We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“SWEET is an understatement!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise view from the deck has so many variations
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Sunrise view from the deck has so many variations
Watching boats come into the harbor
Breakfast on the deck
Wood deck was replaced by hurricane-proof construction. Laze in the hammock in the shade.
The red X marks the location of Casa SuMarco
Sunrise view from the deck
Room to stretch out, sip a cool drink, and take in the views
Living room in the afternoon light
Living room and kitchen/dining area, side door to garden
Fully-equipped kichen, dining area for 4, side door to garden
Living room leading to bedrooms
Master bedroom with sliding door to rear deck
Master bedroom w queen bed & a/c has wide-open bay views
Bedroom #2 has hi-riser twins, tucked under for daytime use
Bedroom #2 has a/c, desk area, closet
Private off-street parking in our carport.
A curious young visitor on our steps
Rainbow over hills viewed from the back deck
Kayaking on the bay at sunset
A blue heron watching the surf at Flamenco
Aerial view of Flamenco Beach on airplane approach
A happy entry in our GuestBook, one of many :)
From our GuestBook
From our GuestBook
From our GuestBook
From our GuestBook
From our GuestBook
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Culebra, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mitch H
albany, ny
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“SWEET is an understatement!”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The first thing we noticed when we walked into Casa SuMarco was how clean, comfortable and organized it was. The second thing we noticed was the view (more on that in a minute). The third thing we noticed was that the house is furnished with love and genuine thoughtfulness for those who rent it. Everything was easy and natural to find, and if it wasn't, there was a little sign or note for a hidden light, or help with electronics. Susan has thought of everything.

The view, as everyone else has commented, is nothing short of stunning, and the breezes on the wrap around deck were incredibly welcome after a day at the many beaches. At the house, we read, watched movies, cooked great dinners (everything you need is there except the food), and lounged around doing absolutely nothing at all! LOVED IT! I can also see a family with children really enjoying the house, as it is private, comfortable, relaxed and lived in.

Having a car, we tooled around the island quite a bit, and were always thrilled to come back to the house. We spend most of our days on Tamarindo beach (get there early to get a shady spot) and Zoni beach (WOW! Just WOW) where there were few people and little nooks of shade as you walk down from the lot. We ate at Susie's one night and highly recommend it, and had lunch at Zacos Tacos (got there right when it opened and there was a line… so go early). Other than that, we did not venture out much into town or to other restaurants because we enjoyed just relaxing at the house and cooking.

I can not say enough about the house, but probably the most wonderful part of it is Susan herself (I never met her). Her email responses were quick, informative and genuinely cheery. If you are thinking about Culebra (it is not for everyone, and hopefully you've done your research), I invite you to consider Casa SuMarco as your home away from home for 5 days, a week or two! You will not be disappointed by any of it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The porch, the movies, the view
Liked least: Mosquitos at dusk…. it is a tropical island after all!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuTi66
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true home away from home”
Reviewed November 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I found Casa SuMarco after a comprehensive search of accommodation options on Culebra considering location, privacy, reviews and price. In the end, it seemed to be the only vacation home on Culebra which suited our needs, taste and budget. And, we were not disappointed when we finally arrived on Culebra early October 2014. We felt instantly comfortable taking in the grand view over the bay from the deck, the noises and smells of a tropical island and the beauty of the home itself. Casa SuMarco is a small home, but cozy and very functional with everything you need. The house was clean and seemed to be waiting for us. I would also remark on the location. Casa SuMarco is located pretty much in the center of the island on a hill on a quiet side street and about a 15 min walk to the airport or 30 min to "downtown". We decided to rent bicycles from Dick and Cathies Bike rental. The many small hills were challenging at first but after a few days we hardly noticed most of the hills anymore. Then we went Scuba diving and snorkeling every day - the real treat of Culebra. The corals are stunningly beautiful as well as the many tropical fish and the turtles of course. Diving with Taz & Ann was fun and enjoyable. We spent 2 weeks on Culebra at Casa SuMarco and enjoyed a small family reunion as a party of four and Casa SuMarco was definitely the best choice for us. Also, the home owner, Susan, was very responsive to any questions we had and advised us via email on what to do while under a hurricane watch. The hurricane Gonzalo missed the island by a mere 100 km and we enjoyed a beautiful day of snorkeling instead of being locked up in the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house itself and it's location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDtravel2...
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cute house, nice neighborhood, pretty view”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

It was easy to settle in to this comfortable, casual home. It's well equipped with kitchen utensils, towels and beach gear, and located in a "suburb" within an easy drive of everywhere on Culebra. The little arrows pointing out the location of light switches and other items were a helpful touch.

The wraparound deck was a wonderful spot for breakfast and evening drinks -- we didn't even need much bug spray thanks to the breeze. And the garden's aloe plants came in handy when my husband got sunburned.

We have only two minor suggestions: Incorporate the cleaning fee into the rental rate, and (at the risk of launching the house into a higher price bracket) consider a roof deck to take even better advantage of the beautiful bay view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and the breezy wraparound deck.
Liked least: At night, a streetlight directly across from the house interfered with stargazing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2014
Thanks very much for your feedback. The only way to be sure our guests have a good experience is to listen to their recommendations. We're happy you enjoyed our home. I hope you return to Culebra soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventurer...
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect base for our family of four”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

For those seeking to step outside the gates of the big resorts and enjoy a more authentic Caribbean experience, Culebra offers many rewarding adventures, and Casa Sumarco is a great base for all of them. Within five minutes of leaving Culebra’s tiny airport, my wife, two daughters, and I were standing on the wooden deck of this charming casita, soaking up the Caribbean breeze and staring out over Ensenada Honda. Once inside we found a cozy, clean 2-bedroom home with all the amenities we needed for our stay. A plaque by the front door reads “Mi casa es su casa” (My house is your house), an offer my family took full advantage of during five wonderful days on the island. Between forays to Culebra’s famous beaches we logged many hours on the porch, reading books and dozing in the hammock while our towels and swimsuits dried in the breeze. In the evening, after dinner at one of Culebra’s funky restaurants, we’d settle in with one of the many DVDs the owners keep on hand. (I’d recommend “Memorias de Culebra” for a great overview of the island’s history.) Everything at Casa Sumarco was as Susan promised it would be, and her detailed instructions, maps, and descriptions of the islands’ highlights were awesome resources. In the end, the only downside of our stay was that we had to leave just as we were settling into the laid back rhythm of Culebra. We plan to stay longer next time!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aestasnox
Fort Campbell, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Leave your worries and stress behind and relax, snorkel, hike, and relax some more!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

First of all, I want to say a huge thank you to Susan, who made the booking and travel arrangements easy-peasy. We flew into San Juan and then took Air Flamenco to Culebra and spent a week in Casa Su Marco. Our friends met us there and we enjoyed every bit of the island. My original plan was to get down to the island and relax on a beach with drink in hand- instead my boyfriend and I awoke at 5 or 6 every morning to go snorkeling, hiking, or get to pan deli for sandwiches or fresh bread for the house. Snorkeling with the sea turtles and rays in the mornings at Tamberine Beach was exhilarating. Zoni Beach at the very end of the island was usually not crowded and there are nice reefs off to the right. We rented the yellow Thing from Dick and Kathy and that made the island experience even more enjoyable! Took a boat (Captain Anita) to Culebrita to see the lighthouse and do some relaxing snorkeling. Get to the other side of Culebrita for the most beautiful pristine and secluded white-sanded beach. As for food- Zaco Tacos has the best fish tacos! (beer battered yum!) Mamacitas has amazing ceviche and fresh fish and island dishes. Dingy Dock for the ambiance, drinks, and island experience. And again- Pan Deli for the fresh bread and coffee every morning. The house has everything we needed- beach items, blender, coffee maker, towels, outdoor shower, amazing deck (half covered/half open), washer/dryer, beautiful view to watch the sunrise. Susan- thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful home! I recommend this house and island to anyone looking for that perfect get away!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewed March 9, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Upstate NY
Reviewed March 7, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing