We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We left in the middle of ordering”
Review of El Eden

El Eden
Ranked #9 of 40 Restaurants in Culebra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Puerto Rican, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We left in the middle of ordering”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We made reservations and were happy to come at anytime including another day. We showed up timely and were shown our table that was awkwardly placed against another diner's back. The "fat, redneck bartender" as described in another review pushed my son's seat and said he needed to be able to walk behind our table. The kind waitress committed that they had several reservations and that the weird table set-up was all they could do. 1) don't take our reservation. 2) if you take our reservation give us a normal table. 3) don't push a child around so you can maneuver around your weird table set-up.

We could have lived with all of this, as you know there are limited dining options. However, when we discussed the encounter with the bartender he stated that we could "take it or leave it" so we decided to take our money elsewhere. I doubt they even care.

Places are busy and restaurants have a complicated business model, but jerks are jerks (even on an island) and should not be rewarded for bad behavior.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    77
    27
    10
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York city
1 review
“Excellent Dinner!!!!!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Must order the Captains Fish stuffed with Shrimp and Lobster! The sevice was excellent and friendly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hope1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best food on Culebra ”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

After eating at several Culebra restaurants we thought El Eden was the best. Friendly service an owner that knew wine and excellent food. I tried the swordfish which was excellent. As a side I had the mushroom risotto which was amazing! My wife had the fried red snapper which she loved and the lobster risotto as a side. The kids had churasco steak which they devoured. They have the best wine selection on Culebra from what I could tell. The prices were higher but the portions large and again really good food. On our next trip to Culebra we will definitely eat here again!

Helpful?
Thank gdclark77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good meal”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

great food and friendly atmosphere, went there a couple of nights and they had remembered us from 5 years ago. Can't beat their margarita either.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, with a bit of eccentricity”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

You must try this place, excellent food. However you must make reservations and be careful not to mess up on the time or the number of guests, the owners are sticklers for reservations. We had a large party so we tried half the menu. We loved the zucchini pasta with truffle sauce, the fish, the risotto, it was all delicious. Interesting art on the walls, fully stocked bar.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Eden also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing