We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kokomo(Culebra)
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
El Blok Hotel(Esperanza)
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Malecon House(Isla de Vieques)
$195
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Tamarindo(Isla de Vieques)
$167
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Island Beachcomber Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
40
63
10
15
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
63
10
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachgolf cartshort driveflamenco beachan extra bedsnorkeling spotwater pressure was lowcrowded beachgreat snorkeling rightroad leadingsmall bedroomno biggieroosters and chickenscoral reefeasy accessnoisy roosterscoffee pot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 134 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Great and very peaceful location. Amazing view and snorkel. The property has apartments with basic comforts but the private beach and porch in front are a plus! I saw two sea turtles and tons of corals. It has been my second stay and this time we had our four months daughter. The managers are very helpful and welcoming! Everybody in Culebra is very friendly, there are no big hotels, upscale groceries or roads, however the island is a jewel with amazing beaches, views and mark my words: a lot of roosters!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StellaStellina2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were very impressed by the property. Everything very peaceful and clean. The owner is most helpful and his employees as well. Everybody is bilingual. Excellent location. snorkel beach and private sandy beach There is also a private swimming pool . You have the best view ever !!! Plus you will wake up to the rooster's call. Wi-fi. There is a pc you can use for free. Hot showers, ac and all other amenities. Anything one needs, the very friendly personnel will cater to your needs.
I highly recommend this place. I will try to come back as soon as possible. Paradise on Earth!

Room Tip: Just check their website and contact them for any special needs. they are very friendly.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We just had our second stay here and love it for the radiant view, quiet ambiance, and basic comforts – an oasis of calm in the tropics. The units are well maintained, with bedroom, bath, living room and a deck– with the bonus of a stove and fridge, as well as AC and TV in the bedroom. The shower with auxiliary heater is fine for the tropics – no steam bath, but I take a couple of showers with exercise and coming out of the ocean. Outside there is a shower with unheated water for rinsing off the beach sand, a wonderful amenity.

VIEW from the deck is a treat as you can see mainland PR in the distance; at night without urban clutter the stars and moon are wonderful. I like that we are on the hillside a few hundred meters away from the water; I’d rather walk a few minutes to snorkel, or enjoy the pool, than be on the water for lots of reasons  Trade winds keep the bedroom cool in the evening without the annoying hum of AC. Wonderful ambiance for a good night's sleep.

You really want your own rental vehicle for a grocery run, dining out, and exploring other beaches. We so enjoyed a Jeep Wrangler Sport from Carlos Jeeps, low- mileage (3k miles), detailed to the point of Armorall on the tires – we’d rented light duty Japanese SUVs before in the Caribbean, but nothing beats a real Jeep®. While Tamarindo Estates had beautifully paved lanes, the public road to Tamarindo Beach has challenging wrinkles in it – which frankly I enjoy negotiating! Not as rough as Antigua roads for example, but simply part of the fun of an island paradise. We snorkeled several of Culebra’s wonderful beaches, and getting there is half the fun – unless you are a wimp, in which case you should probably stick to Disney World.

Tamarindo Estates was a good value, a fine place in the country, with nice staff- the whole experience leaves us with a happy glow.

Room Tip: We like the 2nd floor for the view and the breezes.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

My wife Ellen and I recently stayed at Tamarindo Estates. First off, being in Culebra is like a trip back in time to a place where everything moves more slowly and every one is pleasant and helpful. Don't look for a lot of upscale groceries or great roads. You will find absolutely beautiful beaches, very good restaurants, beautiful scenery, and great snorkeling. Some of the best views and best snorkeling are at Tamarindo where there are three groups of either three or six units isolated from each other all with great view of 180 degrees. Tamerindo has its own private beach with some of the best snorkeling on the island. Jose, the owner, Gail and Dennis, the care takers, will do any thing they can to enhance the quality of your stay. The cottages are certainly as nice as the beach cottages we have stayed at on Sanibel Island. The water pressure is a little low, but this is not objectionable. We would and will return to Culebra and Tamarindo.

Free & Ellen Bishko

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank ffredbishko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This place is our little secret. So I am very hesitant to share our favorite spot. If you are the kind of person that wants the caviar to burst in your mouth in a precise moment, stop reading, go elsewhere. This is not Ritz Carlton style. The cottages are small and simple. You get a small bedroom and a kitchen with all utilities. The equipment is old, but clean and it works. It gets pretty hot in the summer and you need to run AC all the time you are inside. The AC is window type in the bedroom only. In winter nights are cool, so you generally do not need it. The unt is adequate for two and may be one child, no more than that. Although ther are 12 units, we rarely met more than a couple people at a time. The grounds are large. Practically all units have a beatiful view of the beach. You have to walk to the beach for 3-4 minutes. It is a private beach with great snorkelling that begins at less than a foot of water depth. It is all coral, there is no sand, lots of sea urchins, you have to be carefull. There is another beach within 5 minutes walk where you can always find turtles feeding on turtle grass. For sunbathing and swimming you can ride (5 minutes) or walk (25 minutes) to the Flamenko beach. Plenty of sand and coladas there. You can find light fare on Flamenko or go to the town for a restaurant. Alternatively you cook in your room. Tamarindo also has a small freswater pool next to the beach. It is surronded by the walls, very private and for most part you will be the only one there. The quiet and serenity is a trademark of the place, If you like simple and very relaxed vacation - this is for you. The groundkeepers there are very friendly and are ready to attend your needs and give you a nice advice. If you want to move around the island, it is best to rent a car. Taxi is easy to get during the day and is cheap, but forget about it if you want to go for a dinner. For SCUBA divers there is a SCUBA shop in town, but I have a mixed experience with it. As long as this place remains peaceful and quiet, we will be coming there again and again. If you decide to come too, please come in small numbers so that we preserve its beaty and serenty. Have a great vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snapper113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews