We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Pelicano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Pelicano
Certificate of Excellence
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

What a beautiful place! Villa Pelicano is the best kept secret in Culebra; from the friendly staff, great customer service, clean accommodations, and peaceful atmosphere... It is really a jewel. We stayed at the downstairs apartment and absolutely love the breathtaking view from the kitchen while enjoying my morning coffee, followed by the kajaks' trip with my daughters. Thank you Alex for been so flexible and responding so quickly to our last minute request. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayrarodri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
15
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Two friends and I stayed here for a long weekend in December. The facilities were very clean and comfortable, and there was a fully equipped kitchen for cooking should we have wanted to (but we mainly opted to just use the refigerator to store wine and beer). AC is available, though I opted not to use it. There were kayaks with life jackets and paddles easily accessible and for free use, and the owner (Alex) of the establishment gave us some tips on where to kayak, snorkle, etc. Alex was also helpful with giving us ideas for where to eat and find other activities on the island and was a pleasure to speak to and have a few glasses of wine with as well. There were several hammocks to choose from for relaxing :) A few docks down there is a guy who runs a catamaran day trip with food and snorkling (BYOB) that we didn't have time to fit into our trip, but sounded phenomenal. I would recommend renting a car anywhere you stay on this island. Cabs take a while to arrive and walking is nice for liesure but not ideal for getting around the island for meals and activities. There is no restaurant at this lodging facility (yet) but there is another hotel right across the street that serves breakfast from 8 to 10. I'd get there a few mins earlier than 10 - if its quiet they will shut the grills down early. Shoot for more like 9:30 or earlier.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Awesome place to stay! Best place on the island to stay. I have to say that staying at the Pelicano made the visit to Culebra perfect. The island is very quaint like travelling back in time 30 years. If you are looking for the “resort experience” this is not the place for you. If you want to experience the local island life and visit some beautiful beaches this is ideal. We practically had Zoni beach all to ourselves. Zoni beach was beautiful, we felt like we were living in a tropical paradise. The Pelicano is outside of town and you must have a Jeep or a golf cart. We rented a golf cart from Carlos which was really fun. Everyone on the island is very helpful and accommodating. We did all our food shopping on the island without a problem. The prices may be a little more than home but not high enough to compensate for the inconvenience of transporting food from the main island. The Catholic Church has mass at 7pm Saturday night and 10 am Sunday morning, in Spanish. The priest was very dear and did say some of the homily in English for us. He also invited my 2 daughters (ages 11 and 14) on to the altar to say the Our Father. We did minimal cooking but the Pelicano is very well equipped if you choose to cook. We stayed two nights which was not enough. We did bring back food to eat in the beautiful open air kitchen and we relaxed on the hammocks each morning and evening, very peaceful and private. We enjoyed snorkeling with Captain Bill. His catamaran is docked just steps away from the Pelicano. He provided great food and snacks and took us to some very nice snorkeling areas. Alex, we so appreciated everything! Thank you!

Room Tip: We had the ground floor rooms which were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you are planning to spend a weekend, a week or a month at Culebra,PR with family and friends, the place is Villa Pelicano. The location is perfect, the house is charming and cozy. Nice for the active ones or the lazy others! Go kayaking or just relax in a hammock. Cook outside or inside with a cocktail at hand, it is just fun all the way. Quiet and peaceful, only your laughter will interrupt the peace! Great! this is my second time there and I will be returning.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Marta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Perfect for us, traveling as extended family with friends.
Beautiful surroundings. The area felt very secure and secluded.
We especially enjoyed the dock and the hammocks!

Just what to expect of Culebra!
Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaedchenJFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salado, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This home is perfect! Alex is wonderful to work with and very accomodating. Villa Pelicano has everything you could ever want in a vacation rental: outdoor kitchen, huge open indoor living space, a dock on the water with kayaks. We brought our own fishing pools and caught several Red Snapper from the dock. Kayaking out to the coral sand bar is AMAZING. We collected several shells to bring home with us. Captain Bill is just two docks down and has a sailboat tour that is just a must do! This place was a great find and I cannot wait to return to Culebra Island again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Villa Pelicano. We traveled with extended family and it was large enough to accommodate all of us comfortably. Communicating with Alex was easy. Having full access to 4 kayaks and 2 paddle boards made our trip so enjoyable. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gracie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
0.1 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
13.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
15.9 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
18.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#5 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pelicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pelicano

Property: Villa Pelicano
Address: Fulladoza #7, 00775, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Pelicano Oceanfront, Fulladoza Bay, surrounded by unprecedented 100-acre Dakity Reserve & Soldier's Point Beach tranquil waters, a must to snorkel!! BASE RATES FROM $175 - $995/NIGHT, CAPACITY 2-18 GUESTS. PLEASE EMAIL US FOR LODGING DETAILS & RATES FOR YOUR PARTY OF GUESTS.. The Villa consists of numerous attributes which characterize its unique coastal location. Two separate units, a 2/bdrm unit, and a 4/bdrm apartment, or for bigger groups, rent both separte units for utmost comfort. Amenities such as our Dock Facilities (equipped with pool ladder for easy access snorkeling on our crystal clear waters...), Unlimited use of kayaks,a plus considering our boundary Nature Reserve with Sandy bars & Turquoise shallow waters, multiple Oceanfront 'terrazas' with spectacular views and ample space to enjoy our secluded location in the outdoors as well for all our guests. Two level home with three separate choice on accommodations: our upper level apartment with 4 bdrms/2 bthrms., Fully equipped kitchen/dining/living rooms, aprox, 1,600 sq.Ft. Of space; our ground level unit with 2 bdrms/1 bthrm., With an outdoor kitchen on one of our adjoining Oceanfront terraces, or our entire facilities for more extensive groups totaling 6 bedrooms/3 bathrooms, all a/c, ceiling fans, hardwood 'embulla' floors, two fully equipped kitchens and more...4500 + Sq.Ft. Lodging capacity from 2 up-to 18 guests. Rates vary subject to season, choice on accomodations and total # of guests, avail and duration of your lodging. Special discounts for weekly rentals available, min. Stay is 2/nts, certain Holidays require a min. Stay ranging from 3 to 7 nts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Pelicano Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing