We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
6
19
27
22
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
19
27
22
36
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 110 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2005

The hotel is very convenient and the rooms were clean. For $60 a night we got what we expected: a small and simple room. Also, all the taxis stop by all day in front of the hotel to bring people to the beach...only $2 a person.

12  Thank Road30007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2004

i lived in puerto rico for about 2 years in the past, and naturally, my friends and i wanted to see the neighboring islands. one weekend, we decided to go to culebra, and ended up staying at the Hotel Kokomo. one thing alot of people need to realize is vacationing somewhere like this isn't like being back in the states. if you want the comforts of home, stay on the mainland and go to the Conquistador. if you want to experience something different, Hotel Kokomo is a good place to start. there are no TVs or phones, and the maid serivice isn't going to wash your clothes for you. there is no airconditioning, just like most of the homes in the area, including where i lived for 2 years. to be quite honest, my friends and i were impressed with the room we got for the money we paid. we stayed on the top floor on the balcony overlooking the ferry. we had three beds and two couches, more than enough room for all of us. we had a kitchenette, and a bathroom. when you're spending a weekend somwhere trying to have a good time experienceing the island, do you really need anything else? the rooms aren't designed for you to stay in the all day long, they're somwhere to sleep and clean up before you go out exploring. granted, the security made me a little nervous. the room we stayed in didn't even have a lock on the sliding door. all we had was a gate at the bottom of the stairs, which i eaisly jumped around when i forgot my key. we never had a problem, and none of us had any need to bring valuables along, so we were prettty much fine. all in all, i'd have to say that i really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Kokomo, and the reason most people won't give it as good of reviews as i would is because they simply aren't familiar with the culture in that area. they don't know that if you don't want to pay an arm and a leg for a place to stay, this is what you're going to get.

  • Stayed: February 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Cruiser20193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2004

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Kokomo on May 19th, 2004. We knew we were not going to the Ritz but never dreamed that we would be staying at a place that has only one lock on the door and others may have the exact key to your place. We were going to sleep that night and I was a bit worried about having only one lock on the door. It didn't appear to be safe. I was thinking about putting a chair or some heavy table in front of the door. While I laid awake contemplating if I should do that I looked over at the door and notice that the door knob was turning and the door was starting to open. My husband and I immediately jumped out of bed and threw ourselves onto the door and slammed it shut, my husband yelled out "Who are you and what do you want!" Whoever it was never said a word and split. It was a super scary moment for us and there was really nowhere for us to go since it was late at night and just about everyone in the town was closed down for the night. We called the owner of the place and he immediately came to our aid. He does not stay at Hotel Kokomo, he lives about a half hour away from there. He felt terrible about the whole thing and he moved us to another room facing the street and next to the office. It didn't help ease my fear of someone having a key to that room as well. Since we were pretty much stuck there for the night we had no choice but to stay there. We put a table in front of the door and I pretty much stayed awake for that night. This place is not a place I would recommend to anyone. Until this new management gets their act together, I think its not a safe place to stay. I also learned that this owner had just bought the place about 3 weeks ago and he has a lot of work to do there. For one thing he needs to change all the locks and put in an extra security lock or chain on top of the one that is on the door. We also had no hot water at all. There is no phone or TV and you will only get one towel per person and that is it. I think for the little bit you get there it is a little expensive. I would probably never consider staying there again. We called the cops that night and just from what they were saying it doesn't sound like the people there are bad at all, and from what they were gathering it sounded more like some drug attic wanted to just find a place to crash for the night and probably has done so many night, since he does have a key to that room (#7). We were planning on staying two nights there, but after that we decided to head back to Puerto Rico and just stay there instead. Oh another thing the streets there are under major construction and it is very very hard to get to and from there. I mean the streets are all dug up! Plus you will be awaken by all the construction noise that begins at about 6AM.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank GrandTour3648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2004

This trip was done on somewhat of a budget, so $70 a night on Culebra was about the limit of what we were willing to spend. The room was very big, but there was no hot water, nor was there ever any explanation or warning to that effect. There was also no AC, but due to the fan and the tradewinds, this wasn't a problem. No TV or phone, but like most people on this island, we didn't really care or want either. This hotel is in a pretty good location, right by the ferry and not very far from cafes and bars. The room was pretty clean, just don't expect any frills or a super-accomodating staff.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Lara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews