We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
78
19
10
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
19
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews communal kitchens close to the airport golf cart home away from home grocery store common areas in town susan beaches snorkel rental jeep
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 107 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Spotless with Character. The building is keep up well. Nice shower and AC too. The kitchen is very clean and everyone can use it. Paul and his wife treat you like a guest. They will also give you a ride to the airport.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Victor357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I was in Palmetto with my husband on holidays. The guesthouse is very nice and cosy. Susan and Paul are great owners and managers who were very helpful during our 2 days stay. We also sailed with Paul in his yacht and had a terrific sailing day on board and in Playa Tortugas in Culebrita Island.
The only really bad thing was our room (Frangipani), too small, we could hardly move inside. No room to place our luggage. All our clothes, etc, were kept in the bag. Also the A/C of the room outside was just near our room and when it was working was making such a noise that we couldn't sleep.
We were there 2 nights and we really suffer being inside the room. This room must be given to youngsters, it is like a hostel, more than a guestroom.

Room Tip: Try not to choose Frangipani room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ViliHaifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Palmetto Guesthouse in August and we loved all of it. A short walk to the airport, jeep rentals, and downtown. It felt very cozy and Susan left out amazing scones every morning. We booked a boat trip with Paul and spent all day sailing and swimming and laughing. It sounds like a Mountain Dew commercial, I know! Paul and Susan were beyond helpful and so friendly. The dogs were great too! Palmetto Guesthouse had a very homey, warm vibe and the island was a true escape from the real world. Stay here and you will smile lots.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shuch001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Good in this hotel:
- Cosy, easy-going atmosphere
- Very clean room (BUT this is a guesthouse and there is no cleaning during the stay! However the room was extremely clean when we got it)
- Susan (we did not really meet Paul) - she's the best! And very, very helpful
- Clean kitchens, fridges for your own food and fresh coffee in the morning
- Wifi and A/C worked very well

Not so good:
- Our room was tiny and there were no bedside tables, no drawers etc. basically no space for storage
- For the reason above (and because there is no cleaning), I don't think this is a very good place for a long stay. There is simply way too little space for all your beach stuff and clothes, luggage etc. and it will get sandy and dirty after all, even if you would try your best and hang your towels outside the room.
- Bed was also quite small for two persons
- The location is fine but could be a bit closer for most dining places, anyway it's walking distance and most people seem to drive everywhere.
- There is a small patio/garden but it's definitely not the kind of where you would sit and enjoy. We had our morning coffee there some mornings, that's it. It's small, shady and sheltered from the wind so there's lots of mosquitos (the island is full of mosquitos and roosters)

Overall, very nice place and I would recommend this place for my friends too but maybe best for couple of night stay than a longer one.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marra27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Susan is excellent. The place is clean and cared-for. Rooms are a little small, but fine. Solid wifi and A/C, ceiling fan. Central location. Convenient colmado a couple blocks away.

Only difficulty was the nighttime noise level. It is the middle of an active neighborhood, and of course the roosters. Otherwise quite happy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haha_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews