We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, cheap, and secluded, but not perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice location, cheap, and secluded, but not perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I proposed on the beach while staying here.
We rented a gas golf cart (cheaper than a jeep) and it was enough to get us through the massive potholes on the 15 min drive from the airport (going at 10 m/h).
We got our own secluded private beach cabin, it had some kitchen utilities, but was not stocked with all the required things we needed.
The place has a private beach which had some pretty amazing snorkeling, an no trespassers (non renters) allowed.
Our water was not running for a considerable portion of the trip which really sucked because we were cold and wet and dirty, and couldn't get clean. The managers let us use the shower at the other unoccupied cabin, but the issue was never really resolved since we only stayed there for only two nights. They said it had not happened before.
The house did not seem very well sealed, and I felt like the bugs outside would have no problems crawling in even if we closed all of the screens. Cleanliness wise it was just ok, but could have been a lot worse.
The view in the morning is pretty much to die for, I don't think you could find a better view if you went to heaven.
The bed was a little hard and not too comfortable, and a little squeaky.
Managers were nice, and hospitable though, and very helpful, they tried hard despite the facilities feeling a little run down / older.
It was hard to beat the price for all the benefits this place provided.

Room Tip: Get the lone one that is not attached to any other units for ultimate privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    61
    10
    15
    6
See reviews for
36
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Tamarindo Estates for the two nights we were in Culebra. The managers of the hotel are extremely nice and welcoming. We stood in a beach bungalow on top of a hill that had beautiful views of the beach bay. The bungalows were clean and offered a kitchenette, living space, bathroom and separate room. There are no frills here. It is the bare necessities. The bathroom shower was a bit disappointing as there was just a trickle of water pressure for a shower. We survived, but I wish the pressure was better. The beds were extremely hard and uncomfortable, so we really didn't get a good night's sleep while we were there. Other than that, it served its purpose. We were primarily at the beach all day and went out for dinner, so really didn't stay in the room other than to sleep at night. If you are looking for a place to sleep with a nice view this will work, but if you are looking for comfort, I would try another hotel.

The road to the hotel is extremely bumpy so its recommended that you rent a jeep rather than a golf cart when staying there. There is AC in the bedroom.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kristine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The beds where kind of hard:: not as comfy! Views and beaches excellent and service was old fashion yet really sweet! The place looks old but it has the old school hippie cabin house feel to it! The mornings are breathtaking and the baby chicks and roosters are a hoot! Very natural feel to the hillside manner and a glass of wine when the sun comes down is out of control gorgeous! Excellent if you need rest and make sure to rent a jeep entrance is very hill like. Steep with coastal view of beaches..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hugotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great facilities, Hot water, A/C , Parking, Nice View... Room is super clean and owners are hospitalary . The place is isolated from the rest of Culebra, the road to get there is terrible (hole and super Dark in the night). You have to walk down 3 min To get to the Swimming pool and beach . The beach is not sandy , perfect to snorkeling

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Neslie2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

It was $158 a night. Many locals say it’s the 2nd nicest place to stay on the island. I came very close to walking away from our pre-paid second night, call me a snob but I dreaded every time we returned to the room. This place has so much potential! The reef right off their pebbled beach is absolutely stunning. The sky filled with stars is magical. The grounds are well maintained. So the property is beautiful but the “cottages” are in desperate need of an upgrade. The air conditioner was only in the bedroom. Not that I had any desire to sit in the kitchen/living room but it was way too hot and drab to even consider. It’s the type of place that you don’t want to kill the spiders because they kill the other bugs in the place. It's the old windows where the pests enter, the housekeepers seem to keep it as clean as they can. There is not daily housekeeping.. The furniture and furnishing bring you back to the 70s. There’s no restaurant or food on or near the property, so plan on renting a car or golf cart to get here. No internet in our room.For more information go to my personal site Kimsegal.com for a Culebra trip report.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Wow, absolutely satisfied with everything, Thank you so much Tom for welcoming us on check in the house was great had all we need it, the view was breathtaking the stars were unbelievable we were right under the milky way amazing. rented a Jeep from Carlos Rental very nice people had beers with the locals and loved flamingo beach (paradise) it was everything I had hoped for and more. Can't wait to next year we will miss you Culebra

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Luciana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

You'll need a jeep or golf cart. Much too far to walk anywhere, and taxis charge extra because of the access road, which is mostly fine but with some of the worst potholes I saw. You pass the town landfill to get here, but it's not terrible, they have a bulldozer etc to bury stuff, and it's nowhere near the property.

Snorkel beach is terrific, and the place on Culebra to spot turtles. View is lovely. I'd stay here again if I went back -- pleasant quick drive to Flamenco or town on the golf cart if you need to, otherwise enjoy gorgeous sunset views of Luis Pena and hardly ever hear another person's voice.

Cottages are "rustic," nicely painted and grounds maintained, though nothing special inside. Water choices are cold and lukewarm. Window unit ACs will get your bedroom super chilly if you like. Stovetop Euro style coffee maker, my favorite. Iguanas poop in the pool (bad) so they clean it thoroughly every morning (good). Staff is available if you need them but out of your hair otherwise. Culebra is more about laid-back beach bumming, cheerfulness, and natural beauty, than about being fancy, and this fits perfectly.

Room Tip: We fit 7 in the double unit -- us, grandma, four teens. A cot in each small bedroom, and grandma pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarkPushmetHouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
2.4 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
15.6 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
13.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
50.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.8 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#5 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments

Property: Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments
Address: end of Tamarindo Beach Road, 00775, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarindo Estates provides twelve 1-BR guest rental apartments on a remarkably virgin 60-acre estate, in the quiet and exclusive Tamarindo beach location, across from Culebra's Marine Reserve. It is nicely secluded, yet a short 5 to 7 minute drive to town, where restaurants, grocery, and other stores are located. The 12 guest apartments afford great views of the ocean while you relax and sit on the apartment's private, covered deck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tamarindo Estates Beach Cottages Hotel Culebra
Tamarindo Estates Beach Hotel
Tamarindo Estates Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing