We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place to sleep that is it” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kokomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Kokomo
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Place to sleep that is it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at kokomo and the only good thing that i found was the location, right in front of the ferry deck, but the costumer service was far away from good, the room was clean but look very old and whoever build it probably never had a hammer on their hand before (no construction skill at all) , and it was overpriced for $100, probably if they would charged me $45 or $50 i would not been complaining but i think it was too much money for this "hotel".

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tico1480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    25
    22
    35
See reviews for
14
41
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is really a funny hotel. It's reception is hardly ever open, but you can always get things handled in the downstairs karaoke bar or the bakery shop. They all belong to the same system. We stayed in the suite and the room was good enough. Not luxurious, but good value for the money and wasn't expecting luxury, so we werew happy for what we got. Heard some people talking about the hotel being noicy, but we didn't notice that. Maybe the noice level is connected with the karaoke bar's activity level and it wasn't active that night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teppo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

You don't go to Isla Culebra to hang out in your room. There's so much to see, so much to do. This is hotel is right across the pier. Very convenient and quite close to everything - just walking distance away. Food place are everywhere but they close quite early maybe becuase its off season when we visited there. Nevertheless, Hotel Kokomo serves it purpose of providing a place to crash and shower after days of fun outside. If I could suggest a couple of things, I would say that the AC could've been a little bit more effecient as days in the island can sometimes be very warm. Also, it would be nice if they can provide beach towers since most if not all of the islands activited involves the beach. But thanks to Shelley though for being so helpful and accomodating to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TabsterInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Pros: awesome location...literally right off the ferry. Huge room/space (we stayed in room 12 and had beds to sleep 6,a sitting area, fully furnished kitchen, bathroom, and a patio with a fantastic view of the Sunday over the water). Great value for what we paid! Also our room was ready when we came in on the ferry at 10am...didn't have to wait until 3 to check in!

Cons: air conditioning needs to be updated in back bedroom...didn't do much to keep the room cool in the morning. Better shades needed too...6am rolled around and my sleeping was done. Also front bedroom very loud in the morning. Ants in the kitchen, stained sofa. No soap in the bathroom. Little things.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShiningHalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford,Pa
Level Contributor
354 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights while we visited Culebra. The rooms consist of a bed, two chairs and a small bathroom. It was clean and the air conditioner worked and at least the first night was quiet. The second night a couple stayed with a child who screamed for part of the night. There is so much to do on this island all we needed was a place to sleep so this place worked. We enjoyed talking to the locals in the bar and bakery downstairs. If your used to staying in fancy rooms you will be disappointed but if you want to enjoy the island and it's beauty this place is fine. Except for the bar Dewey has no nightlife and it had a TV that worked as long as it doesn't rain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Milford_PaMooseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I are very low key and so we had fun at this hotel. The bar is right below the hotel and was hopping when we were there. It's clearly not very nice and pretty much just a bed to sleep in but if you're up for partying with the locals and don't need a 5 star resort this is a fun place. It's a good location for everything including the ferry.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Was told to "read the terms & conditions" when I complained about the bar kareoke blaring directly below my room. This and the door slamming, which can be felt through the plastic mattress cover, goes on until at least 2am. Beautiful island, but this place ruined and otherwise lovely experience. Whatever you dont stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Culebra hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.2 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 3 in Fajardo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#12 of 19 in Culebra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#5 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kokomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokomo

Property: Hotel Kokomo
Address: At the Ferry Terminal | Dewey, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kokomo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel in Culebra! Right across from the ferry you are in the center of town. You can walk to a couple of beaches and take a minivan to Flamenco Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kokomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokomo Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing