We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Turtles and Rays!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarindo Beach

Tamarindo Beach
Ranked #4 of 27 things to do in Culebra
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ellston, Ia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love the Turtles and Rays!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Beach was very nice and the snorkeling is amazing if you like Turtles and Rays and are not looking for great coral. We came here several times over the 6 days we were on the island. We love swimming with the turtles! The entry is kind of rocky, but not too bad.
Park at the main parking area. Head left on the beach and find a place to settle in. Enter the water and Snorkel to the left over the sea grass and you will start to see turtles. After a while you will come across some structures where they are trying to grow Coral. This is where we say the rays.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank IABeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    95
    18
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This beach was just off the back parking lot of Flamenco Beach after a 20-30 minute hike, near Carlos Rosario. We enjoyed snorkeling here. It was colorful, plants were waving in the water, lots of fish, and even a sea turtle crossed our path while we were there. Very cool spot.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank madisonsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Terrible Road ending in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Unlike Flamenco, this is not a sandy beach, that you can walk for ever. The road is bumpy and full of potholes and the parking area is limited, but when you get off your car, walk past the bushes the view is phenomenal. Rock and pieces of dead coral are on the shore, but the swimming is amazing . This a snorkeling beach with turtle sightings. Get your equipment someplace else because there no kioskos there. One of the adventure companies had already arrived that morning with their kayaks and snorkeling equipment and had 2 extra sets. My son was able to add himself to the kayak/snorkeling tour and had a fantastic time. No bathroom facilities.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WMW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great beach for snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We went early and saw turtles and then snorkeled through the reef. The reef is lovely. The only things to watch out for are the folks who kayak here and the tiny cactus on the edges of the beach.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank best_regards_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Corals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Go here for great snorkeling! You'll enjoy the sea turtles too. They graze like cows and occasionally come up to get air.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank POTUS31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarindo Beach also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Tamarindo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing