We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated, beautiful, and a bit worn - like Culebra!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Isolated, beautiful, and a bit worn - like Culebra!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

You'll need a jeep or golf cart. Much too far to walk anywhere, and taxis charge extra because of the access road, which is mostly fine but with some of the worst potholes I saw. You pass the town landfill to get here, but it's not terrible, they have a bulldozer etc to bury stuff, and it's nowhere near the property.

Snorkel beach is terrific, and the place on Culebra to spot turtles. View is lovely. I'd stay here again if I went back -- pleasant quick drive to Flamenco or town on the golf cart if you need to, otherwise enjoy gorgeous sunset views of Luis Pena and hardly ever hear another person's voice.

Cottages are "rustic," nicely painted and grounds maintained, though nothing special inside. Water choices are cold and lukewarm. Window unit ACs will get your bedroom super chilly if you like. Stovetop Euro style coffee maker, my favorite. Iguanas poop in the pool (bad) so they clean it thoroughly every morning (good). Staff is available if you need them but out of your hair otherwise. Culebra is more about laid-back beach bumming, cheerfulness, and natural beauty, than about being fancy, and this fits perfectly.

Room Tip: We fit 7 in the double unit -- us, grandma, four teens. A cot in each small bedroom, and grandma pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarkPushmetHouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    63
    10
    15
    6
See reviews for
37
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Fls
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My son and I stayed comfortably here for two nights. Most notable for me was the beautiful view of the water from our cottage. I had to get some work done on my computer while vacationing, and I logged on (spotty, but okay wifi) and enjoyed my coffee with the best view one could ask for!

I personally LOVED the sounds, at night especially. The frogs are like beautiful music. The chickens/roosters, I could do without, but did add some charm.

Check-in/out went okay, and Tim (the caretaker?) was especially helpful and kind.

The beach is not soft and sandy, but that can be found numerous other places on the island. I agree that having a golf cart is a great idea...this place is a tad isolating. Getting into the water off-shore here was a little tricky for me (okay, not an avid snorkeler), but once in, it is AMAZING and worth the effort.

Overall, we had a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed with my friends for 4 days at Tamarindo, and the facility was OK. We were almost kicked out of the hotel, and weren't allowed to have a late check out because the manager did not want to reschedule the cleaning lady. A good place to stay, but will definitely stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

just finished several days. Incredible snorkling but the efficiency apartments need upgrading. If the owner spent a little money on pots and pans and fixing his screen windows the place would be great. However its not fun with flying ants invading the kitchen through the broken screens on the door and windows. Lots of cob webs. Just not real clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The mile long entrance road is the worst on Culebra, with huge potholes and an unsightly open dump to pass. The apartments look nice enough from the outside and the grounds are well kept. We checked in for two adjoining 1 br efficiency apartments, accommodating 5 for $260/night total. Screens in the bathroom, front doors, and windows torn, and an A/C unit only in the bedrooms. Lots of flying bugs came into the apt at night while we played cards. Bed linens made of poly blend and did not match. Looked like they were from Goodwill. No maid service. Between bad linens for sun sensitive skin, bad A/C unit, lots of sand in bed after 4 days, roosters and birds, it was difficult to sleep. Not fully furnished as billed, only a couple of pots, no salt and pepper, one trash bag for the week. It was a long, steep walk from the apartment to the beach or pool, but worth it once you got there. On the up side, the pool was very nice and the private beach had no sand but spectacular snorkeling. Saw many hawksbill turtles feeding in the grass beds, lobster, squid, coral and fish.

Room Tip: Apartments on top floor may have better breeze and view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Level Contributor
168 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just finished a brief but enjoyable stay at Tamarindo Estates. It provides clean, modest accommodations, accurately described on their web site. We had 2 connecting rooms (302 and 303) for 5 people, and planned to have one stay on the futon in the living room, but it was unbearably hot, even with fans and windows open, so 3 people crammed into the air conditioned bedroom (we live in PR, so are accustomed to the climate). The units are old and nothing fancy, but they are well maintained and clean. The caretakers are friendly and helpful. Kitchens are stocked with the basics. Did not use beach or pool on site, but the snorkeling at Tamarindo Beach just down the road is excellent. Stop there some night and look at the stars! Flamenco Beach, just a few minutes away by car, is incredible. Airport and town just a few minutes away by car. You should rent a jeep if you stay at TE, despite the fact that car rentals are very expensive on Culebra. The road to TE is steep and in poor condition, full of pot holes; I wouldn't want to drive a golf cart on it. We had no cel phone signal at TE; had to drive down to main road to make calls/receive data. So...a good place to get away from it all! It would be nice if they would upgrade their full size beds to queen, or two twins.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanbpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Tamarindo was a great place to stay if you know what you are getting yourself into. It should be mentioned that a car or golf cart is a must have unless you have gone grocery shopping and stocked up on water ahead of time. I would still rent a car either way though as there are so many great beaches on the island and it's nice to be able to get to them easily.

The private beach is amazing with lots of coral and fish. We even say rays at the private beach and Tamarindo Beach is right down the road where you can swim with the sea turtles.

The property manager Tom was fantastic and very helpful. The cottages themselves could use a little facelift, the beds could use new mattresses and we had a small problem with ants but the seclusion of the place was great and the experience overall was phenomenal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
2.3 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
380 reviews
15.6 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,799 reviews
13.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
564 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Culebra
104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#6 of 19 in Culebra
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments

Property: Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments
Address: end of Tamarindo Beach Road, 00775, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarindo Estates provides twelve 1-BR guest rental apartments on a remarkably virgin 60-acre estate, in the quiet and exclusive Tamarindo beach location, across from Culebra's Marine Reserve. It is nicely secluded, yet a short 5 to 7 minute drive to town, where restaurants, grocery, and other stores are located. The 12 guest apartments afford great views of the ocean while you relax and sit on the apartment's private, covered deck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tamarindo Estates Beach Cottages Hotel Culebra
Tamarindo Estates Beach Hotel
Tamarindo Estates Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing