estate that benefit from access to hotel services offered by the The Pink Sands Club. The collection currently includes 14 Canouan Estate Residences which feature similar styles and views of the lagoon and vary from 2 - 8 Bedrooms, and 3 Canouan Estate Villas, which are larger homes and all feature unique designs. Located on Canouan Island in heart of The Grenadines, it is surrounded by one of the world's largest coral reefs. Foremost features include four restaurants, 8 beaches, Trump International Golf Club (World's Top 10 "Best Golf Courses") and the renowned Sanskrit rooted over-water spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Canouan Estate Villas & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canouan Resort At Carenage Bay - The Grenadines Hotel Canouan
Raffles Resort Canouan
Raffles Hotel Canouan Island
Canouan Estate Villas & Residences St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing