We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a lot of fun, very relaxing.. just how we wanted it”
Review of Casita Tropical

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casita Tropical
Ranked #3 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 22, 2012

First off staying here is a deal because she will will pick you up from the ferry or airport and drop you off at either as well even if its at 6 am and Molly didn't even wince at the early time. You don't have to rent snorkel gear or beach gear or bikes and there is a little kitchen area and fridge so you can get groceries and cook if you would like. She suggested great places to see what we wanted to see and drove us early so we could see sea turtles even though it was not Flamenco Beach (which is the one spot you get a ride to).

Our room was comfy, we had an air conditioner and a noise machine for the roosters in the morning which didn't matter because we woke up early to do activities anyways. Our shared community space was nice and we didn't feel uncomfortable and the hammock was great! We found the walk into town pretty short 15 minutes and asked to borrow a flashlight for the walk back, its a safe town and everyone seems to keep their doors unlocked and are very trusting. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraehill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Casita Tropical
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 215 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at Casita Tropical!

Molly is an amazing host, and extremely helpful as all the other reviews mentioned. She was always happy to give me a lift, whether to the beach, or in to town (taxi back is only $3/person). On a slow night, when most of the restaurants were closed, she went out of her way to cook a delicious dinner for all the guests - how awesome is that?! In addition, my room was spacious, and very clean.

I had an amazing time while in Culebra, and it wouldn't have been the same had i stayed somewhere else....thank you so much Molly!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nana1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Molly was a great host. Laid back fun place to stay. She was very helpful and took us to places we needed to go. Clean and peaceful. I loved relaxing in the hammock after a day at the beach.
Can't wait to go back. TY Molly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We were delighted to find that we had our own little house rather than just a room in Casita Tropical, complete with living room, large kitchen, bathroom and two bedrooms, plus a front porch with hammock. All very clean and comfortable, with a lot of mod cons. Simple, 70s style holiday decor. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. Molly and Jerry were extremely friendly and helpful, as others have described. They picked us up and dropped us off at the ferry, and gave us occasional other rides to Flamenco Beach, and into town. They let us borrow snorkelling equipment and a boogie board, and would have let us borrow bicycles, but when we said we wanted to go to Flamenco beach, they advised us not to cycle due to the big hill, and gave us a lift there ($6 taxi back).

The main con to this place for us was its distance from Dewey, the little town which is the island's capital, where the ferry docks. Casita Tropical is situated on the far side of the island's airport, on a quiet, residential road, which means that a walk into town (i.e. to access restaurants, bars, shops, and the ferry) takes 25 minutes at a reasonable pace. Sometimes Molly drove us in, other times we called a $6 taxi, and occasionally we walked, but the walking option wasn't brilliant either in the heat of the day, or after dinner when it was dark, particularly around the airstrip where they are legally not allowed to light the street, leading to a pitch black route. This wouldn't have been a problem for people who wanted to have a self-catering holiday and thus had no reason to go into town all the time (Molly took us to a grocery store en route home from the ferry), but we wanted to eat out, including breakfast (as we'd failed to buy breakfast stuff), and found the isolation a little frustrating. Going out to buy anything had to be a major event. Reviewers mention the man selling juice across the road - this can't be relied upon: he was only open for one of the three nights we stayed, and the juice seemed as though it had been poured from a standard carton we should have bought ourselves from the store if we'd been more organised, rather than relying on this man.

Molly was extremely helpful in arranging for us to go on a snorkelling trip with Rob, as others have discussed. However, be aware - our experience wasn't fantastic. There were four others on the trip who had all already been to the best snorkelling spots on the island, so the trip was catered to them with no discussion as to our preferences, and the day was spent going to more mediocre spots, with plenty of coral but few fish (though when I insisted I wanted to try to see a turtle, he did obligingly take me to a good spot the others had already been to... though I felt like I was being an inconvenience to the party). My main concern with Rob was that my partner was stung by a jellyfish while snorkelling and was quite distressed - Rob brought the boat to us when he heard our shouts, but had no advice, other than lending her a sweater, and after his initial enquiry when she came on board, didn't express any interest, advice, or even ask if she was okay for the rest of the trip (as opposed to Molly who was concerned and helpful, and even let us borrow her jellyfish sting ointment). Not great.

So in summary, this was a great little house with lots of mod cons and extremely nice and helpful owners in a quiet location a 25 minute walk/6 minute drive from town, in lovely Culebra. Personally, we'd have preferred to be nearer town, but I'm sure we'd have had to swap our spacious accommodation for a little room, and we'd have missed meeting Molly and Jerry.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Molly, and Jerry thank you for the wonderful time. This house was neat, had everything you need, snorkeling gear, bikes, and good people.

Wake up to the sounds of roosters and spend your morning in a hammock drinking coffee. The house is clean and neat. Molly also gave us rides to different beaches and told us about the local life which is very interesting.

Culebra is surreal, in a time when you are expecting to be mauled by people pushing cheap trinkets and faux experience this is a breath of fresh air. You need hosts this good. It helps that They were accessible all the time and always in a great mood.

Jerry is a good sailor and has a great boat if you want to fish or go out and make a day of going to wild beaches on the small isles around it.

Everything and everyone is laid back allowing you to get the most relaxation, but no detail is forgotten.

Room Tip: Word of advice, take Air Flamenco or VAL to the Island. The ride is quick and pretty, the ferry can...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I choose casita tropical after reading the great reviews of the place and we found everything like they said in their comments. From the hospitality of Molly, the clean and neat rooms, the perfectly placed hammock, to the tips of Molly of when and where to see the sea turtles. We were celebrating our aniversary

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanperico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Staying at Casita Tropical for one night has been my favorite part of an 11 night vacation in Puerto Rico. Jerry and Molly, the hosts, are as good as they get... They picked us up at the ferry when we got to Culebra, showed us around town, let us borrow bikes and snorkel gear to spend the day at Flamenco beach, and invited us to dinner with them and the other guests... Which was fresh kingfish and tuna that Jerry had caught the day before, delicious rice and beans Molly made, as well as salad and a fresh mango salsa for the fish. It was spectacular! And all of this was complimentary... The room for the night was very inexpensive although it was big and had a nice beachy feel, and Jerry and Molly gave us a one night reservation on very short notice. I highly recommend Casita Tropical to anybody staying in Culebra, and if you're visiting Puerto Rico, definitely take a day or two and spend it in Culebra. The little 4 by 7 mile island is beautiful and the beaches are magnificent!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.8 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
18.9 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
455 reviews
16.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
51.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Culebra
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita Tropical

Address: 72 Villa Muneco | Bo Resaca, 00775, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range: $120 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Garden Guesthouse.All first floor units -Two small guest rooms accomodating 2 guests each with, TV, AC, private bath and kitchenette, screened in patio.-One large guest room accomomodating 6 guests with 3 ceiling and 3 floor fans, kitchenette and TV, open air screened in windows. House accomodation with private bathroom, kitchen, livingroom with TV, 2 bedrooms with AC and full beds, up to 5 guests. (Can combine with large efficiency for larger groups) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casita Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casita Tropical Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing