We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss! Highlight of my trip to Culebra!”
Review of Culebra Sailing

Culebra Sailing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Eco-friendly sailing tours of Isla de Culebra, Isla Culebrita and surrounding waters on an Authentic 60ft. Classic Wooden Schooner! Come aboard for a fun filled day of sailing, be part of the crew or just sit and enjoy the peace and quite of sailing on an ocean going schooner! Snorkel in the warm waters of Isla Culebrita, trek to the old lighthouse,or relax in the natural jacuzzi found on the island. Now taking reservations for 2015!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not miss! Highlight of my trip to Culebra!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

What’s better than sailing on the Caribbean on beautiful, 60-foot, old-school wooden sail boat?

Captain Mike and his son, Chris, are super friendly and professional. We headed out and went to Culebrita, which had the most beautiful beach that I've ever seen. They had snorkeling gear for us to use and beers. They showed us hidden natural pools and had a dinghy to ferry us to the island. The price was extremely reasonable for 8+ hours of sailing. The small group size (4 of us, plus Mike and Chris) made it more fun and personal. THIS IS NOT TO BE MISSED!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Celticsfan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont ny
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful sailing on a great ship and crew 5 STAR”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Lois & I Ran into Mike (skipper) at the Dinghy Dock Restaurant after spotting his sweet wooden dinghy. The Russamee sail like a dream and has a great history. A rare boat a rare place and a rare time. Mike Lois & I had a great time with you and i was the highlight of our visit. hope to see you next January
thanks so much
Scot Marechaux Belmont NY 14813

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank scot104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at Culebra Sailing, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks Scott! And thanks for the film clip. Hope you and Lois find your way out of the north country again next year and sail again with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is for those nostalgic souls who've dreamt of the simple pleasures of a seafarer’s life.
Imagine being surrounded by the timeless craftsmanship of a languishing breed of wooden ship builders, the feel of the sun warmed deck under your feet and the spray of the sea on your sun darkened skin, the taste of the salt air on your lips and the sensation of the seas rising and falling under you as the waves crash around the bow.
It is for those of us nostalgic souls that Russamee was created. She willingly satisfies all of these sensations and so many more. Something sort of magical happens when you are welcomed onto her decks by Captain Brown; you almost get the sensation of being transported back in time, and once out on the sea, you forget everything but your crew and Russamee.
The only thing I can say that is not positive about the voyage I took with Captain Brown, was that the trip came to an end all too soon, but the wonderful memories remain ‘til this day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Day of sailing with Captain Mike and his son ”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We lucked out. We discovered Culebra sailing through an advertisement we picked up at Pan Deli. We easily connected with the captain and set up our day long sailing excursion and it was easily the highlight of the entire trip to Culebra. captain Mike and his son Chris were professional, punctual and run a tight 60 foot wooden boat. It's a romantic experience and one we won't forget. It's $150 PP and well worth it. We were picked up at the town dock at 9 and sailed to Culebrita. There we visited the jacuzzi-like pools, snorkeled with turtles, and ate our lunches we prepared. It was peaceful and relaxing and Mike and Chris were excellent to be on ship with. For the experience on a majestic boat this was well worth the money and the time. You won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
1 review
“Perfect Day of Sailing”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

It was a great day of sailing. The crew (Capt. Mike and his son) were extremely nice and fun to spend a day with. The boat, the sailing, and the places visited were beautiful. Definitely a worth while adventure. Picture a perfect Caribbean day anchored at an uninhabited island with magical beaches and beautiful surroundings. Snorkling and hiking to unexpected destinations.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culebra Sailing also viewed

 

Been to Culebra Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing