We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mamacitas :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mamacitas Guest House
Ranked #14 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“mamacitas :)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We were there March 11, 2010 ..While we were there Mamacitas was under construction, which was not cool and I did hear that the food was amazing..I wish we had gotten to try it..because the resturant was also under construction. The room was older but very clean. There was a man and his little dog who hung out around the hotel and he was quite entertaining and very friendly. Im sure with the renovations it has gotten better...I do hope we return again someday..Culebra is a must see while visiting Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: choose an upper room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    29
    14
    12
    17
See reviews for
14
40
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tofino, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Mamacitas is a great place to stay if you're looking for adventure and not luxury. Our room was nice and had all the basics - air conditioning, nice bed, wireless internet, and spotty hot water (as does most of Puerto Rico :). It is right above the restaurant/bar and can get loud at nights, but it never bothered us the 2 nights we were there. The restaurant is really great as well. The staff is not overly friendly, but they were helpful enough for us, helping us book some snorkeling trips and find our way around town. It's a great location in town, we walked everywhere we needed to, and you can pick up taxis at the ferry dock just a few minutes away. We had a great experience here. Don't come with high expectations, just let the laid-back island feel carry you away :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomiyamaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Although we make reservations based on our friend's recommendation, we are really disappointed with our stay here. The view is nice, but the bathroom and kitchen are gross, old and not clean. There is no radio, clock or "cable/satellite TV." You can borrow DVD's, but since the music below is SO loud you can't watch one anyway. We never really see any staff so I can't say whether they give good service. I think we would have dealt with these things a little bit less bitterly if the staff had informed us upon reservation or arrival that the connecting restaurant and bar were closed for renovation. A beach vacation to us is sun during the day, and yummy food and cocktails at night. The convenience of having it right there was the main reason we picked Mamacita's. Bad choice for us.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

This place is just plain awful. I thought since I love the restaurant at Mamacita's, that the guest house would be great, but this is definitely not the case. We were charged for an extra night, and were treated horribly when we tried to rectify this. It was also extremely loud- between the bar downstairs and the noise form the street, this was not a relaxing experience. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KEZB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Culebra hotels

San German, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We called Mamacita's to get a cuote for a weekend reservation and we told them we would call them back being polite about it, once we saw the terrible reviews about their service and frauds of charging people extra. Two days later we received a "confirmation of purchase" that we didn't authorized. Be careful w/this guesthouse, they have no respect to their tourist!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guerrerataina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

Near the port, you can go walking with no need of a taxi. They have a restaurant bar that is great, although they are remodeling so you could find it closed. Rooms are okay, staff were nice to us. One of the owners is very friendly. They are remodeling so you could get a better experience once is completed. Ask for a room that doesn't look to the street so you could have a view and a nice space. Mosquitoes are very common in the Main Island and Culebra, so you can't rate this place bad because of that, it's just common, if you dont like them keep doors and windows closed with the air conditioner that keeps room cold and keep them away..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luqillo Beach
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

Called to make reservations and a lady by the name of Nelly answered the phone and it was the worst customer service I had ever received! The owners need to check their front desk because if just to make reservations is a burden when asked questions, imagine when you try to order a cup of coffee! She rolled her tongue so much I thought she had an engine! Horrible!

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Betsy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.1 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
15.8 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#5 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamacitas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamacitas Guest House

Property: Mamacitas Guest House
Address: Culebra Fajardo-Station, 00775, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mamacitas Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamacitas is a guest house, restaurant, bar and gift shop located on the Island of Culebra in the Carribean. If you're looking for a great place to eat, stay, or just meet others, Mamacitas is a must for your list of places to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Mamacitas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamacitas Guesthouse Hotel Culebra
Guest House Mamacitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing