We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such a wonderful guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmetto Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“such a wonderful guesthouse”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very satisfied with this guesthouse. Very good location. very close to the airport and a grocery store. easy to find taxis to Flamenco beach, which is always $3 per person. Rooms are warm and clean with lots of cute decorations. Have two kitchens with lots of stuff to use. They also provide free pick-up and drop-off between the guesthouse and the ferry deck& airport. Paul and Susan are new owners. They are very very friendly. English are their native tongues, so it's very easy to communicate with them if you don't have any ideas about Spanish like me and my friends. They also have two cute dogs haha. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidiym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthousePalmetto, Owner at Palmetto Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Jock and Poppy thank you for including them in the nice review. They love to meet new people as much as we do. Being new owners has been a fun challenge for us and we are thankful for your kind review.

Best,
Susan Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    19
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
57
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Paul and Susan, the new owners, are amazing hosts. They gave us information about what to do, provided us with a map, & helped us find a moped to rent. Susan bakes fresh, delicious scones each morning, offered with coffee. The room was clean and met our needs with a little refrigerator, air-conditioning and decent bed. We highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthousePalmetto, Owner at Palmetto Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Greetings fellow Northwesterner! In our case... former Northwesterner :) Thank you for the kind review and the information about the Casa Cubuy, I hope to take a break and travel there sometime this year. It looks so peaceful. We love meeting fellow travelers and hearing their stories!

Best,
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at the Palmetto Guesthouse over Christmas with my parents. What an absolutely fantastic place! Sue picked us up from the airport and right away made us feel right at home. Her suggestions for what to do around the island and how to get around were fantastic. She even took the "long way" home to show us where to get some groceries as we were not sure what would be open for business on Christmas day. One of her suggestions was to rent a golf cart to get around the island for the four days we were there. However, by signing the contract, we weren't supposed to take the cart on the road to Zoni Beach; so, Sue took us! That was awsome, as Zoni pretty much became my favorite beach. Gorgeous!
Paul is a great host, as well! Very easy to talk to, and he's got some great stories with a fantastic sense of humor! He's a no nonsense kind of guy, and that's what I like in someone who is running a service business.
At the Guesthouse, we had access to two kitchens. Sue brought coffee down everyday between 7 and 7:30 for us early risers to go snorkeling!
Sue and Paul aren't the only hosts.. Their two dogs, Jock and Poppy, are fantastic, too! Jock.. what a lover!
I'm sure that no one would regret staying at the Palmetto. You won't spend most of your time there as the island has some great snorkeling and beaches; but, you'll feel right as home when you return from your day out and about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manda1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthousePalmetto, Owner at Palmetto Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Greetings! Thank you for sharing Christmas with us! Your kind words about our guesthouse are very generous, thank you so much! I apologize for the late reply. We have been so busy with so many visitors these last few months. It was great meeting you and your family and hope your future travels are full of adventure.

Kind Regards,

Susan Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenia, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband, myself and our 8 month old stayed one night at Palmetto Guesthouse but wish we had stayed longer. Paul and Sue were lovely hosts. They picked us up from the ferry terminal, provided beach gear, details about restaurants and grocery stores. The guesthouse is close to town, grocery stores and Carlos Jeep Rental is around the corner. The rooms were clean, well kept and provided a quiet place to sleep. The common living area had comfortable seating, books and magazines. The kitchen was clean and perfect for our breakfast prep. We'd love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Hibiscus room had an extra twin mattress for the baby
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthousePalmetto, Owner at Palmetto Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Greetings! Thank you for your kind review. I apologize for the late reply. We have been so busy with so many visitors these last few months. You were one of our first guests and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Best,
Susan Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Palmetto Guesthouse for two nights and loved every aspect our experience there. The room was lovely, we had access to two kitchens a sitting room and a garden out back. The new owners, Paul and Sue were exceptional hosts. They arranged a bike rental for us, gave great recommendations for places to eat and even gave us a lift into town whenever we needed one.

I highly recommend this guesthouse and would love to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibble331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthousePalmetto, Owner at Palmetto Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. You were our first full time guests and were wonderful as well! We wish you good luck and happy travels in the future and hope to visit with you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.6 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
383 reviews
14.0 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
370 reviews
16.0 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
566 reviews
18.5 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#6 of 19 in Culebra
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmetto Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmetto Guesthouse

Property: Palmetto Guesthouse
Address: 128 Manuel Vasquez St. | Barrida Clark, 00775, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmetto Guesthouse is a small, six-room garden guesthouse located conveniently just 5 minutes from the airport. We are within 1 mile from the ferry, town, restaurants & stores and 1.5 miles to wonderful beaches, snorkeling & dive sites. Each of our rooms have a private bathroom, mini-refrigerator, fan and air-conditioning and beach towels. We have a kitchen and kitchenette for preparing small meals. Complimentary Puerto Rican Coffee and various teas are provided and each morning you will find fresh baked muffins, scones, cookies, etc. to enjoy as well. Come sit in the shade of our garden of palms, bananas and plumeria and read a book from our library or check your email on our free WiFi. Susan Moran, the onsite owner looks forward to making your stay in Culebra relaxing and refreshing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palmetto Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmetto Guesthouse Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing