We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Experience The Best Of Culebra”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Culebra Beach Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My Wife and arrived via plane which we thought was a great experience and well worth the price. We rented a Jeep at Carlos Jeep Rental which is essential to get around. Make sure to keep your eyes on the road as they are not very well maintained. Hitting one of the potholes could certainly do some damage to your vehicle.

We picked up some Breakfast and Lunch items to ensure we didn’t have to leave the premises and therefore giving us more time to enjoy the beach. The Beaches on the island are some of the most Beautiful I’ve ever seen.

Make sure to hike over the hill to Carlos Rosario beach as the Snorkeling there is unbelievable. To get to this trail you need to go to the parking lot at Flamenco Beach and enter through a gate that contains the warning “Danger Unauthorized Personnel”. Don’t let that stop you but get ready for a 20-30 minute hike in the jungle.

We stayed in unit #7 which had a full kitchen and was clean. The room was ok but the mattress and pillows definitely need replacement. In addition the unit did not have any soap. I don’t think that’s too much to ask for. I hope that the owners of this Unit make these upgrades as it’s a minor investment that would guarantee return customers.

I would recommend staying here as the location is perfect. Just be advised that there will be some inconveniences if you stay in Unit #7 but this may not be the case for the other units as they are all privately owned.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank rod8137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 285 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

My husband & I stayed at Culebra Beach Villas and we loved it. The location could of not been better. We were steps away from the most beautiful beach we had ever seen. Flamenco Beach is everything and more than we could of asked for. Make sure you bring your own beach towels and take plenty of bug spray. They can get nasty! Especially in the evening. They also offer beach chairs that you can rent for the day, I can't remember exactly how much it is, but it's pretty reasonable. We were able to cook our own breakfast everyday and take our drinks to the beach. If you are one of those people who need internet in your room, then the villas may not be the place for you. The only place you can get WIFI is in front of the main office. Cell phone service is not the best there either. They do have a phone right in front of the main office with all the numbers to the cabs so that if you need transportation you can call them and they will pick you up. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable time. We will definitely be back but maybe not in May, it rained a lot! We manage to keep ourselves busy thought and enjoyed the island as much as we could.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IzzieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed here on a very good recommendation of our daughter and son in law. We were in Villa 14. We arrived early because we took the 9:00 ferry and rented a jeep from Carlos Jeeps. We were able to get into our villa early which was a pleasant surprise. (I might add that the ferry, jeep rental process can be very stressful. We tried to get ferry tickets in advance but were unable to do so. We arrived at the ferry dock before 6:30 AM to get our tickets. Only one person can go to get the jeep so the others are left baking in the sun with the luggage at the ferry dock). Culebra Beach Villa Rentals look lovely at first glance. Each villa has an abundance of porch furniture and a grill which we were looking forward to using but the mosquitos were so bad you could not be outside for more than a minute without getting eaten alive. There was not a mosquito problem at the beach which was good. After spending some time at the beach the first day we made our way to a little store for groceries. Upon returning to the Villa to cook dinner, we found all of the cookware contained a layer of mouse droppings. It was disgusting and we refused to use the pans. We made our way back to the store and fortunately we were able to return our groceries. That meant eating out every night which was quite expensive. We paid $204 a night and were willing to do so with the assumption we could cook. When we talked to management the next morning about the mouse droppings, the woman came to our villa muttering about the maids not cleaning properly. She proceeded to dump all the mouse droppings onto the kitchen floor. When my husband told her not to do that - she swept them up. She took all of the cookware with her and offered to get us others, but we declined. She did not seem upset about the mouse problem only that we found out about it. On a whim, we placed a few cheerios in the cupboard, and they were gone within an hour. Obviously, the little creatures live there. We asked for a refund more than once and were told she was checking with the owner. Upon checking out, she still said she was checking. We will follow up but are not holding our breaths.

Overall, the accomodations are not anything fancy, may or may not be clean, and apparently you never know what you will find. The beach was pretty but honestly, we have seen nicer beaches in Bermuda, Florida and Aruba. Snorkeling is very good right from the beach which is nice. We probably would not stay here again.

Finally, be advised if you rent a car to allow plenty of time to fill it up with gas before your return ferry trip. We allowed a couple of hours and barely made it. We had to wait in a line for the only gas station on the island for a very long time. Once again, some were sitting at the ferry with the luggage while my husband took care of the jeep. He only returned just as they were starting to board the ferry. It made for a VERY STRESSFUL situation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank SG418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We recently stayed in one of the apartment units at Culebra Beach Villas. The location is the best thing going for this place. It is one of the only lodging options located right on Flamenco Beach. The apartment was ok- pretty dark so you didn't want to spend any time indoors (but then again, why would you if you're on Isla Culebra?). The kitchen was equipped with the basics and the place was clean. We had a side porch which had partial views of the beach, though it was very windy so we didn't spend as much time there as we would have liked. We did have several encounters with cockroaches in the apartment, but we honestly didn't feel like that was an issue.

The biggest problem for us was the noise. We aren't particularly light sleepers, but Whether it was Spring Break college kids or large groups of main-islanders on the weekend, it seemed that there wasn't a night when we weren't kept up until 1 or 2 a.m. by partying guests staying in the apartments or in the adjacent villas. Since there is no on-sight management to control this, you are really on your own to deal with the problem. We did speak with someone in management after a really unbearable night and were told that the only thing we could do was to call the police. What we found to be particularly annoying about this was that the management's list of rules posted in each apartment states that noise after 10pm is not allowed but then they do nothing to enforce this rule.

I don't think we would stay here again mainly because we slept so badly each night. It's a shame because the location really is amazing...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urgelltravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I do not care what anyone else says, this was a fantastic place to stay! We had a group of 19 people and we took up 3 different rooms and none of them had bed bugs, everyone had a good nights sleep, and no one had any missing items! All of the rooms were comfortable and had clean linens on all of the beds. We each were given one clean towel, but no hand towels or wash cloths, so if you need these, I suggest bringing your own. All of the kitchens were well stocked with dishes and utensils but there are absolutely no condiments or left overs from former tenants what so ever, so you will need to bring in every thing you need, I mean even salt and pepper. But really it is not that big of a deal, just walk outside and you are on the most beautiful beach in the world! This beach has it all: directly in front of the villas there are great waves to play in, to the left it gets very calm and to the right is a great reef for snorkeling. I have been to many different beaches and I have never seen a better beach in my life!! Why would you want to drive from town, even though it is only 5 minutes away, when you can be right on the beach! The villas are great, really! The hammocks on the lanai, and the tables and chairs outside and all three of the villas we stayed in had nice comfortable furniture in them. Not the Ritz just a nice place to stay. We were very happy to stay here and CAN'T WAIT to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dleilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I came to Culebra Beach Villas with huge party of about 30 people who were celebrating the honeymoon of a couple who had gotten married a few days before in Old San Juan. The moment that I stepped onto Flamenco Beach I couldn't believe that such a beautiful corner of the world existed. White sand, clear beautiful water. It was indeed paradise. It was worth the ordeal to make the reservations at Culebra Beach Villas, which involved me calling at the moment their office opened and speaking Spanish to the front desk. They didn't answer emails and rarely picked up the phone during the day. The rooms were expensive, but the location was amazing! No frills rooms, but with TV and fully equipped kitchen. There was a cockroach in my room one night, but that's to be expected in tropical locations. No restaurant on site, so you must rent a golf cart/car to go into town for food. BBQ pits available. Don't expect staff to be around to wait on you. Fully self-sufficient vacation experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viajera511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

It’s a beautiful place in front of the most amazing beach, but... it’s infested with huge, flying roaches. Yes, it’s possible to find a roach on the grounds, maybe in the BBQ area or in the area where you deposit the trash. They were EVERYWHERE!!! Also, there is no security guard or front desk employee at night. Anyone can access the complex, and this is a security issue.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dreamvacati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
3.1 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
388 reviews
19.2 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 5 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
640 reviews
53.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
992 reviews
27 mi away
Ocean Pearl
Ocean Pearl
#3 of 3 in Luquillo
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culebra Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culebra Beach Villas

Address: Flamenco Beach, 00775, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Price Range: $115 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only complex located at one of the best beaches in the world; Flamenco Beach at Culebra, PR ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Culebra Beach Villas Hotel Culebra
Culebra Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing