We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean air conditioned rooms”
Review of Villa Boheme

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Boheme
Ranked #6 of 20 Culebra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2006

I have stayed at Villa Boheme on three different occasions. I recommend it because the rooms are clean and air conditioned for a reasonable enough price. The rooster was killing me although- it started crowing at 2 o'clock in the morning and continued straight through the am. I did think they could have invested in better mattresses too- I had springs inbedded in my back all night. I have stopped in at other inns on the island and I can't complain after seeing the condition of those places. La Hamaca (guest house off the main st.)sp.? was unclean and the room was infested with mosquitoes. Culebra is such a beautiful place to visit- I highly recommend seeing it. The beauty of the island overshadows any minor complaints that I may have regarding accomodations.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abbypuppy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Villa Boheme
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 155 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
13
Reviewed May 23, 2005

It is located on the bay and has its own private patio and dock. We stayed in a room on the third floor and had a great view with plenty of light flowing in.
Another reviewer said they noticed alot of mosquitos, maybe it was because of the time of year we were there, but we never had a problem with mosquitos. The rooms are pretty much no frills, but are quaint and serve their purpose just fine (there are also rooms that are less expensive than 120/night). There is a handy communal kitchen on the first floor with a fridge to keep food, wine or midnight snacks. The patio is well maintained with tables and hammocks, and is conducive to hanging out. (the hammocks are great!) There are definitly some good restaurants on the island, however, Boheme's neighbor, the Dinghy Dock is not one of them. They are overpriced and not that tasty.
If you want to just go to playa flamenco, then take the $2 taxi, but if you want to explore the other beaches, you will want to rent a jeep (my advice, not a scooter but an actual jeep). Our stay here was wonderful and I would absolutely stay at Villa Boheme again. It is definitly one of the best values on the island.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sea Girt, NJ
110
Reviewed January 17, 2004

Stayed at Villa Boheme in Culebra for 4 nights. Paid $120.00 plus tax for room. Got a king size bed with an efficiency kitchen. Ceiling fan looked like it was about to fall of the ceiling. We were on the ground floor so no private balcony. If you book, try to get something on the second floor, that looked more private to me. Our room was clean but very dark and the windows were rather small. As we were on the ground floor which opens up onto a communal patio it sometimes felt like we had strangers in our bedroom. Also there is a rooster next door that begins it crowing at 3am. Villa Boheme is on a Bay and the view of the rest of the Bay was great. There were however a lot of mosquitoes. The guest house is well maintained and is probably one of the better establishments on the island. It is also well located near the edge of the very small town of Dewey. You may want to consider renting a scooter for part of the time you are there as the beaches are far from the town. All in all, Villa Boheme provided adequate accomodations but I felt that it was a bit overpriced for what they offered. I thought that there was a much better price quality ratio at Casa La Lanchita on Vieques, which I have also reviewed.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2003

Villa Bohème is a great experience. The setting is absolutely breathtaking, and the hotel itself is beautiful as well. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, and the location is great. You are within walking distance of most everything of interest within the town, and the central location on the island means that no beach is more than a $2 cab ride away.

In my opinion this hotel is the best value on the island.

5  Thank BayouMafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2003

It is a clean, nice, friendly guesthouse. The location is excellent.
The property has its own dock and it is ocean view.

If you are looking for luxurious accommodations, this might not be the place to go. Although it is cute and cozy, it doesn't have a telephone, television, radio or any technology available in the room. It doesn't have a restaurant either, however, the restaurants are at walking distance.

The room rate is a little expensive, but it is worth it if you are looking for a quite, away from the ordinary (rustic) accommodations.
For what I heard, Culebra doesn't have luxurious accommodations, but guesthouses.

This place was highly recommended to me by the friendly locals.

1  Thank Sharqui13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank RosaIraola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.0 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
18.4 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
455 reviews
15.8 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#10 of 20 in Culebra
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Boheme

Address: 368 Calle Fulladosa, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range: $95 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Boheme is a charming guest house located in Culebra, a small secluded island located 17 miles east of Puerto Rico and 13 miles west of St. Thomas. Enjoy some of the most pristine beaches in the Caribbean as well as many fine native restaurants within walking distance. Relax in our hammocks on the patio and enjoy the view of Ensenada Honda Bay and explore the beauty of the island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Boheme Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing