We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments
Nearby Hotels
$224
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kokomo(Culebra)
$50
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
El Blok Hotel(Esperanza)
$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Malecon House(Isla de Vieques)
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Tamarindo(Isla de Vieques)
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$161
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
40
63
10
15
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
63
10
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachgolf cartshort driveflamenco beachan extra bedsnorkeling spotwater pressure was lowcrowded beachgreat snorkeling rightroad leadingsmall bedroomno biggieroosters and chickenscoral reefeasy accessnoisy roosterscoffee pot
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 134 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I am so glad to see Tamarindo getting the reviews it deserves. This is a very special place - you won’t find anything else like it on Culebra. No wonder people return here year after year! This was our first time, but we will be back.
When we arrived for a week in February, the place had been undergoing a process of rejuvenation. Everything was newly painted; repairs had been made; things looked fresh and clean. The new resident caretakers welcomed us and made us feel right at home. They were eager to accommodate our needs, and asked for our feedback. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed.
The three cottages on the “estate” are spread out on a hillside facing Luis Pena Cay and the mountains of Puerto Rico beyond. It is a beautiful natural setting: quiet and peaceful. The sunsets and starry skies at night are spectacular. Each cottage has three units with (mostly) covered decks facing the water. The units are simple, but clean and adequate for two people. The covered deck is spacious and comfortable, with table, chairs and a charcoal grill. The bed is a standard double, and there is no hot water except in the shower, (which was not a problem for us, but something to be aware of). There are no cooking supplies provided (except coffee filters), but we found plenty of provisions at the local grocery stores and cooked most of our meals, with occasional forays out for dinner.
The small freshwater pool down by the beach is a little oasis – a place to relax, read and cool off after a day in the sun and saltwater. Although the beach at Tamarindo is rough coral, and getting into the water at low tide takes some practice (there is one good spot at the north end by the pool), the snorkeling is incredible. Green turtles feed in the eelgrass just off the beach, and a colorful variety of reef fish make their home in the coral. There are several other good snorkeling spots, notably Carlos Rosario, and the wonderful sandy beach at Flamenco, very near by.
Tamarindo is not a resort and Culebra is not a resort island. For those like us, who avoid resorts and instead seek simple, unpretentious places to explore, swim, snorkel, walk, read and relax in beauty and tranquility, it was perfect! Thank you, Dennis and Gail, for your wonderful hospitality. Hope to see you next year!

Room Tip: There is currently no choice of units but they are all very similar. However some cottages have units with roofs over part of their decks, which protect from rain and give some shade on hot afternoons.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarFisher_04863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Thank you Jose, for your hositality. Your staff, Dennis,Gail,Teri, and Mark were very friendly, and helpful. We so enjoyed our stay with you on the "quiet side" of the island on your gated refuge. It is idealy located to the best beaches on the Island. Flemenco, Carlos Rosario, and Tamarindo are all with in a good walking distance. Though renting a car for your stay from Jerry's makes runs into town convienent. If you want to stay on the premises, the casual walk to the refreshing pool or to the private beach and marine reserve is just spectacular. The views of the water and sunsets from the patios/decks is one of the best in the Carribean.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views, though if you are staying in the 101-106 group, choose up stairs for an unobstructed view of the water.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIRBY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Culebra is a quiet island, a place to relax, a place to enjoy sunshine, beaches, and snorkeling. We have enjoyed visiting Culebra eight times, staying at Tamarindo Estates the last six times. A special place to which we will surely return.
Tamarindo Estates is a modest, well-maintained, gated refuge. The twelve house-keeping units are small but adequate---simple but clean. The kitchens are OK for breakfasts and lunches; we have not tried to cook dinners. The terraces provide spectacular views of sunsets and starry, night-time skies. The management is friendly and responsive to all requests.
The Tamarindo Estates private waterfront is broken coral, not sand, and access to the water is difficult (enter at the north end), but once in one finds wonderful snorkeling (turn south, left, along the outer edge of the coral heads). A quarter-mile walk distant is Tamarindo Beach, which provides sand and easy access for less spectacular snorkeling. Difficult to reach Carlos Rosario Beach may offer snorkeling better or equal to that at Tamarindo Estates, but there is no other equal on the island or perhaps elsewhere in the Caribbean. Also on the Tamarindo Estates waterfront is a small, well-maintained, fresh-water swimming pool.
A Jeep is essential on Culebra. We have rented from Carlos. Three colmados in town provide adequate grocery selections. Restaurants change from year to year, with Mamacitas, Dinghy Dock, and Barbara Rosa’s perennial and enduring favorites. Flamenco Beach is spectacular. It is crowded on weekends, as is much of the island, which makes one appreciate even more the privacy of Tamarindo Estates.
We have stayed on Belize, Bonaire, Saint Vincent, and Puerto Rico’s big island. Culebra tops all, and Tamarindo Estates is in our opinion the best place to stay on Culebra.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank tmd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This is a wonderful place to get away from it all -- to rest, read, swim, snorkel, snooze, gaze at the great view. The facilities were basic but clean and solid, the resident managers and the owner are friendly, and you've got a snorkeling beach and a lovely pool on the property and a combo snorkeling/swimming beach within an easy walk. Be sure to bring provisions, including soap, shampoo and food. (Unfortunately, the fruit available on the island is limited and pretty awful, except at a once weekly farmers' market.) The town itself is either humble or unimpressive, depending on your point of view, but there are some good places to eat: I'd rate Susie's, Club Seabourne, El Eden, and Zacos Tacos as by far the best. As for beaches, perhaps the most lovely is at the other end of the island: Zoni Beach, where you can really escape. It's worth renting a Jeep to get around.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My wife & I had our second stay in February & will return in April...Hillside units looking West make for great sunsets on the covered porch. The bedroom & L/R are rather small, but adequate for a couple. Tamarindo Estates are indeed a private paradise. Great snorkeling & a private pool are a ten minute walk down the hill.
We love it & the owner & staff are top notch. You will need to rent a jeep in town, or make arrangements with a taxi driver to pick you up. {inexpensive]

Room Tip: With only 12 units, [in groups of three] all rooms are excellent, but we prefer to stay in the middle units--202 for a better breeze.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews