We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly special island meal”
Review of Gio by Gio Gastro Bar - CLOSED

Gio by Gio Gastro Bar
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A truly special island meal”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

On our recent trip to Culebra we had picked up a little postcard announcing the opening of Gio's restaurant at Bahia Marina. Later that night we ended up meeting Gio himself at The Spot in Dewey. He wowed me with pictures of his dishes on his Instagram account, and I knew immediately that his restaurant would be our first pick for my boyfriend's birthday dinner. Gio did not disappoint! Our bartender, Marlene, was also a delight and kept us entertained throughout our leisurely meal by the pool. We had the king crab sushi roll to start, and I had Gio's steak sliders with a side of fried eggplant (both appetizers) for my meal. Rather than being on little buns, the "sliders" consisted of tender steak slices on plantain patties. This, along with the eggplant, was by far my best meal on the island. I have full confidence that we could have ordered anything off the menu and it would have been incredible. Thanks Gio!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank capecodfoodie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    18
    8
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sikeston, mo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“one of the best”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

stayed at club seaborne so had breakfast every morning. had dinner one night and it was very good. wine selection excellent. more formal dining compared to other places on island.small relaxed restaurant, would go back anytime and highly recommend you give it a try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cowboyscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Late night w/ Geo”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

On a recent trip to Culebra my girlfriend and I were stuck in a situation where no one had food or was open and we were starving. Geo had just reopened his establishment as the rest of the island had lost power. We drove around looking for different spots and by luck stumbled upon Bahia Marina. While getting things opened up and a limited menu, he managed to concoct two great fish dishes and made us feel right at home. He was a great host, played excellent music and made sure we were satisfied with our experience. I would definitely recommend visiting this hidden spot for a good local meal and a relaxing time away from the downtown spots that are overrun at times with tourist and locals.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An awakening to puertorican taste”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

The best puertorican cuisine experience. When you visit Culebra you can't leave without visiting Gio's. This talented chef will delight you pallet with the exotic tastes of the Caribbean!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Eliezer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic restaurant”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is the first time we stayed for dinner in three consecutive days during our visit to Culebra. We tried almost every dish on the menu and love them all. The chef Gio cooked with obvious love, every dish was delicious and looked like an art, we should have taken pictures of food served. When we asked Gio to add some more vegetable to the Cod Fish Cake at the last dinner, Gio changed the whole recipe except the fish and made a different but delicious dish as usual. We definitely will remember this place and come back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wangshuanglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gio by Gio Gastro Bar also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing