We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun relaxed place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Culebra Island Villas
Ranked #17 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Culebra
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun relaxed place.”
Reviewed April 1, 2011

The villas themselves are nothing extraordinary except that they are 100 yards from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, which even has great snorkeling. We stayed here for six days in March with our two young sons. Do not expect activities or restaurants here because there are none, but if your reason for going to Culebra is to chill out and enjoy the beauty than this is a great base to work from.

On the other end of Flamenco Beach are wonderful food stands with some of the best chow on the island.

To get to town and from the villas you will need to rent jeep, scooter or use the publicos, as it is too far for most people to walk.

You will be visited at your villa by chickens, cats and a dog - something we loved.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnnieAndLittleJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    4
    5
    14
See reviews for
14
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

I think I enjoy planning the trip as much as the trip itself from researching properties to finding good deals. I found Culebra to be a challenge with only one main source on the web for Culebra information. For the villas without any websites, you are in the dark. Of the villas with websites, we chose Culebra Island Villas based on availability and price. We ended up in Cielo 5D which is about a mile from the main bridge in town on Ensenada Honda. There are 69 steps up to 5D which are uneven and somewhat difficult to navigate! My early communications with Judith, our housekeeper were pretty good. We ran into her as we went up the steps.

The villa has a magnificent view. Those steps pay off in the panoramic views offered in 5D. The villa was spotless clean! The A/C was on in the bedrooms and we were ready to settle in. The main room has the kitchen, table and one twin bed. There are 2 bedrooms, one with 2 twins and the other 3. All that is provided is a pillow, undersheet and top sheet. If it were chilly out, you may need more covers. We ended up using the towels provided in the room as the A/C was chilly in the middle of the night.

There were 2 bathrooms each having a shower in our villa. We had side balconies but the balcony on the 4th level villas was much nicer.

THE DOWNSIDES: We were there on Easter week. Historically the busiest week on Culebra. No jeeps were available. While taxis were easy to catch in town to take us to the villa for the island standard $3 per person, getting them to pick you up is another trick. We ended up having to hitch-hike, which sounds bad but is actually very common and safe on Culebra.

Next, since Culebra gets all of the fresh water piped over from Vieques, during the busy holy week, water would just cease to exist. That means unflushed toilets and no showers. This is a global problem on the island - not isolated to these villas.

Our power went out once too. When calling for help to the office on the island (located by the ferry dock at the Kokomo Motel), nobody answered nor returned calls. We went from 5 PM through the next morning with only limited power. Fortunately, our fridge was on.

The only other issue is that the "4" villas and neighboring villas are either right below you or next to you, it was vey loud at night with the partying going on. Again, we chose easter week and that may have been the reason for the extra hoopla. The island is full of roosters too...that means 5 AM wake ups from them calling constantly!

I think next trip, we'd spend the extra money and stay at Flamenco Villas as they are the only ones right on Flamenco Beach. If not available, I would stay at these villas again. The island is laid back and beautiful. If and when you go, do so with lower expectations. These are not Hiltons. These are villas....and everything to the island requires shipping on a ferry so amenities are limited. Go and enjoy Culebra for what it offers in natural fun and beauty. NOTE: Photos of beds are after we stripped the sheets off prior to leaving.

Feel free to send me messages if you have questions on the villa, dining, shopping or transportation to Culebra from Fajardo.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank orr333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2009

I stayed at the Nube Villa with 3 teenagers. The place was extremely clean, no bugs even at night. The air condition and hot water were working properly during the three days that we stayed. The deck is breezy, calm and the place is perfect for relaxing. If you are handicapped, don't think of booking the place, there are a lot of stairs to get to the village, but it totally worth it. You can enjoy a beautiful sunset in the bay from the privacy of your deck. The kitchen, bathroom and bedrooms were clean and attention to details show through all the place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St0l3n34rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

I had a great time. The beach was nice and clean. The Villa was small but wonderful! [Villa Boheme]

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruby88jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

This place is a dump. No real feeling of being of a vacation villa when you are dealing with dirty and broken furniture and roaches. Culebra is beautiful, but this place should be closed until they renovate and refurnish the rooms. There are no people or employees around, thus, you don't have anybody to fix anything. Our refrigerator broke and the stove and the cleaning lady, which we saw once was not helpful or friendly. It is to expensive and ugly for the prices. The only good thing about this villa was the view which you can get for less or the same price in a better hotel.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank nreho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Culebra hotels

Edgewater, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2008

The photos on the website make this place look fairly decent. I will say it was clean and the obstructed view from the deck was nice - that's about it. The place is under construction and from what the locals told me it's been under construction for quite some time. We arrived after dark and it was almost impossible to find. There is a small tile sign out front but it is not illuminated and there are no street lights. We were told the key would be in the door to our villa, apparently this is because no one is there to greet you even during the day. Once we found the place we desperately wanted to shower after a long day of travelling. Our next surprise was there was no hot water - not even luke warm. And there is no one around to ask for assistance. My nephew called Jerry of Jerry's Jeep Rental - we had rented a jeep from him and we had no idea who we should call. Thank God for Jerry! He contacted someone and the maintence man came later that day and fixed the hot water. Needless to say, I would not stay here again. The rates they charge are outrageous for these accomodations and there is no service of any kind.

  • Liked — The obstructed view
  • Disliked — No service/assistance of any kind.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank LoLo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

I was pretty scared with all the reviews that I have read and when we got there boom! from the outside it doesnt look that good but once you get in the place is very clean and organized, I was surprised all the beds had a clean towel the sheets were clean, the rooms were air condition and work fine, no roaches, no mice,hot water in the shower, kitchen with utensils, clean refrigerator and gas stove everything work, even a coffe maker and microwave.

We rented both floors nube and cielo. Down falls..... a few
a lot of STEPS A LOT!!! but once u see the view it was worth it.

The other downfall.........bees and wasps in the lower apartment specifically in one of the bathroom and a room we didnt know were they were coming from...we took care of it with bug spray, at the begining no big deal but at the enf of our 4th day it was staring to get on our nerves. Everyday when we got back from the beach there will be at least 2.


Overall for the price is a good place to stay, nothing fancy,nothing fancy and remember you are renting a house is not a hotel, it gets cleaned once u leave.

  • Liked — the outdoor balcony it has a GREAT view
  • Disliked — the stairs, bees, beds not that comfortable but ok for a 4 day vacation
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pichu07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
0.0 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
382 reviews
0.0 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,815 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#6 of 19 in Culebra
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#10 of 19 in Culebra
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Naniqui Guest House & Rentals
0.0 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Culebra
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culebra Island Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culebra Island Villas

Property: Culebra Island Villas
Address: 00775, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Culebra Island Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Culebra Island Villas are waterfront 2-bedroom villas and 1-bedroom suites on quiet, undiscovered Culebra Island. Located less then a mile away from the town of Dewey, Culebra Island Villas offers seclusion while at the same time doesn't leave its visitors stranded. Culebra Island Villas It is a perfect vacation spot for anyone looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the world. If you are interested in waking up to a perfect sunrise and want to fall asleep under the brightest stars you will ever see then you have come to the right place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Culebra Island Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culebra Island Villas Hotel Culebra
Culebra Is Puerto Rico
Culebra Island Hotel Puerto Rico
Culebra Island Puerto Rico
Culebra Is Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing