We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island house with a human touch”
Review of Casita Tropical

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casita Tropical
Ranked #3 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Island house with a human touch”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent 4 nights at casita tropicale. The place didn't look like a hotel or B&B place but as a house among others, just bigger wich adds to the island feeling. We had the large efficiency room with a basic kitchen space and it was perfect for the 3 of us as we spent the day outside. The first night, you may be disturbed by the hyperactives roasters, then you get used and you fell as if you've always lived there. This place is lightened by the personnality of it's owner. Molly is an enthusiastic person, with this ability to make the guests gather and have a human interaction. Lots of beach stuff is available such as boards, flotters, cooler, chairs and umbrellas. We used to have a drink on the porche and chat with whoever is there. On our last night, there was no electricity on the island and Molly decided to cook for all her guests. We were 10 persons around the table, with candels and stars. Everyone brought what he could offer, chips, dipping, cheese, beers etc. Molly cooked chicken on the charcoal and rice; delicious! Everyone enjoyed and shared about travel experiences, what a nice evening! This is the kind of experience you can't forget or experience in a fancy impersonal place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minamtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    36
    7
    6
    0
See reviews for
28
125
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We arrived on Culebra at 5 pm on December 25th and immediately found everyone we talked to, to be friendly and helpful. The security man at the airport made a call for us to Molly and within minues she arrived to pick us up. We checked into our rooms, 2 located at the back of the property with an adjoining screened in porch and facing a dead end road. We found them to be private, rustic, comfortable and contained everything we'd need including coffee makers and a fridge. The kitchen area in the screened in porch included all the supplies to be able to make our own meals.. As there were no restaurants open on the 25th Molly made us a meal that exceeded our expectations, grilled grouper and chicken, a lovely salad and two local vegetable dishes. She even made us a homemade cheesecake similar to a pumpkin, everything was absolutely delicious and we were very happy and satisfied after a long day of travel.
The next day Molly gave us a ride into town to pick up a few things at the grocery store and provided us with a lot of information about the island. We found Molly to be very helpful and informative which added greatly to our stay on the island and has a great deal of snorkel and swimming supplies available to her guests. Through Molly's instructions we were able to swim with the turtles in their natural habitat at Tamarindo Beach without a guide or expensive tour operator. Again, as in other posts, this is in a neighbourhood and you are not insulated from the normal noises that surround it. As in other Carribean islands where I have stayed at similar types of lodging, your early morning alarm clocks are the roosters that are everywhere.
We found Casita Tropical to be good value for the money, close to Flamenco and Tamarindo Beaches. We absolutely loved the island of Culebra, it is safe and remains very untouched and natural. Molly goes above and beyone to make your stay a memorable one. Thank you Molly!

Room Tip: the rooms at the back are the most private and off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hockeymum11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I read the reviews at tripadvisor and booked a room at Casita tropical. The place was really nice. Want to thank Molly for the great experience at the island. She met me at the airport, helped to organize the kayak excursion and tried to make me feel comfortable. There are beach things available at the guesthouse, she also helped to get to the beach in the morning and showed around. It is value for money and very welcoming atmosphere))

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rimma_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at Casita Tropicale over the Christmas Holidays, a busy time in Culebra. Molly picked us up at the airport in her golf cart. The guest house has several options for rooms - we stayed in the two-bedroom unit. It's all very "island style" but adequately clean and stocked.

Don't expect everything to be perfect, but expect to be pleasantly surprised at how hard Molly works to make you happy. She was up at 10pm sorting out a TV problem for us. She even made my friend a homemade birthday cake as a surprise.

The neighborhood is a bit away from the town area, but not too far from Flamenco Beach. Everything is walkable (if you like to walk), but cabs pass by often and will take you to town for $3. You are staying in a local neighborhood so expect to hear the sound of kids, cars, music, dogs and roosters. Across the street one of the neighbors has a little juice stand. The place doesn't look like much, but the juice is fantastic.

All in all we had a wonderful stay in Culebra at the funky Casita Tropicale, though it could never be as wonderful without Molly - she is the jewel in the Culebra sand.

Room Tip: Every room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
molly718
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at Casita Tropical in March of 2011 and LOVED it! Molly made our vacation absolutely perfect. The guesthouse itself is so charming - clean, spacious, private, relaxing... we stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment that we used/rented as a 1-bedroom. The neighborhood is so quiet and is only a short golf-cart ride (!) into town. It's possible to walk to Flamenco Beach from Casita Tropical as well, though we really enjoyed those golf cart rides...
Molly was a great hostess - picked us up and dropped us off at the airport, drove us and several other guests to beaches (and lent us her snorkel gear!), and one night cooked all the guests an awesome dinner in the backyard. It's hard to describe just how magical Culebra really is - we were SO glad we ended up staying at Casita Tropical because Molly gave us the inside scoop on all the cool things we ended up doing. She knows everything about the island but totally lets you do your own thing. Just a perfect vacation! Thank you Molly, we are absolutely planning to return!! oxoxo Molly & Lucky, Brooklyn NY

Room Tip: Our guest suite (1 or 2 bedrooms) faced the road and was quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Love the porch! Hangout in the hammocks, listen to chickens and island critters.. Rooms are clean island basics, all you need really, anything more would be out of sync with the chill Culebra vibe. Molly is great, and will zip you to Flamenco or 'town' (15 min walk, come on people, nothing on Culebra is far) on her golf cart, which last time we were there saved us an expensive car rental--thank you Molly! Food - 10 min walk is Barbara Rosa's, do yourself a favor and go for dinner, tostones were best I've had. Now pack your snorkel and just go!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KoteTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Molly is every bit as great as the other reviewers say. The room was well equipped and comfortable, if rustic. It is a good walk from anywhere, as others pointed out. Staying here, you are not insulated from the neighborhood around you. There are cars passing with loud radios and roosters crowing in the morning. You are a part of the neighborhood. We liked this, but be aware. If you only wanted to go to Flamenco beach, you would not really need transportation. But otherwise, yes, you are going to want to rent something.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phototactician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.8 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
14.3 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
16.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#5 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#10 of 19 in Culebra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita Tropical

Property: Casita Tropical
Address: 72 Villa Muneco | Bo Resaca, 00775, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Garden Guesthouse.All first floor units -Two small guest rooms accomodating 2 guests each with, TV, AC, private bath and kitchenette, screened in patio.-One large guest room accomomodating 6 guests with 3 ceiling and 3 floor fans, kitchenette and TV, open air screened in windows. House accomodation with private bathroom, kitchen, livingroom with TV, 2 bedrooms with AC and full beds, up to 5 guests. (Can combine with large efficiency for larger groups) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casita Tropical Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing