We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for Us, but probably not everyone”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
286 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Perfect for Us, but probably not everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

My wife & I had our second stay in February & will return in April...Hillside units looking West make for great sunsets on the covered porch. The bedroom & L/R are rather small, but adequate for a couple. Tamarindo Estates are indeed a private paradise. Great snorkeling & a private pool are a ten minute walk down the hill.
We love it & the owner & staff are top notch. You will need to rent a jeep in town, or make arrangements with a taxi driver to pick you up. {inexpensive]

Room Tip: With only 12 units, [in groups of three] all rooms are excellent, but we prefer to stay in the middl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmcgilvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    62
    10
    15
    6
See reviews for
36
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Paradise!
Great and very peaceful location. Amazing view and snorkeling from the private coral beach- I saw two sea turtles and amazing corals. Apartment had basic comforts with kitchenette. The appliances are basic, but you will find them adequate. It is our first stay here with our 12 year old daughter. The managers are very helpful, friendly and welcoming! We were generally impressed by the property. Everything very peaceful and clean. There is also a private swimming pool . You have the best view ever!!! There is a pc and Wi-fi you can use for free. Hot showers, ac and all other amenities.
Everybody in Culebra was very friendly. The Isand in general is clean and safe. The many beautiful roosters running wild are a pleasant funny touch! There are no big hotels, upscale groceries and there are only a few main roads. if you want to get around at all and have a good budget you have to rent a Jeep from Carlos--Robert is the best! You could rent bikes and do the island in a few hours of serious biking--some very steep and rough dirt roads!. Overall, Isla Culebra or Snake Island is a jewel with amazing beaches, incredible views...A tropical vacation paradise! I highly recommend this place. We will try to come back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: cabins 301 302 303 are secluded with great sunsets and wonderful views all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dslicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Great and very peaceful location. Amazing view and snorkel. The property has apartments with basic comforts but the private beach and porch in front are a plus! I saw two sea turtles and tons of corals. It has been my second stay and this time we had our four months daughter. The managers are very helpful and welcoming! Everybody in Culebra is very friendly, there are no big hotels, upscale groceries or roads, however the island is a jewel with amazing beaches, views and mark my words: a lot of roosters!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StellaStellina2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Colombia, Venezuela
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were very impressed by the property. Everything very peaceful and clean. The owner is most helpful and his employees as well. Everybody is bilingual. Excellent location. snorkel beach and private sandy beach There is also a private swimming pool . You have the best view ever !!! Plus you will wake up to the rooster's call. Wi-fi. There is a pc you can use for free. Hot showers, ac and all other amenities. Anything one needs, the very friendly personnel will cater to your needs.
I highly recommend this place. I will try to come back as soon as possible. Paradise on Earth!

Room Tip: Just check their website and contact them for any special needs. they are very friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

We just had our second stay here and love it for the radiant view, quiet ambiance, and basic comforts – an oasis of calm in the tropics. The units are well maintained, with bedroom, bath, living room and a deck– with the bonus of a stove and fridge, as well as AC and TV in the bedroom. The shower with auxiliary heater is fine for the tropics – no steam bath, but I take a couple of showers with exercise and coming out of the ocean. Outside there is a shower with unheated water for rinsing off the beach sand, a wonderful amenity.

VIEW from the deck is a treat as you can see mainland PR in the distance; at night without urban clutter the stars and moon are wonderful. I like that we are on the hillside a few hundred meters away from the water; I’d rather walk a few minutes to snorkel, or enjoy the pool, than be on the water for lots of reasons  Trade winds keep the bedroom cool in the evening without the annoying hum of AC. Wonderful ambiance for a good night's sleep.

You really want your own rental vehicle for a grocery run, dining out, and exploring other beaches. We so enjoyed a Jeep Wrangler Sport from Carlos Jeeps, low- mileage (3k miles), detailed to the point of Armorall on the tires – we’d rented light duty Japanese SUVs before in the Caribbean, but nothing beats a real Jeep®. While Tamarindo Estates had beautifully paved lanes, the public road to Tamarindo Beach has challenging wrinkles in it – which frankly I enjoy negotiating! Not as rough as Antigua roads for example, but simply part of the fun of an island paradise. We snorkeled several of Culebra’s wonderful beaches, and getting there is half the fun – unless you are a wimp, in which case you should probably stick to Disney World.

Tamarindo Estates was a good value, a fine place in the country, with nice staff- the whole experience leaves us with a happy glow.

Room Tip: We like the 2nd floor for the view and the breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

My wife Ellen and I recently stayed at Tamarindo Estates. First off, being in Culebra is like a trip back in time to a place where everything moves more slowly and every one is pleasant and helpful. Don't look for a lot of upscale groceries or great roads. You will find absolutely beautiful beaches, very good restaurants, beautiful scenery, and great snorkeling. Some of the best views and best snorkeling are at Tamarindo where there are three groups of either three or six units isolated from each other all with great view of 180 degrees. Tamerindo has its own private beach with some of the best snorkeling on the island. Jose, the owner, Gail and Dennis, the care takers, will do any thing they can to enhance the quality of your stay. The cottages are certainly as nice as the beach cottages we have stayed at on Sanibel Island. The water pressure is a little low, but this is not objectionable. We would and will return to Culebra and Tamarindo.

Free & Ellen Bishko

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ffredbishko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

This place is our little secret. So I am very hesitant to share our favorite spot. If you are the kind of person that wants the caviar to burst in your mouth in a precise moment, stop reading, go elsewhere. This is not Ritz Carlton style. The cottages are small and simple. You get a small bedroom and a kitchen with all utilities. The equipment is old, but clean and it works. It gets pretty hot in the summer and you need to run AC all the time you are inside. The AC is window type in the bedroom only. In winter nights are cool, so you generally do not need it. The unt is adequate for two and may be one child, no more than that. Although ther are 12 units, we rarely met more than a couple people at a time. The grounds are large. Practically all units have a beatiful view of the beach. You have to walk to the beach for 3-4 minutes. It is a private beach with great snorkelling that begins at less than a foot of water depth. It is all coral, there is no sand, lots of sea urchins, you have to be carefull. There is another beach within 5 minutes walk where you can always find turtles feeding on turtle grass. For sunbathing and swimming you can ride (5 minutes) or walk (25 minutes) to the Flamenko beach. Plenty of sand and coladas there. You can find light fare on Flamenko or go to the town for a restaurant. Alternatively you cook in your room. Tamarindo also has a small freswater pool next to the beach. It is surronded by the walls, very private and for most part you will be the only one there. The quiet and serenity is a trademark of the place, If you like simple and very relaxed vacation - this is for you. The groundkeepers there are very friendly and are ready to attend your needs and give you a nice advice. If you want to move around the island, it is best to rent a car. Taxi is easy to get during the day and is cheap, but forget about it if you want to go for a dinner. For SCUBA divers there is a SCUBA shop in town, but I have a mixed experience with it. As long as this place remains peaceful and quiet, we will be coming there again and again. If you decide to come too, please come in small numbers so that we preserve its beaty and serenty. Have a great vacation!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snapper113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
2.3 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
15.6 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
13.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#5 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#14 of 19 in Culebra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments

Property: Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments
Address: end of Tamarindo Beach Road, 00775, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarindo Estates provides twelve 1-BR guest rental apartments on a remarkably virgin 60-acre estate, in the quiet and exclusive Tamarindo beach location, across from Culebra's Marine Reserve. It is nicely secluded, yet a short 5 to 7 minute drive to town, where restaurants, grocery, and other stores are located. The 12 guest apartments afford great views of the ocean while you relax and sit on the apartment's private, covered deck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tamarindo Estates Beach Cottages Hotel Culebra
Tamarindo Estates Beach Hotel
Tamarindo Estates Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing