We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lighthouse
Nearby Hotels
$224
$152
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kokomo(Culebra)
$50
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
El Blok Hotel(Esperanza)
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Malecon House(Isla de Vieques)
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Tamarindo(Isla de Vieques)
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Bravo Beach Hotel(Isla de Vieques)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
85
10
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
10
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini fridgelight houserooms are cleanenjoyed our staydifferent placesmaryferrybeachesislandgolfcartflamingorenting
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 98 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

First off I want to say, what a gorgeous island Culebra is! The Lighthouse was the perfect backdrop to what the island has to offer. Mary was gracious enough to come pick us up at the ferry and drop us off at the hotel. She kindly informed us that there was a cooler and beach chairs that we could use. How perfect! The decor of the room was very fitting...towels, standard dishes and a microwave. We were almost always at the beach or going somewhere, but to come back and then go to bed...it was good. They also provided a shower outside to rinse off if you needed. I couldn't give it a perfect cause there were no curtains in the room and you couldn't exactly adjust the shower to the temp you want. Otherwise, simply divine experience and would recommend this hotel to every and anyone else. Loved it..simply loved it!

Room Tip: Just choose this room. It's awesome!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjwiedner, Owner at The Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Kathy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you had such a good vacation. I feel bad that your room blinds were not sufficient. As soon as I read your review, I found a pair of curtains and put them up this morning. They look great and will definitely help with privacy as well as early morning light. David and I pride ourselves on offering the best service possible, and are grateful for your recommendation.

Thank you for staying with us.

Mary and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

It is a well located place, you can walk to the grocery store or the car rental. If you are a hardcore walker you can also go to Flamenco Beach. The owners are very nice they pick you up at the dock or airport. The only thing that I didn't like is the windows are lower and the shades does not close very well so all the lights in the morning enters the room, also the privacy could be a problem if someone pass by the room so be careful that nobody sees you butt naked if you did not change on the bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that are on the back side of the house for more privacy.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gio25_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Very clean and managed by very friendly and helpful hosts. Highly recommended. Note that the guesthouse is in a residential area, a bit further away (15-20 min walk) from restaurants, bars and the ferry terminal. A convenience store is just a few doors down the street. You'll definitively get a quiet sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttosttos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I recently stayed here with my significant other and daughter. We planned to be very active and just needed a clean, reasonable place to stay while we enjoyed the island. The Lighthouse was perfect. Mary and David were very helpful with any questions that we had and greeted us when we arrived. The room was extremely clean and the fresh sheets were so welcomed after the two nights we spent in an ecolodge in the rain forest. There was a coffee maker, microwave and small refrigerator in the room, so were were able to have breakfast and often lunch there and save our money for dinner. Being able to make coffee and wake up when we felt like it was very nice. The location was convenient, we rented a Jeep so we really didn't have to worry about walking places, but you could if you did not rent a car. The rate for Coral Room was only $110, including tax and accommodated the three of us perfectly. Mary let us borrow her beach chairs, which were very nice to have, and supplied a cooler and beach towels too. There was a nice drying rack for our swimsuits, which was great. It was a really nice stay, and we would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CbusK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband and I called the Lighthouse last minute (23 May 2012) to see if 1) they had rooms available, and 2) they were a decent price (other places we tried were $100+). Mary, one of the owners was very gracious and allowed us to stay 1 night, even though she usually requires 2, (we actually ended up staying another night), at a cost of $80/night. She picked us up from the ferry dock and was friendly and helpful right off the bat. The property itself is freaking adorable! Room was neat and clean, colorful and nicely decorated. Furnishings consisted of: bed, microwave, mini fridge, clothes drying vertical rack, larger shelving unit for your clothes, small patio type table, plastic chairs, beach towels, cooler, cups, plates, bowls and eating utensils. The last handful of items were way more than we expected and were much appreciated! Bathroom was also nicely decorated with a fish theme, and we had plenty of hot water. They had an outside shower so you can rinse off the sand upon entering the room. AC wall unit worked well and kept us cool. Bed and pillows were a bit firm for me, but my husband was fine. Location is great; not so near the tiny downtown area to be obnoxious, but close enough so a 10 minute or so walk will get you there. We felt safe walking around, even at night when we got lost after taking a wrong turn on the way back to the Lighthouse. The folks around their area were friendly, helpful, and fluent in English. We met a lot of great people during our time in Puerto Rico, and Mary and David are among them. Both were friendly and helpful, and we had some really great conversations with them. We WILL be back to Culebra and will stay at The Lighthouse again!

Room Tip: There are four rooms available, we stayed on the one that faces the street and is closest to the outdoor shower.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tennisballfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjwiedner, Owner at The Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. David and I really appreciate it. We enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews