We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded beach!”

Carlos Rosario Beach
Ranked #9 of 28 things to do in Culebra
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Secluded beach!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

It's a hike (literally) to get to this beach but worth all your beads of sweat. We were the only ones on this beach for several hours. I felt as if I was dreaming to be at such a beautiful place. The snorkeling was amazing--such huge coral that seemed to go on forever. The water is very calm and clear and we saw lots of amazing fish.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank charissa1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    23
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Snorkeling on the island”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

It's a 30 minute hike, some of it uphill, to reach this beach, but oh what a gem. Crystal clear, calm water, fabulous fish, even sting/manta rays. The brain coral are HUGE. The colors of the coral are not as brilliant as some places, but the size of the coral and the numbers of fish are astonishing. We heard turtles swim here too, but didn't see any. This was our favorite place on the island. No amenities, so bring water and snacks. And a camera! Wow!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RPM1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Beautiful snorkeling spot”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Well worth the short hike to Carlos Rosario. Remember to bring supplies with you since there are no facilities on the beach.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarahbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best Snorkeling on Culebra”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

During our week we snorkeled many of the great snorkeling spots including shark cages, melons, and Tamarindo, but no could come close to comparing to Carlos Rosario. Carlos Rosario has an amazing jungle of coral that is teeming with fish, fans, and brain coral. You have to swim out through the triangular clear water and then go to the left to enter the coral jungle. There is also amazing snorkeling out farther towards the buoys where you have visibility of probably 20-30 feet with tons of fish!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank thefox111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing Snorkelling Experience”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I cannot imagine what the reefs much have looked like when they were teeming with life. There is an abundance of it. But they are all brown [dead or diseased, I believe] with very little fish. No orange or red fish at all. It's worth a trip if you an enough time to spend in Culebra. If not, I'd rather explore Culebrita.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos Rosario Beach also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Carlos Rosario Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing