We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Villa Pelicano Culebra-Back to Nature”
Wild Life Refuge Cayo Luis Pena Beach..
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wild Life Refuge Cayo Luis Pena Beach..
Turtle Beach, Culebrita Wild Life Refuge, pick ups avail at VP's dock facilities..
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
Wild Life Refuge Cayo Luis Pena Beach..
Turtle Beach, Culebrita Wild Life Refuge, pick ups avail at VP's dock facilities..
Outdoor Waterfront Terraces Adjoining Main Two Level Villa..
One of Three Ocean Front Outdoor Terraces..
Outdoor kitchen & BBQ..
Dock Facilities,Kayaks..
Dock Terrace..
Villa's Upper Level Dining, Fully Equipped Kitchen..
Expansive Upper Level Living/Dining/Kitchen Areas..
Aerial Views of Outdoor Terraces & Dock Facilities Adjoining Main Level Villa..
Zony Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Culebra, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ltarazi
Sterling, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Villa Pelicano Culebra-Back to Nature”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed at Villa Pelicano for 4 nights. This is a large property/house with and upstairs rental and a smaller downstairs rental. We rented the bottom unit which included two bedrooms. One had a very comfortable Queen size bed and the other had a Queen or Full (not sure) and bunk beds. We are a family of 4 so we had plenty of room to spread out. There are 2 roomy closets to store bags etc. The bathroom is a Jack and Jill set up with doors on either side so both bedrooms have access to the bathroom. This is a great set up for parents with kids. There are also 2 AC wall units in each bedroom. All linens and towels are there for your use. The best part the bottom unit is where the washer/dryer are located so that was a nice bonus to wash and dry towels. I can't say enough about the owner Alex....he is very helpful and goes above and beyond helping his customers. I locked us out of the unit and Alex flew in to help us get back into the unit. My girls loved the dock and loved going out every morning to see the fish and dip their toes in the water. The kitchen and dining for this unit are outdoors. I did not cook but we did relax in these areas every morning and night and it was nice to be outside with nature. Bottom line this is a different kind of vacation. We usually go to high end hotels and have robes, room service, maid service etc, at our fingertips. On this trip I really feel like it was an adventure and we had an opportunity to connect with nature. The beaches on Culebra are the best in the world. I think if you go into this knowing it is an adventure and not a plush hotel you will be 100% satisfied. We ate breakfast across the street almost every morning at the Club Seabourne and there were several places to eat dinner each night. Things you need to make your stay at Pelicano happy. Beverages for the fridge, bug spray...remember you are outside w/nature, sunscreen, and snacks. You MUST rent a Jeep to get around. If you want to cook I think it could be fun but we didn't really have supplies to do that and Culebra is a bit limited w/grocery stores ( they don't have what I am used to in VA). The family's that stayed upstairs ( we had 2 different ones on our visit) were both nice and what I noticed is they were local to PR and came in their boats with lost of supplies. Seems like they were more prepared but if you are coming from another country and don't have a boat to transport the supplies you are stuck with what they sell on the island. Again...not a problem you just have to manage your expectations. Alex also helped us set up our flight to get from PR to Culebra and this was a fantastic way to get to the island....quick and it was fun. Note....there is also a TV in the main bedroom and there is internet connection. So although we were with NATURE we still had our computers, iPads, iPods and iPhones.....Whew! Also....tons of ocean kayaks for unlimited fun on the water.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, free kayaks, water access, lots of open areas to sit
Liked least: sharing the property can be tricky, needs more lighting and hangers.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Reviewed February 26, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2013
Dear friends, we're very pleased you have had such a wonderful time, that is what's all about, we certainly look forward to have you visit us once again, as always at your best disposition...My regards to all in your family...

Cordially,

Pelicano Oceanfront Culebra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dorado
Reviewed February 21, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DC
Reviewed February 13, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2013
Thank so much for your extended lodging with us and we look forward to your next visit. Repellant on the outdoors is necessary after the rains on our precious Island, smart to use it!! Its nice to hear our customers have such a great time on our extensive adjoining terraces on the Oceanfront, note: the outdoor areas are for all our guests to use, including the kitchen & bbq (except the outdoor refrig/freezer which pertains to our 2/bdrm unit guests). We're really sorry for the noise caused by the repairing of the deck, but it was in fact an emergency and for your own safety, and scheduled always after 10-11am so not to bother our guests while sleeping. Once again we thank you for posting your review and for allowing us to do unexpected shores needed for your convenience and that of all our guests. Kindest regards, Villa Pelicano Oceanfront.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TLC010104
Melbourne, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I would have chosen to spend our well earned money another way”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Summary: Basically, we spent 3 days trying to get the ferry over to Culebra, finding the property location on a map given to us by the rental car place and treating insect bites on our family. It was an awful trip. You have to be at the ferry dock hours before it is to take off and then you still may not get a ticket. If and when they grace you with a ticket, they point you in the opposite direction of the ferry boarding and you may miss your takeoff. Also, you are likely to get seasick on board. 2 of the 3 of us did....what fun! We didn't get to make it to a beach until 12 hours before boarding the ferry to go back to mainland but the bug bites were blamed on "sand fleas".

Pros: Alex is a nice guy, rental place was roomy, there was AC in the bedrooms (it doesn't work too well when you can't shut the windows)

Cons: Impossible to find property once you get to the island, head to toe bug bites, rickity banister going down to rocky beach causing slips and injuries, ancient oven that buzzes nonstop,broken paddle board/surf board that held a lot of water and extra weight, dock gate knotted shut so you had to try and climb over the flimsy fence, "beach" covered in rocks ..huge and hurtful in trying to walk into the water with a baby in your arms, no washer/dryer availability, broken light next to master bedroom bed, moldy vinyl cream colored shower curtain which fell down if you touched it, some doors scraped the ground when you tried to open/shut them, giant driftwood decorations that fall on your baby's head when touched, shutter/windows that do not shut correctly, screens do no line up with windows leaving big gaps letting in bugs by the million, toaster oven had to be taken outside to use (or so the sign said), padlock is only form of door lock and it was very awkward and time consuming to get on and off, ferry to get to Culebra island is unpredictable leaving you stranded with luggage and baby for hours....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was roomy
Liked least: Head to toe bug bites
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2013
Dear renters, what an unfortunate tragedy your trip has been, never before in our history heard on behalf of our customers daring going to a rocky beach (we have plenty of sandy beaches as well..) WITH A BABY!@!@ at 6.30pm without precaution, w/out carrying insect repellent.

Blaming the situation that arisen from multiple insect bites at night on the beach on a broken screen, a broken light, a left ‘on’ oven fan, a non/working bulb, a dock ‘knotted’ gate which does not exist (if you can not believe it, then by all means please go back to our web and take a 2nd look at our dock facilities photos, there is no dock gate..), well, it’s to say the least, shameful. Will like to add, the ‘sign’ posted on our kitchen related to the oven toaster does not read to take it outside of the kitchen, just to take it outside the inside of the kitchen cabinet where it is kept. We do not toast our bread inside a closed door cabinet!!

I emphasize the ‘6.30pm’ time which is exactly 12 hours prior to your departure as you have so eloquently written & expressed. It may surprise you that in fact we have a copy of the email sent to you by concierge services on Culebra which per your instructions pre/purchased your ferry transport ticket and email you the reservation number on January 23rd, 5 days prior to your departure by sea.

What ponders us the most: why did you spent three consecutive days trying to take the ferry if you already had your r/trip ferry tickets purchased a week in advance? Did you get lost on the main Island as well?

A simple call the day of your arrival, not during your last evening of lodging with us after your evening outing to the beach, would have made simple for us to assist your many & doubtful claims.

With that being said, we’re truly sorry you did not carry any insect repellent to the beach, specially sorry for your baby. We also like to point out Pelicano Oceanfront does reserve the right of admission for past guests on any possible future visit which have had with malicious intent tried to degrade & undermine our privileged location & one of a kind Spanish Virgin Island.

Cordially,
Pelicano Oceanfront Culebra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mo.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ridgway PA
Reviewed November 30, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$195
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing