We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-known hotel on island near restaurants, shops, taxis to beaches, excellent service, clean rooms, powerful AC, good price, g”
Review of Posada la Hamaca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada la Hamaca
Ranked #8 of 20 Culebra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Posada la Hamaca for 2 days during a longer trip to see Puerto Rico. The hotel was exceptionally clean; even the bathroom - better than most mainstream hotels I've stayed in while traveling on business. It was also very convenient that seemingly everyone in town knew the hotel by name, so we could easily get taxi rides there, have bike deliveries sent there, and even our snorkeling company knew to pick us up there for the tour. 

The hotel has the usual amenities - private room and bathroom, TV, WIFI Internet, powerful AC (a major plus), maid service. 

What makes it more unique is it also can rent you snorkel gear at a good price - a must on the island and otherwise hard to come by as Culebra truly is a small store. The staff, and owner Ramón, are also very friendly to guests. After check out, you can keep your stuff in a locker, keep your rented snorkel gear and get more beach towels, and go visit the beach some more before returning to get a shower and pick up your stuff. Try to find that kind of friendliness and flexibility at a normal hotel. 

Ramón was also extremely friendly and honestly the best host I've ever had at any hotel whether mainstream or bed & breakfast. Very accommodating. 

What you'll find at this hotel is a good place to stay, but not upscale. I'm not sure if there are upscale hotels on the island anywhere, and so you'll generally experience a cross between a bed & breakfast-type place and a true hotel. 

For the more logistically minded, it's very useful to know that on the same block as the hotel is a little grocery store that will save your life if you forgot anything like sunscreen, or want to buy food to take with you on a trip. There is an excellent bakery on the other end of the block for breakfast. The ferry and taxis to the main, gorgeous Flamenco beach are 2 blocks away, and cost $3 per person. The main restaurants on the island, including the best (Susie's) are mostly within 2 blocks from the hotel too. 

That's not a typo; it's $3. Ramón also speaks excellent English, and was extremely available even when we were away from the hotel and had to call him a couple times. If he's not around, there are other people. It's also very helpful he speaks good English because that's a rarity on the little island, and he can give very good advice on what to do. 

I normally don't write reviews, but had wished there had been more on Culebra before we left. This is a good place to stay in my opinion, and where we'll go on future visits. Hope this helps you future travelers. 

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SejongCamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 161 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

The patio and location of this guest house are nice. The manager is helpful when he is there, but he isn't always there. There is A/C and satellite. The linens were of very poor quality. The bed linens were very scratchy. The room was reasonably clean but not perfect and the furnishings were pretty old and the room was quit small. There are probably nice places to stay at Culebra for the same price We were just there one night so it was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anniefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Overall, my wife and I had a nice 3 night stay at the guest house. Our room had satellite TV and the A/C was strong. Best part of the hotel is its proximity to downtown stores and the ferry dock. There is a good restaurant next door called Mamasitas that is worth going to.

This is not a luxury guest house. When we arrived the bed sheets seem old and cheap, however the manager gave us new ones that were in much better condition. For some reason our rooms shower would not shut off all the way, but i hardly noticed.

For the price, I would recommend it for a night or two.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room in the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This place was a delight. The wifi, fridge, cooler, and comfortable beds were great, but the treatment we received from Ramon, the manager, encouraged me to write a stellar review. When we arrived at Posada, we were quite frustrated because it had rained the entire day. Feeling bad, he drove us to a closer beach to salvage our day. When my friend stepped on a sea urchin there, he called a boat captain that he knew to learn about what we could do and then drove us to the hospital. He stayed with us at the hospital and helped translate the doctor (my friend was completely fine by the way). His friendliness helped salvage the trip. I would definitely return to his hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmorton24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The rooms were pretty basic. There was a fridge. If there was wifi, it didn't reach our room. It's reasonably priced, though, and there is an absolutely gorgeous patio on the canal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Posada thoroughly. Rooms were simple and clean, and the hotel is at the heart of things. There is a nice deck behind it on the canal. The manager, Ramon, couldn't have had more knowledge about what to do, where to go, and was very helpful. The beaches, especially Flamenco and Zonio, were heaven. If you drive out at night to a quiet road, the stars in the pure darkness are overwhelming.

Room Tip: I liked the second floor and think it is probably quieter. Ask for anything you need--like extra pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

My cousin and I enjoyed this little quaint guesthouse. We arrived off a flight on Air Flamenco where I was able to view 3 whales from the charter window. The guesthouse opened about 9:30am and the gentlman that worked the guesthouse was very helpful and provided excellent . The only reason to not provide a 5 star rating was because our room was next to the street and we could hear cars and roosters.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kass02em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Culebra hotels
1.1 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#10 of 20 in Culebra
108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#6 of 20 in Culebra
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hillbay View Villas
Hillbay View Villas
#8 of 20 in Culebra
28 reviews
1469.2 mi away
Naniqui Guest House & Rentals
0.8 mi away
Island Charm Culebra
Island Charm Culebra
#11 of 20 in Culebra
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada la Hamaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada la Hamaca

Address: Calle Castelar #68 | P.O. Box 388, 00775, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of Dewey (Culebra's only town), the main ferry dock is only 3 minutes away (walking distance), the airport and Flamenco Beach are about 15 minutes in a public ride ($2.00 per person), restaurants, grocery stores and the bakery are all within 5 minutes (walking distance). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada La Hamaca Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing