We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super-clean and good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Fulladoza Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Fulladoza Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super-clean and good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I almost don't want to review Villa Fulladosa because I wish it could be kept a secret! Super clean and lovely environment. We were so taken by the place that we didn't go out the first night, but chose instead to make dinner in our kitchen and eat it on the patio near the dock. The kitchenettes are fully stocked with basic things like silverware and cooking implements, which is nice if you want to be able to eat breakfast on your patio or have a night in. The apartment itself was much larger than we were expecting, with a bedroom space, kitchen and an additional sitting area that we didn't even use. We both found the bed to be comfortable, and though I am fairly heat-intolerant I could hardly see a need for A/C with the cool island breezes at night. Finally, the bathroom was very clean and there was plenty of hot water and no problems on that front.

It is also ideally located just off the main drag of town. We were able to walk there from the Ferry and make quick trips to restaurants or the grocery stores with no problems. We even walked back from Flamenco Beach one afternoon.

As a sidenote, we are gay and felt perfectly welcome by both the manager and the other guests.

The only drawback to the place was that because it was the weekend, the people in the building next door (owners? vacation renters?) were partying till 2am Friday and Saturday nights. It was particularly terrible because for some odd reason they just kept listening to the most recent Adele album on repeat, making us feel as though we were in some weird, tropical version of hell. When I contacted the manager to see if there was anything that could be done, she did not respond. I imagine that this could be avoided by saying you want a quiet room when you make the reservation (we were in apt 5, which is right next door to the neighbors).

That aside, we look forward to staying at Villa Fulladosa the next time we visit Culebra.

Room Tip: Try the East side of the building to avoid the noisy neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaplessTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villafulladozaculebr, Manager at Villa Fulladoza Guest House, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you sooo much for taking the time to give us such a nice review.
Everyone is so busy and usually only find the time when its a complaint.
Advertising is so expensive and this works much better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

What a wonderful vacation. My wife and I fell in love with this place. We are already planning our next trip there. The owner was so helpful and nice. Villa Fulladosa was everything we wanted and more it was clean, quite, wonderful view, very reasonably priced, close to everything, and a great atmosphere. Sorry for rambling on....we loved it there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swest3576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I liked Fulladosa just ok. I enjoyed reading the glowing reviews but did not feel it was anything beyond ordinary. The owner is incredibly nice and professional, surely. But the place does not have A/C and you need to keep the shutters open to let the breeze in which means you hear *everything* and won't have a great time sleeping. Moreover the fans are incredibly slow so they did not really generate any cool air.

The beds were standard/comfortable. The shower sometimes lacked warm water. The whole set up was pretty basic -- nothing charming or repulsive about it. Maybe my standards are high. We did enjoy hanging out in the patio/dock area at night, enjoying the cool breeze. If you are looking for an affordable place it's a good spot. It's a 5 minute walk to town so fairly central.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aida82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Location: Perfect, just far enough to be in the quiet zone, just close enough to walk to everything. Walkable from ferry terminal, all local restaurants and grocery store.

Rooms: Beautiful, nice ventilation with windows all around, still feels very private. Kitchen is very well equipped. Bathroom is decent and clean. No A/C but we were there in June and didn't feel the need, almost bearable even in the hot afternoon. Bed - a little creaky (room 5), mattress was fine.

Amenities and Property: Beautiful place, great view from the dock. It was fun to lie outside in the night and see the stars.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vikas g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

This place was quiet, spacious, very clean and the perfect distance from town. We loved the full kitchen and that it was right on the water (no beach though, and apparently the water's not good for swimming in). The price made it the best deal, and they were accommodating about letting us check in early, and store our stuff after check out. There's no AC, but because of the breeze at night, it was actually the only night we ended up using our blankets! Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Pick a room with east facing windows to get a breeze during the night -- there's no AC (but ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cnelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Clean and beautiful place to stay. Convenient location. The owner was very nice and kindly provided us a lot of help.

The apartment was not so good at sound proof, but I guess that's just a part of staying on an island.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gina_zeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed here when I was a kid and recently went back. It's beautifully kept, quiet and peaceful. It's a short walk from the center of town; I much prefer this than either staying at the beach or staying in the middle of town. Sleeping with the sound of the waves of the bay was awesome. No breakfast, but the room had a fully equipped kitchen. No A/C, only ceiling fans, but the wind was good enough to keep the room ventilated.

As others have said, you almost want to keep this place a secret!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EOMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.0 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
13.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
15.9 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#5 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#12 of 19 in Culebra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
42.0 mi away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#6 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Fulladoza Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Fulladoza Guest House

Property: Villa Fulladoza Guest House
Address: 350 Fulladoza Rd., 00775, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Fulladoza is a wonderful, tranquil and comfortable apartment complex that is located directly on the waterfront of Ensenada Honda Bay in Culebra, Puerto Rico. The Villa is a lovely eight minute walk or four minute bicycle ride into the small town of Dewey where guests may shop, dine or meet the friendly and interesting local people and visitors.The Villa offers its guests an informal Latin influenced Caribbean environment. From the Villa waterfront there is a spectacular view of the bay, dotted with sailboats. Beyond the bay is a scenic backdrop of the mountainous north side of the island.​​​The view, coupled with the sun and the soothing sound of small waves lapping against the sea wall, naturally induces one to relax and unwind from a hectic lifestyle.​Each of the Villa's efficiency apartments is adequately equipped with private cooking and eating facilities. Also included are private bathing facilities with hot water and sleeping accommodations, generally for two people. Clean sheets and towels are provided.​On the Waterfront of the Villa Fulladoza one may comfortably lay in the sun, sit and read, chat or cookout on the grill and gather with other guests, friends or family. There is a dock and mooring for those who have boats. The owner, or manager is readily available to assist patrons with traveling and sight seeing information; as well as arrangements for rental of various modes of transportation. Arrangements may also be made for those interested in snorkeling or scuba diving.​ ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Fulladosa Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing