We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate accomodations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Seabourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Seabourne
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Certificate of Excellence
Northern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Adequate accomodations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

Our experience at Club Seabourne is mixed. It is in a scenic location with friendly (allbeit useless) staff. When we checked in there was no water. Instead of informing us, the staff let us walk up to our room, prepare for a shower and low and behold, no water. I have been on islands before and understand the complexity of water systems. The staff could have let us know about the issue, invited us to have a drink, etc instead of smiling and shrugging their shoulders when I told them about the water problem. The water issues continued through our entire stay. We booked the property because we wanted to have access to a pool, bar, restaurant, as we were coming from Vieques where we had none of these amenities. However the amenities alone aren't enough to book the hotel.

I feel like the property could use some maintenance and a deep cleaning. For examp
le, our sheets and towels were stained and torn. Also the pool needed to be cleaned and surrounding deck needed to be swept off. The outside tables where breakfast is eaten were not wiped down during our stay. I felt like getting a roll of paper towels and some all purpose cleaner and doing it myself. Perhaps the staff should be doing this instead of standing around all day.
The island is beautiful and had some excellent snorkeling and beaches, however we traveled at the wrong time. Easter week was insanely busy. Lots of Puerto Ricans come over to celebrate holy week (which I would do also if I lived on PR). Needless to say it was not quiet mellow island experience we had planned for. Which is entierely our mistake. Note taken. Lesson learned...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruralred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    90
    35
    9
    13
See reviews for
77
200
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

-great value
-the best views from the room
-simple and clean
-healthy breakfast, but it would be nice to have access to coffee earlier in the morning
- friendly staff
- no internet access
- 5 min drive to town
-10 to 15 to flamenco beach
-30 min to Zoni beach

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monquiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bozeman, mt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

We actually stayed here on our honeymoon in 1995, but are looking to head back with our three children. We were there in June which is their off-season so there wasn't anybody at the beaches. We snorkled and swam all by ourselves, it was fabulous.
The bar at Club Seaborne was fun, met some nice people....I remember Walter from Milwaukee. There isn't much luxury here and thats what we liked most.
Thank you Club Seabourne!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank packerfan4bozeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

We stayed here in Dec for a 3 day mini vacation. We took the adventure package that include the Kayaking and the jeep rental. It was wonderful. I traveled with husband and my 13 year old boy and 12 year old daughter. Took the morning ferry from Fajardo (they had parking facillities in Fajardo). The ferry was very clean and organized. 45 minute trip to culebra. Once in Culebra, they pick us from and took us to the hotel. The room was very spacious and clean. 1 queen beed and a queen sofa bed for the kids. It also had a nice balcony with a view of the bay. We went kayaking the first day and it was really nice and relaxing. The second day we had the jeep and went snorkling and to Flamingo beach. We also had the jeep for the 3rd day until we left on the early afternoon ferry.
Culebra is very nice. You have great scenery and beaches., Worth the trip. I strongly recommend this place to stay.
One more recommendation is if possible to take a cooler with beer and sodas from Fajardo. There is limited availability of markets and the restaurants are very few.
We had great burgers by the airport (can't remember the name of the place). Be sure to have an early dinner, some places close early during weekdays.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiTravelMom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

My wife and I wanted a peaceful get-away-from-it-all break and this hotel fitted the bill perfectly.
A quick note on how we got there, Jet Blue flight to San Juan about $150 return from Orlando. $20 taxi ride from SJU to Isla Grande airport to get the Air Flamenco -rollacoaster-great fun -Islander flight to the island. These were $105 return which we booked by phone from the UK as they don't do internet bookings. We got charged for overweight cases but this isn't in the same league as Ryanair and we were only billed about $20.
We found the room to be very clean, with TV, music system, small fridge but curiously no coffee maker! The price for the hotel was quite expensive when compared to prices in PR and Florida but I guess most things are more expensive on the island(food in the supermarket, car rental etc). Breakfast was very nice, and plenty of it, fresh fruit, bread, rolls, juice, coffee etc, and we had 1 dinner at the restaurant which was very nice(a little pricey though). One of the other reviews prepared us for the restaurant closing on Mon /Tue and if you haven't brought food you'll starve! Seriously though, you have to back into town to sort some food out and your options are a little limited there.
Yes it is quite a long way (not walkable) from the only town so we felt a car rental was needed but taxis are an option. I can see why some reviews mention lack of staff but, as we like being left alone, it was perfect for us. They picked us up from the airport and when we saw that we needed a jeep took us back to get one. All the staff we saw were extremely pleasant and helpful.
If you like a laid back vibe, little night life and to be left alone then you'll find the island fantastic! The weather in May was great, very hot and only 1 afternoon when it rained, so we were amazed to find about 15 people on Flamenco Beach and the most we counted on Rosario beach was 10. I know it was their slower season but at times it felt like we were the only people on the beaches. The day we went to Zoni we WERE the only people on the beach.
We like to snorkel and found Rosario to be the best with the reef literally 10 feet off the beach. A good selection of Parrotfish, rays, coral etc, etc. Flamenco is a great beach with good snorkelling up by the old tank and great fun messing around in the waves at the centre of the beach(but be careful, these waves can hurt!!). Melones wasn't too bad for snorkelling either. We didn't get see all the snorkelling places but its a place that we would definitely go back to to explore the rest..
To sum up: go there if you want to feel like Robinson Cruso, don't go there if you want 5 star resort style luxury. We loved the island and hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

I reserved the entire dining room for a rehersal diner. I had to do it via e-mail and was surprised when the catering director kept in touch with me even though she was on vacation in Spain.

Between e-mails and phone calls we palnned a dinner and arranged for the room set-up.

I was very nervous but had no reason to be. The room was beautiful, the table was set with white linen, crysrtal and silver. There were even charges under the plates.

The food was delicious and the service excellent and the staff was warm and smiling. Theyf did not seem to mind serveral small children running around.

I was extremly pleased with everything!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CulebraWedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2009

We stayed 3 nights but wish we hadn't. The room was in poor condition; many things didn't work. Bird doo was not cleaned off the deck table. The bathroom floor wasn't clean. The breakfast was mediocre. The evening meal was OK but overpriced. The staff, except for the bartender, was helpful, particularly Carlos. The bar television blared constantly throughout the grounds. Inexplicably, the bar and dining room are closed 2 days a week. No internet service. Paying in excess of $200 a night for this run-down dump was outrageous.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GuinnessWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
13.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
15.7 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
53.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
22.7 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.7 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#5 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Seabourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Seabourne

Property: Club Seabourne
Address: Fulladoza Bay, 00775, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Seabourne 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a whole new side of the Caribbean at Club Seabourne, the region's only boutique hotel designed to cater to your every need. Get away from it all and immerse yourself in a unique experience that can only be described as Caribbean Chic: exclusive, sublime, exquisite. Nestled in the hillsides of Culebra Island, just a few miles from the easternmost tip of Puerto Rico, is Club Seabourne, an intimate mini-resort for those who value life's simple pleasures. Enjoy world-class amenities and services, casual dining, a host of activities, and access to the world's most famous beaches. Come and discover the colors and flavors of this idyllic location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Club Seabourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Seabourne Hotel Culebra
Seabourne Hotel Culebra
Seabourne Resort Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing