We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmetto Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Always clean, comfortable, and friendly.

Our first visit was two years ago and we had a great experience... So we came back! Glad we did. Even having been to Culebra before, we really appreciate how Susan and Paul gave us so much insight and so many suggestions on what to see and do.

We stayed for 3 nights this time around because last time 2 wasn't quite enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 104 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

My fiance and I had a very nice stay in the Palmetto Guesthouse. We stayed in the Bougainvillea room and it was a nice size and gave us all of the room we needed. Susan and Paul were extremely helpful and friendly during our stay; they helped us sort through the best restaurants, the best beaches, and any other questions we had. Susan makes delicious scones every morning for breakfast. They also leant us snorkling equipment that was very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg Bl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We agree, Susan, Paul and Steph are friendly, helpful and interesting folks with a lovely property. The highlight of our trip was spending a day on their sailboat with Paul, Steph, and a couple of great guys also staying with them. They served breakfast, snacks and a fabulous lunch on the boat and knew all the amazing places to go. Susan picked us up at the airport, took us to the beach twice and finally to our last trip to the airport. We highly recommend them.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

It's all about location on Culebra -- do you want to be on the beach, which pretty much means Flamenco, or near a beach but way out of town, such as the resort, I think it's called Seabreeze - or in town. Palmetto is a bit in-between -- very close to the airport: literally a two-minute walk -- right across the street from Carlos Jeep, which we found convenient -- also right across from a community center which on Friday night had basketball games and other festivities quite late in the evening, which some might find noisy but which we enjoyed a lot. But it is a bit of a walk to town -- not terrible, just that our first night we were really tired and it seemed endless -- thank heaven for Juanita's food truck on the way, where we were able to stop and have a delicious evening supper next to the roadside, not scenic but we were grateful. If we'd planned it right, we would have gotten out early enough to make it to Barbara Rosa's just around the corner from the Palmetto, which sounded cheap and good but we never got there early enough. Other than that it's a fair hike into the town -- it just takes time, not arduous at all. (And put on bug spray!) On the other hand, no parking worries at the Palmetto -- unless they have off-road parking I didn't see, can't imagine where you'd park if staying at one of the places more in the center of town -- although perhaps one wouldn't need a car there if you take the publico or a taxi to the beach. I decided that with our very limited time -- two and a half days, three nights, on Culebra -- it was worth it to get around on our own schedule and timetable. Although the rental is certainly pricey at $75 a day and for that matter so are the flights, the reasonable charge at the Palmetto helped us stay within budget. Check-out is very firm at 10 am, they would have kept our bags but we just put everything in the rental car for the balance of the day until our flight -- and, were able to return Carlos' jeep at the airport, a slight convenience. Susan said not to worry about the car being broken into and we had no problems leaving valuables either in our room or in the car.

Everything else about the Palmetto is just exactly as billed: fabulous coffee and yummy scones available in the kitchen early each morning -- appreciated not having to sit down and wait to be served a meal. Water juice soda and beer available in the kitchen frig for nominal cost; plenty of leftover shampoo, etc. available for the taking if you need; outdoor shower to get rid of the worst of the sand; very good hot water and water pressure even for me, who takes LONG showers -- much appreciated; information, menus, maps available and good advice from Susan about anything you want to know. Very clean -- cleaner than the Caribe Hilton. Towels and sheets remain for the duration of your stay, which makes sense to me but some people might be surprised I guess. Could hang up wet stuff on plastic hangers in the bathroom -- drip directly on tile floor -- might be better to have clothesline or hooks in open shower stall. Can hang stuff on line in back patio, too, but not really enough space for everyone's stuff when the house is full.

Easy to communicate with Susan via phone and email, and on-time pick-up at the airport. Gave us a free upgrade for a larger room and bed (firm and comfortable) because my husband is very tall and other guests wanted the cheaper room we had already reserved -- that seemed like a smart as well as very nice move. Room is still far from large, although fine for us: two small tables, and low chest of drawers occupied just about all the space beside the bed. Strong air-conditioner, nice that we could control. Large English-language library of books and magazines, which is relevant given the weight restrictions on the Culebra flights. WiFi signal was fine in kitchen and common room -- somewhat weak and sporadic in the bedroom, my phone couldn't pick it up, but no big deal. Beach towels, chairs, snorkeling equipment, provided, although not offered for the day when we were leaving -- so keep that in mind when planning your travel. In retrospect rather than try to maximize the length of the last day on Culebra -- Flamenco, the only beach with a shower, was very crowded on Saturday; had been almost deserted on Thursday -- should have probably left earlier, although then would have missed a very pleasant lunch watching the three-foot-long fish get fed off the deck at Dinghy Dock. Anyway Palmetto was just right for us. Would be great if Susan and family could 1) install a small washing machine somewhere accessible for guests -- especially since guests can bring only a few clothes because of airline weight restrictions; and 2) buy the property next door and put in a freshwater pool -- then it'd be perfect! But then probably would be really expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Wonderful people. Paul and Susan are interesting and easybto talk to. They are lso very helpful. Clean accommodations. I loved that there were magazines, access to kitchen, and we could rent snorkel gear. Central lcation. We rented bicycles and biked to the town, flamenco beach , tamarindo beach and soldado beach. Riding to town is easy. Flamenco is a moderate ride and soldado is hard, but worth it. (Soldado point is secluded, no amenities pebble beach. So beautiful and the snorkeling was kind of amazing because so few people.) our mattress was kind of weak, but we would visit here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherinKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Susan picked us up from the ferry and took us to the Palmetto Guesthouse. She was extremely kind and welcoming. Her beautiful spirit was like nobody I had ever met. We were given a small tour of the facilities where we saw the living room and kitchen. Towards the back there was a small patio for us to sit out and enjoy the magnificent scenery. She then showed us our room. The room was neat and clean which made us feel as if we were home. The bathroom located in our room was the cleanest I had seen in Puerto Rico. That's always a big plus for me! As we settled in, Susan told us of the many attractions and dining areas we could venture out to. Probably the best part of the stay was waking up to a fresh pot of coffee and homemade cranberry scones, made by Susan of course. That was an excellent touch. The following day we went on their Oasis yacht out to a private island. Susan brought along sandwiches to make while Paul drove us out to a private island and gave us a detailed tour of our excursion. We arrived at the private island where we were able to snorkel to and from the yacht. Overall it was a GREAT experience and I can't wait to go back to Palmetto!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evangeline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Paul, Susan and Steph are such amazing people! They are like the family you never you had :D They basically treat you as though they have known you forever and welcome you like family. The guesthouse is a perfect stay for Culebra Island! I have traveled a lot and have stayed at many hotels, hostels, B&Bs and Guesthouses.. I have never received such a warm welcome and kindness like I did here. My stay at Palmetto makes me want to go back and stay for weeks. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtxBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.6 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
389 reviews
24.6 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
577 reviews
22 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#11 of 20 in Culebra
109 reviews
14.4 mi away
Tropical Guest House
Tropical Guest House
#3 of 27 in Isla de Vieques
227 reviews
18.4 mi away
Villa Coral Guesthouse
Villa Coral Guesthouse
#10 of 27 in Isla de Vieques
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmetto Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmetto Guesthouse

Address: 128 Manuel Vasquez St. | Barrida Clark, 00775, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range: $69 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmetto Guesthouse is a small, six-room garden guesthouse located conveniently just 5 minutes from the airport. We are within 1 mile from the ferry, town, restaurants & stores and 1.5 miles to wonderful beaches, snorkeling & dive sites. Each of our rooms have a private bathroom, mini-refrigerator, fan and air-conditioning and beach towels. We have a kitchen and kitchenette for preparing small meals. Complimentary Puerto Rican Coffee and various teas are provided and each morning you will find fresh baked muffins, scones, cookies, etc. to enjoy as well. Come sit in the shade of our garden of palms, bananas and plumeria and read a book from our library or check your email on our free WiFi. Susan Moran, the onsite owner looks forward to making your stay in Culebra relaxing and refreshing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palmetto Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmetto Guesthouse Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing