We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to party in Culebra”
Review of Dinghy Dock

Dinghy Dock
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Culebra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: American, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is the place to party in Culebra”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Ended up running a tab of 200 coz if the awesome drinks. Great service, good location, decent food, and a really good evening.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Akshay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    369
    95
    25
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy dinner!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Had some local fish and seafood which was delicious.You also eat at the edge of the water with people arriving for dinner on their boats! Very entertaining to watch! Also a great bar scene!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaKaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Mea Culpa”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I wrote a review for Dinghy Dock on May 13 based on my experience up till then. It was a rather mediocre experience for the food. I actually spent a couple more weeks on Isla Culebra and had opportunity to visit Dinghy Dock several times since then. Based on the entire time, I feel my original assessment was not entirely accurate. What I found on later visits was that on Saturday Evenings there is a person who comes to entertain with live drumming, during which at times the customers spontaneously burst out in song to accompany him. This creates such an amazing communal feel that you are part of something even if you are there alone. While my dinner entrees were a,right, i found that you could order appetizers while sitting at the bar, of which the panko breaded grouper fingers were an option. They were really fantastic! I shocked one of the customers - a man from Norway living on his sailboat- who had arrived on his "dinghy" when I suggested the grouper fingers were "to die for". Taking me literally, he hesitated then after I had explained the expression to him, he ordered them and later laughingly agreed. The mix of people and the atmosphere really makes Dinghy Dock a special place, especially on Saturday drumming nights.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yinzer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, food, service - all tops.”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I loved this restaurant. It's the kind of place you can easily fantasize that Jimmy Buffet might come in, cozy up to the bar, and order a drink alongside you.

There were four of us and we were allowed to choose our own seat, naturally we ate right on the dock and we could see the sharks swimming around. We all had a drink (fresh mango daquiris? yes please...) and ordered the ceviche. It was excellent. A friend ordered the clam chowder special and said it was amazing.

Fish on the menu was all fresh and prepared in different ways. Two of us had the tuna steak, one the grouper, and one the yellowtail special of the day. EVERYTHING was good and portions were large. I felt like the price fit the service and product we received. Our waiter was awesome.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GSKorelys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Right in the bay, great food, great service and relatively cheap.
The black beans empanadas are to die for.! My favorite restaurant in the whole island. Went there twice in the 5 days that we stayed in the island.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank vivian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinghy Dock also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Dinghy Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing