We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I expected too much and got to little” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Seabourne

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Club Seabourne
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I expected too much and got to little”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

The experience in club seabourne over all was good, but there certain aspects that can be really improved. First, our room was spacious and nicely decorated, but the bathroom was dirty and full.of bugs. The staff, specially Linda, were helpful and friendly. The restaurant was closed during our stay and dinner became a nightmare for this reason. The complementary breakfast was good and the kayaks were a nice addition and they were also free.

In general I feel the hotel needs to improve the physical aspects of the rooms and maintence of the property. Also, the club lacks security at nigth and the front desk is closed at nine. Those are the things that make me doubt i will be back, unless the offer is too good, but is not worth full price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eneri008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club_Seabourne, Owner at Club Seabourne, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear guest:
First of all thanks for your review. We are so sorry about your inconvenience regarding the details that you specify in your review. We are very committed to offer to each of our guests a memorable experience. We want to work immediately with the details that you suggested us to review. We appreciate a lot if you could send us the specific room where you stay during your visit to Culebra and our property, and also any other suggestions that could help us to improve. Your opinion is very important for us. Please send us the information to reservations@clubseabourne.com.
Regards,
Cecilia Rodríguez
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    90
    35
    9
    13
See reviews for
77
200
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel grounds and rooms are very nicely kept. It's comfortable and a pleasure to spend time in this place. The wild rooster morning call is definitely a nice touch. I tried to get a video of them doing that but the divos were camera-shy. I wish they could do something about the mosquitos but I guess we should have known to bring repellents going to a wild island such as Culebra. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful throughout. Do ask them for beach and activity advice. They know the island very well.

The restaurant is bit short-handed so if you have dinner there bring patience.

I didn't find any WiFi connectivity but AT&T 3G works just fine.

We went kayaking which is part of the deal. The bay outside is calm and quite beautiful.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views but you have to walk up a gentle slope and climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueWhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We celebrated our wedding at Zoni Beach, Culebra, Puerto Rico on May 19th, 2012. This beach is very special to us because it was the place where we got engaged two years ago to the day.
The ambiance was magical. Culebra is a very small island off the western coast of Puerto Rico. Within the island are multiple beaches with crystal clear waters and soft white sands. The most popular of all the beaches is Flamenco Bay and by far the one that gets the most visitors. This was perfect for us because at Zoni Beach on any given day you are the only one there. And this was the case both on the day that Ruben proposed and on the day of our wedding. This made it a very private and special event that united not just Ruben and I forever but also united our guest and truly made them part of our amazing event.
The process of planning the wedding in Puerto Rico was very easy and stress free. This was in no small part to Cecilia Rodriguez (The owner of Club Seabourne) and her amazing staff. Having been to Culebra before and looking at many of the hotels in the island we knew that if anybody was going to plan our wedding perfectly it would be the people at Club Seabourne. Their hotel is so beautiful and well kept. All their gardens are meticulously manicured. The rooms are also very comfortable and the care and attention given to their guest always surpasses all expectations. From the moment that we contacted Club Seabourne we were at peace. Soon after the first call we received a preliminary contract to review and modify. Even after the final contract was signed we were still able to change things around. We even saw some very cute items and additions on internet websites that we were able to incorporate into the wedding. For the extra things Cecilia from Club Seabourne told us to just mail them to her and she would make wonders with them. She made good on her promise. For the menu the hotel sent us a list of possible courses with extremely reasonable prices. We picked two choices for a main course and a special plate for Ruben because of food allergies. They were able to accommodate this request without a problem. We opted for an open bar for the reception with Guava Sangria as signature drink. The Sangria was delicious. They also had some appetizers before the meal that were amazing too. It all looked like pieces of art on plates and it was all made possible by Club Seabourne's chef, Cielito. She and her kitchen staff were fantastic with preparing and presenting the food.
We would recommend having Club Seabourne plan your destination wedding primarily because of how beautiful it is. Also because of their special attention to detail. They make the entire process easy so you don't have to worry about anything and can enjoy your special day. From beginning to end everything was as we planned it. They did everything perfectly and then went even further to make sure we were happy. The morning after, while checking out Cecilia (the hotel owner) came to say goodbye and to bring us the final bill and even that was perfect. It was exactly the amount we had calculated to the dollar. We were very impressed with Clun Seabourne. They truly made our wedding day a day to remember for a lifetime.
I would also like to add that getting married in Culebra was very easy because of their U.S. / Puerto Rico Common Wealth status. We didn't need passports, they use the same monetary currency and almost everyone speaks English. For the actual wedding they only require the documents necessary to get married in your own state of residency. This meant no extra forms or medical test.
For all these reasons Culebra and Club Seabourne get two thumbs up, five out of five stars and a million thanks from us for a wonderful hotel stay and a fairytale wedding.

Regards and happy wedding planning
Nikki & Ruben

Room Tip: Room 7 was the one that we stayed in. Out of all the rooms that our wedding party were staying at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

PooL,Cielito Rosado Rest,Ground,Bar (DRINKS),Service Super . good spot to have a good time
for jet ski 787-902-7928 water taxi 787423-2469 best in town


house have to do betterrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr jobbbbbbbbb

Room Tip: the front room 1, 2 , 3 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 414pili0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights. Carlos and his team were extremely accomodating and said YES to every single request we had. Everyone is so polite and quick to help! The grounds are very nice and so is the club house. Pool is great and they do a good job of keeping up with the steady stream of leaves being blow in, and the guest's suntan lotions. They will launder your clothes for $15/load. B-fast is OK and the coffee is strong. Lunch boxes are good too. Dinner is much better, but I wouldnt order the Salmon Ceviche again. The best places to eat in Culebra are Susie's or Zacos Tacos. The Spot Bar was our favorite after-hours place. Ask for Federico!

Dave is a fun bartender and water taxi captain. Ask him for a Pain Killer! Make sure you also ask for the Off Bugspray because there are some mosquitos around the pool and bar.

We stayed in unit 6 and it was great. The room and bathroom was very clean. Only issue in the unit was hot water in the shower - he had to figure out the correct position of the shower valve to get hot water. AC in the room was powerful and so is the overhead fan. The roosters are there, but wasnt an issue.

We did not rent a jeep and used their bikes, taxis and pure good-will to get around. Jeeps are expensive to rent, so budget for that if you plan on traveling a lot. Our plan saved us a lot of cash and allowed us to make friends. The walk to town is about 30 minutes, but much quicker on bike if you are in decent shape.

Overall this is the place for a romantic escape!!!

Room Tip: Request units 5, 6 or 7 for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boniek1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dearedwina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Pros: Very clean and nicely appointed villa, breakfast and amenities included, including kayaking. Beautifully landscaped. Far enough away from town but still accessible. Were allowed a very early checking, after the first ferry arrived (noon).

Cons: We stayed only 2 nights and missed maid service on the first day, hmmm... Jeep rental a must. Wished restaurant was open but not on Mon-Wed in the off season. This gem may not last, as it seems there's not much upkeep taking place (gutters were full and growing ferns - cute but destructive.)

Room Tip: Deluxe villa #2 was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dearedwina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was my first trip to Culebra, we stayed at the Seabourne for 5 nights and will definately be going back! If you are looking for a little R&R you can't beat it. The villas were clean, comfortable and we had a great view of the bay from the balcony. There are no phones or clocks in the room, which is meant to be part of the "getaway from it all atmosphere" , as someone always attached to a cell phone or email this took a little getting used to, but once you do its great and you truly enjoy island time. (There is wifi in the main building if you need to connect). Full breakfast is included which was decent. There is a minifridge in the room so we went to the grocery store and would pack sandwiches and drinks to take to the beach for lunch. The staff gave us ice for our cooler each day and they provide fresh beach towels daily as well. We loved the staff everyone was very warm and went out of their way to assist us with a rental car, arranged a water taxi for us to Culebrita which left from right in front of the hotel, anything we needed just asked. The hotel is just over a mile to the downtown area where you can find restaurants and grocery store. We had seen there were some poor reviews on having dinner at the Seabourne resteraunt, they were actually closed while we there, but were scheduled to reopen the first weekend in June. I cant tell you what dinner there is like now but I think they took the poor reviews of guests dinner experience seriously and were going to make necessary improvements. But regardless we had an amazing time, and cant wait to go back net year!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyazchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
13.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
15.7 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
53.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
22.7 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.7 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#5 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Seabourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Seabourne

Property: Club Seabourne
Address: Fulladoza Bay, 00775, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Seabourne 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a whole new side of the Caribbean at Club Seabourne, the region's only boutique hotel designed to cater to your every need. Get away from it all and immerse yourself in a unique experience that can only be described as Caribbean Chic: exclusive, sublime, exquisite. Nestled in the hillsides of Culebra Island, just a few miles from the easternmost tip of Puerto Rico, is Club Seabourne, an intimate mini-resort for those who value life's simple pleasures. Enjoy world-class amenities and services, casual dining, a host of activities, and access to the world's most famous beaches. Come and discover the colors and flavors of this idyllic location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Seabourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Seabourne Hotel Culebra
Seabourne Hotel Culebra
Seabourne Resort Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing