We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a really good time”
Review of The Lighthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lighthouse
Ranked #7 of 20 Culebra B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Lighthouse in early January and had a wonderful experience. Mary and Dave are excellent hosts, very knowledgeable about beaches and restaurants and accessible when guests need things. Our room was comfortable. There is no housekeeping but they offered to change our sheets and brought clean towels. With a fridge, a microwave and a coffee pot, breakfast was easy. There is a lovely garden where guests can eat and read. Overall a relaxing and convenient place to unwind.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cece S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for The Lighthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 98 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

My wife and I decided on a last minute vacation based on some info a co-worker offered and off to Culebra we went. The only problem was the NY weather and flight delays there and back. Through all of that, Mary and Dave Did everything posssible to juggle schedules on a last minute basis and make our stay with them a very mermorable one. When we arrived at the airport we didn't have to call Mary, she was already waiting for our arrival to take us to her Inn. The two rooms we stayed in were very clean and comfortable (Blue room and Coral room) The Coral room was a double room well decorated with two beds and all the neccessary furnishings. Half way through our stay Mary had to make accomodations with another B & B for us (because of our trip delays) for one night because she was full for that one night and I must say that I now how hard she tried to make sure our stay was plesant there. Their reccommendations for restaurants was spot on. My wife and I were blown away with the food and service at every single place we ate. The views from Mary and Daves Inn were very beautiful, big windows with nice a/c. A lot of ammenties including beautiful lanscaping for early morning coffee in the gardens with the Humming Birds or Iguanas, kinda like a little sanctuary. Their central location made it very easy to access prime beaches or a night in the town. Mary and Dave respected our privacy but were there for all our needs and we really appreciated that. If we can get back to Culebra I will definitly make accomodations with Mary and Dave again. We Thank You Soooooo much for making our stay so memorable. Bob and Helaine B.

Room Tip: Best tip? very affordable...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROBERT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Though our room was not spacious the accommodations were fine with a fridge microwave and coffee make as promised. The locations is very good and we walked into town as often as we drove. Definitely need a car to get to the beaches however. Carlos Jeep Rental was a-ok. But the driving force of The Lighthouse is the hosts. Dave and Mary are indeed available and very helpful but never intrusive. After having gone to Vieques many times we were surprised how much more we liked Culebra. Looking forward to our return.

Room Tip: The bed in the yellow room is clean and fine but not as good as a nice hotel bed. But for $100 a nig...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlneub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Lighthouse for 3 nights in late January. Mary picked us up from the airport which was just a stone's throw away but much appreciated since we had luggage and she lives up a hill. After a quick tour through town, we settled into our room. Mary was so accommodating, supplying me with remedies for my bug bites.
We were pleased to have beach amenities as well as microwave, coffee maker, fridge, dishes, etc. The room was very comfortable and clean, spacious bathroom --the tile looked new.
The only concern I had was that there was not room to unpack our bags, but we found a way to resolve that issue.
The location of The Lighthouse is great--close to convenience store.
Culebra is lovely. Would recommend having a vehicle to get to the more remote beaches.
Would definitely recommend and stay again!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TQBCincinnati_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We really enjoyed our time at The Lighthouse. The location was perfect. We were concerned because of it's proximity to the airport but that was not a problem at all! Mary gave us a tour of the town & gave restaurant & golf cart rental recommendations, which we really appreciated. The room was comfortable. All we really needed was a bed, a bathroom & a fridge & that's what we had. They have put a lot of thought into what their guests might need & have beach towels, coolers, umbrella's & chairs waiting for you to take to the beach. The thing we appreciated the most though was the aloe plant by the sand shower. I guess we weren't as careful about sunscreen as we had thought!
Culebra was the highlight of our trip & we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thanh456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjwiedner, Owner at The Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you made use of the aloe plants. We love them for sunburn and scrapes from the coral. We enjoyed meeting you and hope you will be back.
Best wishes,
Mary and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the comfortable Lighthouse on Culebra the first week of January this year.
Everything was as advertised, room was spotless and provided everything to enjoy the pleasures of Culebra. Mary and David very gracious hosts. The room was quite small for a couple used to more room. I would probably rent a home the next time here. That said, the garden was a haven to sit and eat our breakfasts and afternoon tea. Curious chickens wandered in and the hummingbirds are everywhere. With the soft rasp of the palmtrees in the wind, it is a bit of heaven. My suggestion would be to add a screen door to the room so to be able to leave the door open, an important source of light and air. We did anyway even though mosquitoes would fly in.
Mary has chairs, umbrellas and coolers for guests use. I left behind some lap swimming flippers because I never use them and hopefully someone can in the reefs around the island. The Lighthouse is in a nice area up the hill and across from the airport. Very convenient both to Flamenco beach and to restaurants downtown.Well stocked grocery and package store around the block.
A good option for young couples- there were several while we were there- and there's one larger suite for families.

Room Tip: Rooms are all on ground floor of large island house. Two face the garden and two face the rear (and...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BbearNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjwiedner, Owner at The Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind words and suggestions.
Best,
Mary and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in Lighthouse for three days and really enjoyed our stay.

First the Location of lighthouse is good. Although it is close to airport (if it can be called a airport), it is actually quite quiet. If you rent a golf cart, it's only about 7min drive to flamenco beach.

Second Mary really have prepared everything for us. We have coffee machine, microwave, refrigerator, books, beach chairs, ice box. you only need to rent a jeep or golf cart, grad some ice and beer, then you can go to the beach and enjoy your day there. Also Mary and her husband are very kind, if you need something, the only thing you need to do is to ask them, I borrowed fruit knife, glass slope from them.

Third, the people who stay in lighthouse is also quite friendly, we made friends with some of the travellers there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Micro-Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.9 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
18.6 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
455 reviews
16.0 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.5 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
838 reviews
14.0 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse

Address: Calle 2 | Barriada Clark, 00775, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range: $90 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on the beautiful island of Culebra, The Lighthouse is up the hill from the airport, where tropical breezes await you. Your hosts David and Mary Wiedner will meet you at the ferry or airport and take you on a tour of the island or to pick up your rental vehicle. We offer many amenities including off street parking, a refrigerator and microwave as well as coffee pot in every room and a spacious private bath. We also offer beach towels and a cooler. Beach chairs are available. We are only 1.8 miles from beautiful Flamenco Beach and just a 3-minute walk to the grocery store. Should you elect not to rent a car, we are minutes away from a publico (minibus) route, or a 20-minute walk to town. We are on-site year round and look forward to making your vacation relaxing and memorable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing